We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainforest Hidaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvey House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harvey House B&B
Ranked #4 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rainforest Hidaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely B and B in Tofino located near Chestermans Beach. From the moment we walked into our spacious suite, complete with two large comfy chairs, a bay window with a table and chairs and a gorgeous ensuite bathroom complete with soaker tub, we felt like we were in a little tree top hideaway in the forest. Chris and Nicky are very gracious hosts and think of every little thing to help make your stay enjoyable. Wine glasses, a small fridge complete with milk for tea and coffee and a hairdryer are just a few of the added extras which made our stay memorable. Breakfast was served each morning at 830 and discretely left outside the door so we could enjoy it in the comfort of our suite.
Don't plan to be on a diet when you come here as the fresh baked muffins and bread rolls were too tempting to resist. The overall cleanliness was so good that I even asked for tips on keeping glass shower doors spotless. I think it is most likely due to Chris and Nicky's attention to detail and dedication to their business which sets them apart. Tofino is a beautiful place to visit and staying in this perfect house was the icing on the cake. We would love to return one day and hope that this place will be around for a while so we can enjoy another relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tambell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
330
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We recently stayed in Harvey House for three nights. The house is exceptional, the best B&B I have stayed in anywhere. The room we were given was very large and the fixtures and fittings made us feel that we were in a classy private house. We didn't hear any noise from the other guests or the hosts for that matter. We also didn't feel any pressure to leave promptly each morning which was a pleasant surprise.

The hosts, Nicky and Chris could not be more helpful, from giving directions for seashore walks in beautiful & quiet coves to suggesting restaurants to try. If we come back to Tofino we would have no hesitation to come back to Harvey House
Breakfast was very good. I particularly liked the home baked muffins.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atkins888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great Bed and Breakfast, Great location right at Chestermans Bay; Chris and Nikki are very nice hosts and very accommodating. Great trails near by to explore. We spent 2 nights here and would definitely recommend it to others

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deryl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Harvey House and had a wonderful experience. The room was well-appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The location was great, close to town and less than a 5 minute walk to the beach. The surroundings were peaceful and the rainforest setting beautiful. But the best part of the experience was the service provided by Nicky and Chris, who were warm, welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay so nice. And the breakfasts....oh, the breakfasts! Absolutely delicious and we looked forward to seeing what was on the menu every morning. We could not have asked for a better place to stay and we'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank staceyrexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Harvey House is a great little B&B to stay at in Tofino. Nicky and Chris could not be more gracious hosts, and they truly know what they are doing at this adorable B&B. Our stay in Rainforest room was so peaceful and cozy at a very affordable rate. I would recommend this spot without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Two years ago, I wrote a Trip Advisor review of Harvey House which I entitled "Approaching Perfection." My wife's and my return visit confirmed what we already knew, that Harvey House fully deserves its TA ranking as the best B&B in Tofino. There is so much to like about Harvey House, and I can find nothing to criticize. This time, my wife and I stayed in the largest of the B&B's three rooms, the Turret Room: it is spacious, and comfortable to the max. The bathroom alone is the size of some New York apartments. In good weather, guests can enjoy a delicious breakfast on a balcony facing a forest setting. Sipping morning coffee on the balcony, I had a sense of privacy, peacefulness, and well-being. As on our previous trip, my wife and I requested vegetarian breakfasts. The breakfasts were just what we wanted in terms of quality and quantity: fresh fruit (always), fresh baked goods (croissants, muffins, rolls), and a main dish such as a mushroom and feta quiche. Nicky and Chris are warm, welcoming and engaging hosts. I am a keen photographer (as is Chris), and, on this trip, he told me about an unadvertised place a short drive away from Tofino where my wife and I could see black bears "in the wild" and at no cost. What good advice! Thanks to Chris, we departed from our brief vacation not only with a new set of fond memories of Harvey house and Tofino but with a story (and photographs) of a unique "encounter with nature" we will always remember.

Room Tip: My wife and I have stayed in the Rainforest Room and the Turret Room. Both are nice, but the Turret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This B&B sets the standard for which all the others (including the 'big' name hotels) should be trying to achieve. Built from scratch and to exacting standards by the British owners Chris and Nicky Hoskins around 6 years ago, Harvey House is simply superb. The owners live downstairs and upstairs there are only 3 rooms. We stayed in the Turret room which is the largest and believe me it is big. The bathroom is bigger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in and has a large deep free standing bath as well as an enclosed separate shower, two hand wash basins and of course the loo! (Check out their website - it's accurate!)
The bedroom has TV/video (with a selection of movies available to choose from), tea/coffee facilities, a very comfortable bed and a cosy dining area. This room also has a lovely gas fire and some comfy armchairs in which to relax. The place is spotlessly clean, towels are changed each day and if you need anything then you just need to give either Chris or Nicky a shout and they will look after you.
Breakfast is brought to your room each morning and you get a gentle wake up call to let you know it's waiting outside the door on a tray. Breakfast is simple but beautifully prepared and, like the rest of this experience, top quality.
The house is on Lynn Road which runs parallel to and just one row of houses from Chesterman Beach. Access to the beach is via some regularly placed paths and takes all of 3 minutes to get there. It's a dark road so walking at night can be tricky but Chris and Nicky have thought of that too and provide torches (and umbrellas if it's raining) if you need them. They ask you to leave outdoor shoes in the (secure) hall way downstairs but do provide you with 'hotel style' slippers if you don't want to walk around in stocking (or bare) feet. Another simple but thoughtful touch.
Chris and Nicky provided us with lots of useful information about the area, where to eat, where to see the bears for free, etc. They are genuinely lovely people who have set out to provide the best B&B experience you can have and believe me they are achieving what they set out to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey House B&B

Property: Harvey House B&B
Address: 1310 Lynn Road | PO Box 150, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three luxurious suites nestled in the rainforest just steps across the lane from Tofino's magnificent Chesterman Beach. All rooms have queen beds, fireplaces, en-suite bathrooms with slate tile and underfloor heating, flat screen TVs, DVDs, tea and coffee making facilities, private phone and wireless internet access. Our largest, most romantic suite also has private, sunny, balcony and dramatic free-standing double soaker tub. Deluxe continental breakfast delivered to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harvey House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing