We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing quiet getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses
Ranked #8 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed in the Garden Jacuzzi suite and it was very comfortable. Very nice entry way and private, however we were unaware as someone else mentioned, that the suite was attached to the owner's residence. Not sure about the other suites, but this one was quite awkward. I'll explain: there is a nice jacuzzi tub but we were unaware that this suite does not come with a shower. One normally assumes that a shower is in all suites since not all people enjoy taking a bath to clean themselves. This was the one major downside. Also if cooking for yourself, be aware that the only sink to clean dishes in is the bathroom sink - again a bit awkward. Besides this, the suite was very nice, we enjoyed the use of a gas fireplace which made the room very cozy. Beata was very nice and helpful in booking activities for us and helping to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Definitely a plus. As for location, it's about a 5 minute drive into the city, but if you want to walk it, it's a bit far. The place is on the opposite side of the main road from the coast, so a 10 min walk to the closest beach is required. Overall not bad if you don't mind driving around everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieromunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2009

As has been said by other reviewers, Beata was wonderful! We were planning for a gathering with 3 families and she was very helpful deciding how to arrange everyone. she went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay, without being intrusive at all. One thing we didn't like was the pony wall between the living and bedrooms, you could hear everything through it. Also, we weren't aware from the website that the suites are connected to the owner's house - you could hear laundry and the dog barking through the wall. It definitely has a B&B feel to it, with the suites close to each other. it is ideal for more than one family traveling together, because you can be close but still have privacy.The setting was nice and quiet, and close to McKenzie beach- there were lovely little sitting areas outside. Overall, a pleasant experience. The extremely reasonable price, especially for the area was a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We had sleuthed out possibilities in tofino and narrowed it down to a couple. After talking with beata it was confirmed that this was perfect spot. It's walkable from the beach (which is a perk) has kitchen, option of BBQ, lounge chairs around a firepit, EXCELLENT service by beata, her husband michael, and owners.
Would return on next trip for sure and recommend it totally. The only reason the room doesn't get a perfect score is because they exist in loft form (ie the wall doesn't meet the ceiling) which could make it difficult to settle young ones into bed (noise factor) All else was terrific.
thanks beata, michael and Ken (sorry I didn't meet your wife formally)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytrails_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Our stay at Cobble wood was very pleasant. We were greeted warmly by Beate who did everything in her power to help and supply our needs.
The location was quiet,although you are close to the main road which allowed you to access many parts of Tofino easily. We walked across the road and gained access to the beach via a hotel. (although the hotel said there was no access to non residents this was not a problem). We enjoyed our stay there and would book again with them if we were in the area

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank astralnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in cobble wood with 3 friends and I think it is a perfect place to stay in Tofino. The rooms are very clean and very convenient, we felt almost at home... The place is in the middle of Tofino nature an the design is very friendly. Finaly, Beata and Micheal are the best caretakers I've ever met while vacationing around Canada. Thanks to them.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souchelard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We drove into Tofino expecting to easily get a place to stay for the night and found everywhere was booked. We stopped at one place where the owner very kindly phoned another place to see if they had a vacancy. They did so we drove to Cobble Wood Guesthouse not knowing what to expect and were so pleased when we saw it we booked two nights. We were expecting a room and got a beautiful suite, consisting of a lounge/kitchenette, bedroom and bathroom. It was very well decorated, fully equipped and spotlessly clean. Beata (sorry if that's not the correct spelling), the manageress, I think, was lovely, so friendly and helpful. We intend to go back to Tofino and will definitely stay at the Cobble Wood Guesthouse again. It's off the main road and we would have missed it if we hadn't been directed there but it's worth looking for. The gardens all around the suites are beautiful too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daltry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

This was actually my second time at Cobble Wood. I found the place through the internet and stayed for the first time in February with my wife and my two children (10 and 8). I visited again in May with my son and my mother (who had come visiting from Europe).

Both times I could not have been pleased more. The caretakers are outstanding, and make you very welcome. I stayed both times in the Golden Dawn Suite, which is very spacious and perfectly suited to meet the needs of a small family. The entire premises are kept very clean, and everything is in very good working order. I am sure the same applies to the other suites as well.

It has been mentioned that the place is about a 5 minute drive from Tofino's center. While this might not be everybody's preference, I actually prefer to be somewhat away from the crowds - after all, this is why I like coming to the Pacific Rim.

This is a great place with the nicest caretakers/owners, and I have already booked a third trip for later in the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjf_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2 mi away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses

Address: 1110 Fellowship Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $128 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the West coast cedars and well located near beaches, botanical gardens and bird sanctuary, "Cobble Wood and Bird Sanctuary Guesthouses" offer rest, tranquility and privacy for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Our self-contained couples or family suites and our new 2 bedroom home directly backing the bird sanctuary, offer either a full kitchen or kitchenette, fireplaces and separate entrances. All suites have high speed wireless internet, TV/VCR/DVD cable and phone, some feature heated floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing