We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“40th Anniversary” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Campbell River, . B.C.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“40th Anniversary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Family sent us to Tofino for our 40th wedding anniversary. Spent 2 nights here. Went to Meares Island to walk around the hugh trees. Had a wonderful dinner out. Missed the floatplane ride we were suposed to go on, as the weather turned foggy that day. Overall a great weekend.
Our cabin was in a small bay, that you walked down to. It was clean, but the building itself needs some work. Windows need replacing , balcony needs work, roof needs work. Rustic, but clean. Sat on the balcony for 3 hours watching the sun go down, waves crashing. I also think they should provide the cabins with firewood, we had to climb the 40 steps and bring it down ourselves. Airtight stoves would be better, as what they have just burns everything too quickly.
Regardless, I would stay there again, but my husband says no. I believe the place is up for sale, so hopfully any new owner would put some more $ into it, and it would be wonderful!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ria3896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    60
    30
    15
    15
See reviews for
51
92
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spent the day on Vancouver Island and ended up driving to Tofino on a whim, in search of sandy beaches. We were not expecting anything more than a clean bed and room and weren't disappointed: the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The view was beyond expectations! Was actually a welcome change to NOT have hotel bedding and towels-made it seem more like home. Our intent was to get some sleep and explore the area in the a.m. We could hear the crashing waves when we checked in (approx 10p) but it wasn't until dawn that we could see the real beauty. Perched above a small cove, nestled in rainforest-like beauty, we were very pleased. At check-in, the young lady told us she had rain jackets for us to use in the morning. In the morning, another young lady showed us how to access all the beaches-the ones with the shortest walk to access as it was pouring rain outside. The room was typical of cabin decor. A loveseat, 2 nightstands, and a small desk/ table with only one chair. The balcony had 2 adirondack chairs. The bathroom had a deep soaking tub although water pressure was sorely lacking, hot water was abundant, Wish we would have had more time to explore the area because it is highly unlikely we will ever return to British Columbia. The ride to Tofino, on Rt 4-the only road in or out was very beautiful. No phone or internet and we didn't miss having either!

Room Tip: Great off-season rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplieJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent a couple of nights in one of Duffin Cove's oceanfront cabins. It was a nice little A-frame perched just above a rocky beach in small steep-sided cove overlooking the water. It was very private, accessible via a 50 step staircase and boardwalk, with only one other cabin nearby. We picked it at the last minute because it was pet friendly ($20 extra per night), had a kitchenette, and was available.

The queen bed was smallish but comfy, the place was warm and cozy, and our view through the glass front of the cabin was very picturesque. There was a wood stove and a propane torch thoughtfully provided to help get it started. A really sharp ax, a chopping block and a plastic bin full of split, dry logs were located just outside on the deck.

The interior of the cabin was dated--it reminded me of pretty much every family cabin I've ever stayed in--everything was functional, but had a mismatched, second-hand kind of look. You could call it charming, or run down depending on whether you're a glass half-full or half-empty kind of person.

Some the light fixtures were missing bits and there were a number of small repairs and fix-ups that could be done to spruce the place up a bit. Certainly a mat for your muddy boots and coat rack for wet jackets by the door would be great convenience for off-season visitors like us.

The location in relation to the town of Tofino is super! Duffin Cove is essentially right at the end of the main drag, so it's a short walk to the Co-op, the Fish Store and everywhere else you might want to go. If you've ever stayed out at Pacific Sands or Wikininnish you'll know how you have to drive to and from the town, or cab it if you want to raise a few at one of the local watering holes.

All in all we had a short, but very pleasant stay. Dined and drank at Shelter on our first night (and were able to leave the car and walk home). The next night we boiled fresh crab from the Fish Store on one of the outdoor grills, and had a sumptuous indoor picnic on gourmet meats and cheese we picked up at the Co-op--all while enjoying the panorama of wind swept trees and crashing waves provided by the floor to ceiling windows at the front of the cabin . Would we stay here again? In a pinch for sure, or happily with friends who'd take the loft and share the cost. ; )

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed in a suite with 2 rooms and a separate living area (kitchen/lounge) with my husband and 3 friends. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel is in a great location - the views are absolutely amazing with a private walkway down to the cove, and only a short walk into town. Unfortunately, when we arrived the was a power outage that lasted until10pm so our idea of cooking dinner at the resort (oven and microwave in room) was not going to happen. We did find this place rather expensive at $313 for 5 people sharing one suite, especially since we didn't have any power until after 10pm (no cooking, no hot drinks, no lights, no hot water and no discount off the price either).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I booked the deluxe 1 bedroom suite and then read the reviews on this resort after I had booked, and thought I must have made the biggest mistake ever by booking here. We were pleasantly surprised once we got there. The suite was big, had a big bedroom with a queen bed, the bathroom had the basics, and there was a good size kitchenette and small living area with a table, chairs, TV and couches (pull out bed). We were very happy with the suite as it was clean and served the purpose of what we needed. The resort is old and has some wear and tear, but considering the weather Tofino has and being directly by the ocean, it was expected. The suite did not smell musty, damp or anything else. Bugs are expected in this type of area, so if there was a bug in the room, oh well, kill it and move on. The owner was friendly and staff accommodating. If you're looking for a resort with a spa, restaurant, room service, etc., this is not the place to go, but if you're down to earth and looking for a good place to shower and rest your head after a busy day of excursions, we found this place was perfect as we could walk everywhere and not be bothered about getting in and out of our car. Parking was never a problem as there was enough parking for everyone. I would definately booked the same suite again. I cannot comment on any of the other rooms, but ours was great. I had some cousins (that I had just met by chance at a store) come down for a few minutes, and their first words upon entering our suite was "this is nice" (they were staying at Ocean Village). I'm just trying to figure out where the "bad reveiws" were staying, as it surely wasn't the place we were at. The only thing I can figure out is these were "city people" that complain about anything and everything. Was it overpriced? Maybe a little, but considering that other places were charging upwards of 400+ per night, it was "high season prices" (I personally cannot fathom spending 300+ a night just to shower and sleep), and that's basically what we needed a room for as we were out busy hiking and doing other excursions the rest of the time. We stayed here for four nights and our view from the living room window was great. The only draw back we found, was that there was no frying pan in the kitchenette, but with a little ingenuity, a pot works just fine. We will definately go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rox123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

after reading some of the reviews here I was really hoping this would not be a huge mistake. It wasn't, it was a nice room, a bit on the small side but adequate. What made the room was the deck overlooking the cove and the island just out the window. we only stayed 2 days and went fishing for one of those, not the place you want to hang out in the room, but for a place to sleep, hangout and watch the sun go down it fills the bill. Anywhere else this room would go for 79.99 but here in Tofino at the edge of the cove it's 269. So didn't dislike it but probably wouldn't do it again for this price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joellens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We book for 2 nights and on arrival had to get the Owner to make the room secure as the patio door would not even shut or lock. Numerous light bulbs have blown and several power points did not work. Overall very dark, dank and dismal. The fridge was not working but we managed to get the overload switch to restart. The vertical blinds fell all over the floor when we tried to close them.

The main benefit of this resort is its location and views. We could not use the balcony due to the patio door problem and over half the view was lost from the unkept vegatation. The wooden walk ways and stairs were in bad repair and dangerous if wet.

A wonderful location but in extremely poor condition - please look elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PAUL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging

Property: Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Address: 215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hugging the west coastline of Vancouver Island, Duffin Cove Resort boasts an air of rustic charm and West Coast flavour with waterfront cabins, studios and suites nestled in a remote rainforest setting...yet only one block from downtown Tofino. The unique character setting and location allows the quiet solitude to relax, explore the shoreline and enjoy West Coast living...Yet only walking distance to dining, shopping and other interesting adventures. Get away from civilization and into the quiet lifestyle of West Coast living. You will find us at "The end of the road!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duffin Cove Hotel Tofino
Duffin Cove Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing