We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other travelers have booked this property
Surf Shack Private Patio & Garden with Hot Tub, BBQ and Outdoor Shower, Relax in complete privacy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Surf Shack Private Patio & Garden with Hot Tub, BBQ and Outdoor Shower, Relax in complete privacy
Living Room with Fireplace, TV/DVD/Wifi, Books and Games Surf Shack Private Garden with Hot Tub, BBQ and Outdoor Shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Surf Shack Private Patio & Garden with Hot Tub, BBQ and Outdoor Shower, Relax in complete privacy
Living Room with Fireplace, TV/DVD/Wifi, Books and Games
Surf Shack Private Garden with Hot Tub, BBQ and Outdoor Shower
Living Room with Fireplace, TV/DVD, Wifi, Books and Games
Living Room - Skylights - Fireplace - TV/DVD - Wifi
Dine at Surf Shack
Well Stocked Kitchenette
Well Stocked Kitchenette, 2 burner cook top, toaster oven, microwave, kettle, coffeemaker, cookware
Queen Size Bedroom with Skylight
Queen Size Bedroom
Full Bathroom with Tub/Shower, Toiletries and Hairdryer
Full Bathroom with Tub/Shower, Towels, Toiletries, Hairdryer, Washer/Dryer
A tree lined path takes you in a 1 min walk from your cabin to Chesterman Beach Surf, Sand and Play
Surf Shack Property is a 1 min walk to the beach
Chesterman Beach a 1 min walk from Surf Shack
Chesterman Beach Sunsets a 1 min walk from your cabin
Chesterman Beach a 1 min walk from Surf Shack
Chesterman Beach, steps from your cabin
Chesterman Beach a 1 min walk via Beach Path
Chesterman Beach - Your Playground Steps from the Cabin
From Our Guestbook
From our Guestbook
Guestbook
Guestbook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mandy Y
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Clean and warm - this place is extremely well maintained and cared for. The choices are thoughtful and interesting and even on frosty, windy nights it's warm and quiet.

The countertop convection oven and two burners gave us lots of options for staying in if we felt like it after walking all day.

The hot tub is clean and lovely and we spent time out staring up at the stars most nights, in total peaceful bliss. Outdoor shower was nice to rinse off before the tub, without having to walk through the house dripping.

It was below freezing while we were there, so we didn't use the bbq and patio loungers, but it's really well set up,

We also had all sunny days, so didn't need the washer/dryer but it's a great addition in an area where you usually get soaked with rain or waves. The bed is super comfy and the skylight overhead is lovely for star gazing, or for early wake-ups with the sun, or a long lazy sleep in if you pull the curtain over. We bring our own pillows when we travel, but that's the only thing I can't review - I can't think of a single other thing that wasn't thoughtfully provided, even a flashlight for night time walks, a boot scrubber at the door, a good mat for boots inside at both doors, hooks galore and a rare thing, enough places to hang towels!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina K
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a wonderful little cottage with everything you could possibly need...”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We could not have been happier to discover that this cute, little cottage exceeded all of our expectations. Warm, comfy, roomy and just a hop and a skip to the middle of one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. I forgot pepper but my host did not forget it.
We will be making this our 'go to' home-away-from-home when visiting Tofino.
Thanks for a wonderful experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A comprehensive space with needs well anticipated and provided.
Liked least: When it was time to go home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Thank you Gina for the lovely review, this is exactly how we want our guests to feel, comfy, cozy and at home. We look forward to future visits.
Barbara and Daniel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrfellis
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming cabin by the beach with all the amenities”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Couldn't be happier with our stay at the Surf Shack! Great location and everything we needed for a relaxing getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress too soft (personal preference)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cjeffery1
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Perfect romantic weekend!”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I surprised my boyfriend with a weekend away at the surf shack ! It went above meeting my expectations. It came fully stocked with anything you could imagine. Having total privacy made it a perfect weekend away with my special someone! The hot tub and soaker tub was exactly what I needed for a relaxing weekend. Less then a 5 minute walk from Chesterman Beach was absouletly amazing. Tofino is the most beautiful place, even when we went in storm season. I would highly recommend the surf shack or any of the cabins they offer! 10 out of 10 and can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor! So cute!
Liked least: The mattress was a bit hard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A simply lovely little 'shack'”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed for three nights and had a marvellous time. Highlights were the easy beach access to (in our opinion) the loveliest beach in Tofino (about a 2 minute walk) and private backyard with BBQ and hot tub. Even though it was cold, we made good use of both! Would love to revisit in warmer weather to make use of the outdoor eating/lounging area.

Lovely personal and decorative touches all around the shack. Very cozy spot for a couple or couple of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
214KAT
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect West Coast Getaway”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Surf Shack was absolutely wonderful, we didn't want to leave. We booked for three nights and our friends booked another cabin on the property which worked out for a long overdue visit. The Surf Shack is decorated so nicely; it's cozy and very inviting. It's literally steps down a path to the beach and we heard the ocean all day and night from wherever we were on the property. We loved the privacy and the backyard with our own hot tub; listening to the ocean, watching the stars and relaxing in a hot tub at night is perfect. We love visiting Tofino and now we've found a place that we will stay at hopefully every time we go there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity of the ocean and the hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLI409
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surf Shack - the perfect end to our honeymoon!”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Surf Shack was our last stop on our 8-day honeymoon and we stayed there 3 nights. It was wonderful. The location was perfect for us - steps from two absolutely gorgeous, picture perfect, soft sand beaches. Just heaven!

It's a bit of a drive into the town center for Tofino - so I would recommend having a car or bike available. But the bike path is wonderful and the Surf Shack is within reasonable walking distance to a small grocery store and some great, casual eats (hello Tacofino and Wildside Grill!).

The Shack was very cute, very well-appointed and private. Great hot tub, very clean! The owner/manager was readily available by text.

As an aside, I really struggled with whether to stay in Tofino or Ucluelet and basically ended up just picking Tofino because I had to make a decision. I feel I made the right choice for us. Ucluelet was a gorgeous little town and we enjoyed ourselves immensely there - but I personally feel it's more of a day trip kind of place. During our visit in late May, we found a fair amount of closures and/or reduced seasonal hours and more selection in Tofino in terms of restaurants, shops, etc. Having said that, if I were lucky enough to LIVE in the area I would definitely pick Ucluelet over Tofino.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & appearance (very close to beach; super cute and cozy)
Liked least: Not allowed to use WiFi (not sure if that's standard for the area given the semi-remote location)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing