We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A West Coast Lodge Experience”
Review of Tofino Swell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tofino Swell Lodge
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A West Coast Lodge Experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Swell Lodge, Tofino, BC presents the traveller with a truly “fishing lodge” experience. This is not a place for pampering spa types that want the west coast experience. No, this caters to the sports person, being it hiking, surfing or, more likely, fishing. The rooms are very clean and comfortable albeit sparsely furnished. A common area upstairs (or in some cases beside) provides a very well stocked kitchen, dining and living room area for meal preparation, etc. You must bring your own here including such things as cream and sugar for coffee and the like. But all else is supplied. Courtesy dictates you clean up after yourself. This does present some noise issues as early risers prepare breakfast, especially for those upstairs rooms adjoining the common area. Outside is a very nice deck area, a hot tub and a lower sitting area around a fire pit. There is a grass area with pleasant garden which lead onto a rather rustic dock where your boat can be moored. The operators, like their guests, are laid back and provide you with a very friendly visit.
Again, not for the trendy spa types looking for the storm swells, but I would not hesitate to encourage you to visit this well priced west coast lodge.

Room Tip: Bring a cooler to keep your perishables cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Koenigstein, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Tofino Swell Lodge sits right next to one of the piers. Views are breathtaking, especially from the large group living room/kitchen. Guest are invited to prepare their catch (from the sea or supermarket) and have their meals together. Also there are various outdoor sitting areas in front of the house.
However, we were disappointed, because our room adjacent to the group room did not share that view, but looked on the parking lot in the rear. It was also rather tiny with no windows to open but the slinding entrance door. Even considering the Tofino price levels, we felt we were overpaying.
Also, the place needs some paint.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Profigast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Tofino is expensive but this place is good value as you can self cater. It has the most beautiful view over the sea and islands and is located overlooking the crab dock so you may be able to buy seafood from there if the right boat is in. There are other nearby source of seafood as well.
We were the only guests who had not been before but the unexpected pleasure was the other guests, most of who had been coming regularly for years. It is a sociable place with most people cooking and chatting in the large kitchen/dining/living room area. We ate fabulous crab and shrimp, other guests helped/guided us in preparation and cooking.
You can manage in Tofino without a car, there is a bus service from the ferries and a beach bus as well although life is easier with a car. Some people come with their own boat to fish. The rooms are basic but fine - we only needed them to sleep in. You have to pay in cash.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Tofino is one of my favorite places on this planet and I've been there 8-10 times over the last 20 years. Luckily it hasn't changed too much. Last May I went there with my sister and mother for my mother's 70th birthday and it couldn't have been more wonderful. It was their first time in Tofino and all of us loved staying at the Swell Lodge for this special occasion.

The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and comfortable, with spectacular views of the inlet (my favorite side.) We had the common areas to ourselves and loved preparing meals in the well equipped kitchen while enjoying the views (aah, those views) through the floor to ceiling windows. The weather was on the cool side otherwise we would have loved to spend time on the deck or in the beautiful garden. The atmosphere at the lodge was very peaceful and idyllic.

And Chris & Betsy did a great job looking after us, making us feel very welcome and not minding resetting the internet for us a few times! Chris also took us around the inlet on his boat which was spectacular and one of my mother's favorite moments.

Tofino is worth a trip in itself but a place like the Swell Lodge will make it perfect for you!

Thank you Chris & Betsy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gipsylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I would say the Tofino Swell Lodge is what Tofino was and still should be. Clean rooms with private bath. Common kitchen area in floor to ceiling windowed lodge. The friendliest people from all over the world filling the seven rooms that look out over the wonderous inlet waters of the Clayoquot Sound. There is nothing else like it for customer service, friendly accommodating owner, Betsy and real value. And did I mention location. The rooms and outside guest areas all sit amidst the beautiful gardens and overlook snowcapped mountains and the everchanging waters of the Tofino inlet. Chris is the fishing guide and from what the locals say, one of the best in the west. And if you are lucky, one of the many fish that come up the dock might be part of a bbq that you are asked to join in on. Go there! You will go back again, over and over. We have!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

A nice lodge with community atmosphere. Comfortable rooms with views of the water, islands, and wildlife. Easy walk to town.
There are private docks for boat moorage and easy access to very productive salmon and halibut fishing grounds.
Fishing guide service available from the lodge.
We have stayed here many times through the years and consider our stay a top notch experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

A place to recommend in Tofino! Great location, just minutes walk from downtown with its own little marina, small yard with BBQ and a hot tub. Owners are very friendly and easy going - if you ever imagined a place with great atmosphere of hostels that you used to stay at, but clean, comfortable and with private bathroom in every room - this is the one!
There is a huge common area with a fully equipped kitchen for you to use, along with a tv, cosy sofas and a loaded bookshelf for the rainy days.

When we go back to Tofino, we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.8 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
3.2 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tofino Swell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tofino Swell Lodge

Property: Tofino Swell Lodge
Address: 341 Olson, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tofino Swell Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts of the waterfront Tofino Swell Lodge are Betsy and Chris. They offer seven rooms, each named after a local species of salmon. Your stay comes complete with inviting common areas, fully equipped kitchen, picturesque gardens, a patio with BBQ and a hot tub looking into Clayoquot Sound. From the lodge Chris also operates Tofino Sports Fishing; join Chris on a fishing charter, scenic cruise or bird watching tour. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tofino Swell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing