We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad”
Review of Rhino Coffee House

Rhino Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too bad”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The presentation was not bad if the peanut butter and jam doughnut wasn't visibly overcooked way too dark on the outside. When you bite into this doughnut the middle squirted all over, way too runny! It was like strawberry puree not jam. I threw away that doughnut to try the beer doughnut and that was dry and not even a little sweet. I felt like I was eating bread..seroiusly? Just a few things on the menu no selection. Won't be telling people about this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CCBR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    134
    51
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Potential. Worth a visit.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Brand new place. Good coffee and donuts. Donuts are hit and miss right now - jelly is great, chocolate not so much. But give this place a chance, it's gonna be great I think.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank littleguyprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best doughnut, hands down!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nothing beats a home-made doughnut, and nothing beats Rhino's! Delicious food, warm atmosphere, and friendly and welcoming staff! We love Rhino's and we'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“A Great for Lunch or Coffee”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Over a New Year's break we visited Tofino and driving down the Main Street spied this place and stopped by here for some lunch. On offer was a variety of donuts; including a seductively wicked one with maple and visible chunks of bacon, soups, as well as an assortment of wraps and sandwiches.

We opted for a chicken sandwich with BBQ sauce , Gouda and bacon on a brioche style 'pretzel ' bun. The sandwich was excellent, nicely balanced flavours, a decent size with very nice, soft bread.

Given that the cafe had only been open under new management for a few days, the service was good and the place already had a collection of local regulars. Food was to go, or could be consumed at one of the multiple tables indoors. In the Summer it looks like the bench seating outside would a nice place to drink a coffee and watch the world go by.




Helpful?
Thank Boh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food ,friendly service”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had the chicken burrito and an Americano followed by a chocolate caramel doughnut.All were excellent.Staff were friendly and I was greeted by the new owner.Saw lots of locals eating there which is a good sign.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ralph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhino Coffee House also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Rhino Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing