We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday!”
Review of Harvey House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harvey House B&B
Ranked #3 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Harvey House is an amazing place to stay while visiting Tofino! Minutes from Chesterman Beach, fantastic breakfasts, beautiful accommodations and lovely hosts made for a great vacation. I would highly recommend staying here on your vacation in Tofino.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank roseygirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2009

This is how all B and B's should be. Relaxing atmosphere, stunning rooms that still manage to be cosey and very accomodating and lovely people running the place.

We tipped up very early January where one minute it was chucking it down, the next was snow, but other times bright sunlight.

Tofino trully feels like the end of civilisation and one night we were assessing restaurant choices on whether they had a generator or not because of power failures. It all added to the experience!

Whatever the weather Harvey House felt like a sanctuary. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed for a 5-6 days at Harvey House and both of us were extremely happy about our choice to stay there.

The Positives:

- We couldn't have asked for better hosts ; they were very helpful and lovely to talk to!

- The house's location is fantastic! It's literally steps away from Chesterman Beach (which is still my favorite beach in Tofino!). Plus its a few minutes drive to "downtown" Tofino.

- The room was wonderful, everything was brand new & very very clean!!

- My boyfriend and I both loved the breakfasts (there's alot to choose from!) and really appreciated the variety and care that went into the food! It was phenomenal!

- Chris & Nicky also recommended a few great restaurants & whale watching/hot springs tour. If you have the opportunity - be sure to try a few surfing lessons!


Overall, we had an amazing time! We didn't have any negatives about the house or our stay. Thank you for the fantastic time & sorry for writing this review a little late! We look forward to seeing on our next trip to Tofino!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kath555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Just came back from Tofino for a three day mid-week stay. We chose HH because they were offering a good winter 3 for 2 deal, which was extremely reasonable versus the upmarket hotels in the area.

Unfortunately the weather was awful, rained solidly all the time we were there and so we didn't get out much, but the b&b provided a cosy place to relax out of the rain.

We stayed in the Chesterman Suite which was a good size, with a separate seating area and gas fire. Everything is extremely well presented and stylish. Wooden floors, heated stone floor in the bathroom and good quality wooden furniture. Especially enjoyed soaking in the separate bath tub.

We loved the breakfast which was home made everyday and something different. Also liked the separate kettle for tea and the hot chocolate and bowl of sweets/chocolates.

If I was being really picky, I thought the bed was a little hard - but that's personal preference and 8.30am for brekkie was a bit early for a wake-up call, but totally understand that when you're running a small b&b you need to find an easy way of serving breakfast to everyone.

Be warned, Tofino is a pretty expensive place. Don't expect to pay less than $25 upwards for a maincourse at one of the restaurants. Breakers Cafe did some really good pizzas - big enough for two people, but they were $27 each. We had a quick look around the Wick Inn while we were there, but actually were glad we hadn't splashed out $400 on a room there. Yes, you get the view of the beach, but it seemed pretty big and impersonal. Their website makes it sound alot smaller and boutiquey - I got lost just navigating their huge carpark.

Stay at HH and pay a little less and spend the remainder on the lovely (but expensive) food in Tofino!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Desparately_seeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

This is perfect place for a nice peaceful break. The room we stayed in was very modern with plenty room and all the things you need to enjoy the stay. The concept of having breakfast brought to your room is great, especially for those who prefer to have quiet and privacy at breakfast table (as opposed to the more traditional B&B's where you may have to endure an unpleasant neighbor while eating breakfast--based on experience!!!!) Here you are treated to a very luxurious breakfast that changes each day and attention to detail is very good.

It is close enough to the beach and plenty nice walks - not so far from town and the house setting is very private.

The hosts are very helpful and friendly but also sensitive to giving one space and privacy as well.

Highly recommend this as a base for experiencing Tofino!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CalgaryScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I'm not really a B&B kind of person; I'm more of a "W" hotel kind of traveler. So when my wife suggested we stay in a B&B in Tofino I was a little apprehensive. I was worried about a lack of privacy, aesthetics of the room, and access to a fantastic breakfast. Delightfully surprised, Harvey House delivered on all counts. Hosts Nicky and Chris were charming, tactfully unobtrusive, and provided a breakfast of homemade fresh baked goods that had me looking forward to the next morning. The room was large, modernly decorated with a gas stove and ensuite bathroom with heated stone floors. The 3 guest rooms located on the 2nd floor of their newly constructed two story home are appointed in such a way that one doesn’t hear other guests. We were steps away from the beach and looked out onto a tranquil rainforest from our room. I would not only stay there again, I would stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank queryne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

Our stay at the Harvey House B&B proved to be our favorite stay in any bed and breakfast to date. Chris and Nicky are wonderful hosts who have set their standards very high.

Tofino by itself is a wonderful town and was enhanced ten fold by our experince at the B&B.

Great activities we took in during our stay were a spa day at the Wick Inn, sea kayaking trip to Meares Island, dinner at Shelter and several walks on Chesterman Beach. All highly reccomended.

We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bradhulsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.4 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey House B&B

Address: 1310 Lynn Road | PO Box 150, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $96 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three luxurious suites nestled in the rainforest just steps across the lane from Tofino's magnificent Chesterman Beach. All rooms have queen beds, fireplaces, en-suite bathrooms with slate tile and underfloor heating, flat screen TVs, DVDs, tea and coffee making facilities, private phone and wireless internet access. Our largest, most romantic suite also has private, sunny, balcony and dramatic free-standing double soaker tub. Deluxe continental breakfast delivered to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harvey House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing