We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent a few nights in a suite after Xmas 2013 with our adult children. The view was lovely and the location was really handy as we did all our own cooking and it was only a block to the grocery store. It was nice to wander around town and spend time at the coffee shops when we weren't at the beaches. (The walking and surfing were wonderful in December!). The suite could use a bit of updating, but all was clean and in working order and the towels were nice and plentiful and the beds were comfortable. At night it was quiet and we slept well. It was a good break and we'd stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dolores P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 227 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I planned on staying here for one night on Saturday Nov. 9th in 2013. After arriving and being awe struck by the beautiful scenery, and the cozy feeling of the cottage-like room, we had to stay another night. Thankfully the owners were able to fit us in on the short notice and were very accommodating. They have an on-site crab pot where we cooked some local crabs that we bought. The room was very clean and filled with all the necessities for a home-like stay. The room we stayed in had been newly renovated and looked awesome! We paid $102 and change including taxes per night and it was well worth it. Unfortunately we could only stay for two nights, as we had to start our drive back to Ontario, but if we are ever back in Tofino we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which was newly renovated and had a great view and patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

So we stayed in Duffin Cove for two nights November 9-11, 2013.

We had a fantastic view from our balcony, our suite was very nice. I loved the fact that it matched my value/price expectations (we payed $99/night + taxes). I rated it average because the resort, which consists of several houses/cabins divided into several units is already in need for a renewal for all the bathroom appliances and maybe a bit of a colour, drawers, and ...in overall. It looks like if the management will invest a bit in a renewal process it will be a fantastic gateway location, but as of today, I wouldn't pay more than our price and will come back *only* after renovations.

In overall: we had a great time, the resort had amazing views and location. We would rate it average+ with a great potential!

ps- rated "sleep quality" average because we could hear everything in the next room... :)

Room Tip: We were booked to a Suite#8 = the view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieFromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateusz K, Guest Relations Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hi Julie,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of the resort. Yes the renovations have begun, and to start we are painting the rooms, considering inventories and replacing the roof on one of the cabins. We are forecasting another busy high season and plan to implement considerable improvements by spring. See you back in Tofino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was an okay room next to the water but really needed some upgrading to make it appealing. After complaining to management, the price was reduced to $100 from $184 and I was satisfied that was a fair price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RalphB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateusz_333, Guest Relations Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Management attempted to handle a complaint and create a comfortable and relaxing experience for you at Duffin Cove, yet the actions they took resulted in a revenue loss of 45% and a negative headline review on TripAdvisor. Considering a 30% profit margin on a 13 room resort, this review is an example of how $84.00 was spent on negative advertising.

The review also tells every potential guest that if they stay at the resort, they can cut their rate in half by making a complaint to the management. This is without taking into consideration the circumstances of this particular case.

Duffin Cove Resort is a 3 star hotel with 2 star prices. Our low season prices have stayed constant for 7 years which you can see on our website. We have the lowest prices in Tofino with comparable properties. Our Ocean Front Cabins are grandfather-caused and are located 10 feet from the shoreline. All other buildings currently have to be built 50 feet from the shoreline - making our units the closest to the water in all of Tofino.

This year the common response was very positive toward the staff, the location and the rustic charm. The average constructive criticism provided to us by our guests related to a need for upgrading. We have responded to these comments by budgeting a make-over scheduled to occur from November 2013 – April 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The resort's web site is a bit over the top, compared to reality. That said, the place has its charms, our one-bedroom suite was clean, towels were plush, there was just a bit of scruffiness to the place. But hey, this is part of old Tofino's charm before all the high-end resorts arrived!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jani1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateusz K, Guest Relations Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hi - We appreciate your review. It is the clean rustic charm we strive for that keeps visitors returning to their favorite in-town atmosphere at the peaceful cove. Our website will have a new look this winter, making it much easier to view our cabins, studios and suites as they are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Although it's not a five star standard hotel, Duffin Cove makes up for its lack of "luxury" by charm, incredible staff, and the best view you could ask for. The front desk staff, who was the owner, welcomed us warmly and we were offered a great deal. As soon as we saw the room and the ocean view, we rushed back to the office to book for a second night. The lodge looks like a tree house on the beach, and is a great walk into town and down to the pier. We explored Tofino, but also enjoyed the evenings on our deck watching the sun set with a glass of wine. The hotel was clean, had all the amenities I could have asked for, the cutest dog ever (miss you Whitney!), and our neighbours were pretty awesome too. We couldn't have had a better time. It felt like a home away from our eastern home, and my two sleeps there were probably among the top ten in my entire life. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon H, Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank-you very much for your fantastic review. Whitney, (our 70lb puppy), has made a definite impact on the resort and views all our guests as her 'playmates'. Believe it or not, she would remember you if you walked up to her on the street 6 months from now! I am always happy to read a comment that informs me I am not biased and she is the best dog in the world!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We got to the hotel super late, thanks to BC Ferry but Matt was amazing and he waited for us until 12am. He received us very well and was super nice. We stayed in cabin 6 for two nights. I found that the cabin serves it purpose. There was a kitchen with dishes, I didnt like the fact that you have to wash your dishes otherwise would pay twenty five bucks on top of five hundred plus i paid for 2 nights. I would expect a better mattress, it was uncomfortable and the sofa bed fells in your bones. I end up sleeping in 2 seat sofa which was the best of all beds, i just had to bend myself a bit. If you go there never get suites in the bottom, always rent the top ones because there was a toddle in top suite that runs from 7pm to 12 am goooooosh what was that? I would recommend this hotel as 2 stars and the people that works there is very friendly and human so if they update a bit the beddings and a few things I addressed with the hotel, they have potential to be really good as they have amazing view and good business approach. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateusz K, Guest Relations Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hi Camila,

We are glad you had an overall positive experience at the resort. Since beginning as new management this summer, our primary aims for our guests have been cleanliness, comfort and smiles. There are ongoing improvements under way and we remain in the spirit of coastal rustic charm in Tofino. See you around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.6 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,079 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $116 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hugging the west coastline of Vancouver Island, Duffin Cove Resort boasts an air of rustic charm and West Coast flavour with waterfront cabins, studios and suites nestled in a remote rainforest setting...yet only one block from downtown Tofino. The unique character setting and location allows the quiet solitude to relax, explore the shoreline and enjoy West Coast living...Yet only walking distance to dining, shopping and other interesting adventures. Get away from civilization and into the quiet lifestyle of West Coast living. You will find us at "The end of the road!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duffin Cove Hotel Tofino
Duffin Cove Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing