We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-style Tofino lodging in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Tofino sure has changed in the last 10 years. The restaurants have all gone up-market, the real estate prices are out of this world, there are new resorts everywhere, and BMWs now outnumber VW camper vans. So how to review a place that has not followed the trend? Duffin Cove Resort is probably the easiest place to find in Canada - take Highway 1 west. Get on a ferry and heep going west. When you can't drive any further, get out of your car and check in. The property is right at the end of the main street in Tofino, but is surrounded by trees and overlooks the ocean, with a view of islands and rocks and not much else. There are three kinds of accomodation. Two A-frames sit near a rocky beach in a little cove. There is a six-roomed complex like a mini-motel, each unit with a balcony that overlooks the ocean view. And finally a set of self-catering suites a little higher up. Based on what we saw, we would recommend the A-frames for a larger group and the little motel-like units for couples. That's where we stayed. In addition to the balcony and a fabulous view, the room includes a fridge, coffee and tea making supplies, reasonable amount of drawer space, no closet space, and a bathroom. Decor is Motel 6 from the 1980's, but who cares - the bed is comfortable, the fridge works, and the room is clean. Better still, you can open the balcony door and go to sleep to the sound of the waves on the rocks below, and get up in the mroning and watch the eagles while you have your coffee. It is incredibly peaceful.
The location is very convenient for exploring Tofino - shops, restaurants, and tour boats within a five miniute walk. Best of all, none of the nouveau riche from Vancouver want to stay here, so it's a nice mix of foreigners and more down-to-earth Canadians.

Room Tip: Best views are from the upper rooms in the six-roomed complex overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank old-jogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

We made an internet booking for 5 nights - noting that recent reviews seemed to indicate it was worth a stay. However, as soon as we arrived and saw the room we realised we had made a mistake and didn't even stay one night. The room was just not up to scratch and whilst the view was good, it couldn't make up for the tired decor and lack of facilities - none of my family wanted to stay! Thankfully we managed to find alternative accommodation - of infinitely higher standard and at a cheaper rate. We lost our first night's deposit - but it was worth it to not have to stay here.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
8  Thank Andy_in_Salisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

On our four week trip around British Columbia and Alberta we spent three nights in Tofino on Vancouver Island. As we looked for accommodation on fairly short notice (one week in advance) we weren't surprised that pretty much EVERY B&B or hotel was booked.

The Duffin Cove was the only place we could find which had vacancies and having stayed there we now know why. Although I had read the bad comments on Tripadvisor we thouht we'd give it a go and it was SO NOT WORTH IT!

Firstly, the room was in rather poor condition. The furniture was worn and old and there was an awful smell in the room which we couldn't get rid of although we tried. The view is very nice but it certainly doesn't make up for the room. Everything seemed a bit dirty and not well kept at all. It's also important to know that it's NOT a B&B as there is no breakfast available.

The biggest disappointment was the price though. We paid far too much for this room. It was our 8th B&B/Hotel on our trip and never had we paid so much for so little. As a comparison: We had stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel in Vancouver the nights before which is a top-range hotel and at 265 CAD we only paid 80CAD less for the Duffin Cove. The Duffin Cove certainly doesn't deserve RESORT in its name!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Co-Pilotin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This place is a triumph of marketing over quality. It's the most expensive place we've stayed in Canada and also probably the worst - a motel would be better than the garden studio we stayed in. We arrived to find half the blinds missing in the window, with a family in a tent outside so we we were completely overlooked. Th plumbing is very noisy, the bed tiny, the bath is tiny and not marble...
The best I can say is that the owner gave us a generous refund when we said we were not happy. We moved out after one night. We've now found a nicer place in a b&b that is one
third the price.
To try to make this constructive I would say that the following needs improving
-make all double beds queens - our bed was the smallest we've stayed in;
-make sure you have good blinds, or even better, curtains, in all rooms, when guests arrive;
-check rooms to make sure they're ok before guests arrive - ours was not!
-Clean places properly, ours was dirty;
- sort out the noisy plumbing;
- you need hooks for towels etc...

But thank you for the refund, very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stb313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

A truly great experience for 3 nights, nothing flashy but everything you need and more with the Pacfic Ocean inlets and islands in front of you. And oh so close to town, it's got to be the closest accommodation to main street (2 minutes) that's also on the water. Very friendly and accommodating host/owner. If you have any trouble with stairs ensure you make that known when you book as two of the units have huge stairs to climb down to these, the others are fine. We would return here in a minute.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

The room we had was right on the shore. Clean and appeared to be recently renovated. Cozy, with a balcony. bed was great and everything was clean. Quiet location but close to the town...walk to a restaurant. The manager was most helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there next time. Also they have other types of accommodations, such as cabins which sleep 8, and I think rooms with kitchenettes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredfolkKenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We (A group of 7) stayed at the Duffin Cove resort. We took in surfing, whale watching and spent some wonderful nights on their private property looking at the Ocean, enjoying local Crab and really, just enjoying ourselves. The Duffin Cove is an amazingly relaxing place. The new Managers were completely accomodating, helping us book tours and even cooking our crab. They made us feel really at home. The property is very woodsy and gives it a nice private feel. The buildings are in need of a little TLC, but nothing horrible. The rooms are not extravagant, but they do have a certain "homey" feeling and give you what you need for a good nights sleep! The Cove is a perfect place for family enjoyment or groups of old friends catiching up and telling stories!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennylane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $92 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hugging the west coastline of Vancouver Island, Duffin Cove Resort boasts an air of rustic charm and West Coast flavour with waterfront cabins, studios and suites nestled in a remote rainforest setting...yet only one block from downtown Tofino. The unique character setting and location allows the quiet solitude to relax, explore the shoreline and enjoy West Coast living...Yet only walking distance to dining, shopping and other interesting adventures. Get away from civilization and into the quiet lifestyle of West Coast living. You will find us at "The end of the road!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duffin Cove Hotel Tofino
Duffin Cove Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing