We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy and uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Noisy and uncomfortable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Don't expect a bedroom like the one shown on the website. The location itself is nice and it was high season, but paying CAD 149.00 plus taxes and not being able to sleep is unacceptable. The concept of sharing the kitchen and bathrooms was OK since it was the deal, but “eco” should not mean an old bed with a worn out noisy box spring, and a more noise due to thin walls. In fact, some people went to sleep in their cars. Bathrobes and slippers were less than inviting. Food smell was everywhere including in bedding. This is a lodge, but being cheaper should not mean less than decent accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Camaci,

We are sorry to hear that the Ecolodge at Tofino Botanical Gardens did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and will do our utmost to address the concerns you have raised. The bathrobes and slippers provided to guests are laundered between each stay, and we have inspected each bed frame to tighten them where necessary. While none of our mattresses or box springs are more than two years old (since our extensive 2010 renovation), again, we're sorry they did not meet your needs. We hope that you will give us a try again in the future, but regardless, we hope you will come back to enjoy the beaches, scenery and community of Tofino. Please contact me directly at info@tbgf.org should you have any more feedback or wish to reply to this. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Tripadvisor.

--George P., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kalmthout, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Ecological stay. Communal well equipped kitchen encourages contact with other residents. Botanical Garden is highly recommended in the early evening to visit.
Stacking Cots, common shower rooms is outdated. Breakfast is OK. Caution: the road from Port Alberni to Tofino in km long but not terribly long time (you can only 40-50km/uur drive and there are almost no stops).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great location for educational activities. Lots of botanical diversity and educational opportunities. On flats near bird watching opportunities. Organic foods orientated to the conscious eater available at cafe.

Room Tip: Great for school type trips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouverite40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Ecolodge of Tofino must have used a set decorator for their website,because the place itself is bare bones, no soap,shampoo,tissues, tv or radio and minimal furnishing.The promised breakfast was cold oatmeal after which you are required to wash your own dishes.
Shoes can also not be worn in the house.
We felt totally misled already upon arrival but too tired to search for alternative accomodation, much to our regret, the next morning when we encountered an exterminator upstairs in the rooms wearing a Hazmat suit

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jutta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our stay here was during the early spring, when camping out would still be a little damper and chillier than I would enjoy. Because it was the off-season, we got our very adequate little room at the Ecolodge for $90 a night, not including tax. We felt fortunate to get this because of the insanity that Tofino has exploded into.

The upsides of this place were the price, the great breakfast, and the comfortable removal from town (and being closer to the beach). That said, cheap means cheap, and this remains a hostel, NOT a hotel. The rooms were pretty spare and tiny bit gritty (sandy beaches nearby, so can hardly complain), but the real issue is that the building is pretty much made out of tissue paper. Conversations and other noises can be heard right through the walls, which means that if somebody gets up at 6 to get an early start on the road, you might as well too. The rooms, for this reason and others, weren't so great for relaxing in. But you're not going to Tofino to sit in a room, are you??? Overall, a great place with delicious muffins.

***Also, if you get an offer of a guided tour of the garden, take it! There was a whole lot more to see there than was apparent from the little maps.

Room Tip: All the rooms are simple and cute, but if noise is going to be a problem for you, ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canary088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great place to explore Tofino, Its a great place to stay with a family Because of the gardens around the hotel and the Darwin Cafe and the two Dogs Peter and Griffin. In the hostel there is an kitchen were the guests can cook your own food, although a 'eco' Breakfast is included in the price which is great. Although its a around 30 min walk in to tofino central but its still a great place to stay !

Room Tip: The Family room has a ensuite bathroom all others are communal up stairs is Female down is male. roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktravels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ecolodge for the weekend. A great property - very clean and well maintained. At only $145/night and a hearty (delicious) vegetarian breakfast included, it was a pretty good bargain for Tofino. The walls are a bit thin....it could just be that I had neighbours with fairly loud voices, but there is quite time at about 10pm, which everyone observed. Also, our window didn't have a screen, so if you keep your windows open at night and you have the light on, you can expect a couple of moths visiting your room. We were able to rent a room with private baths, so we had to use the common bathroom facilities. I would've preferred a private bath (but that's just me), however, I will say that the bathrooms were always very clean. What made our stay enjoyable were the grounds - the botanical gardens and paths through the rainforests to the coast were gorgeous - and the staff. Very friendly, personable and accommodating.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmaliaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens

Property: The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Address: 1084 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 886, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Clayoquot Field Station at the Tofino Botanical Gardens)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens provides beautiful, comfortable, accommodations while maintaining respect for the environment. Our vibrant common areas promote shared ideas, shared experiences and even shared meals. With our 12-acre gardens at your front door and our natural history library, we provide everything the conscious traveler needs to discover the nature of Tofino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing