We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Surprise”

Tofino Botanical Gardens
Ranked #18 of 52 things to do in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tofino Botanical Gardens is over 12 acres of coastal old-growth forest with walking trails, sculpture, & interpretive sites located throughout. With our childrens garden, vegetable and herb gardens, and exotic plants from places like Chile or the Himalayas, there is something for everyone at the Gardens.Plus, we have ducks.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Hidden Surprise”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Popped in to go for a walk. Didn't know what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. Very extensive gardens with nice walking paths and interesting garden sculptures and beautiful huts. Not crowded.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTravelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    84
    47
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Tofino Botanical Gardens-Darwin's Cafe”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I recently spent three days in the Tofino area. We discovered the botanical gardens and specifically Darwin's coffee shop. It is a fabulous oasis of calm, beauty and reflection. The coffee was wonderful and the staff were delightful. Try to meet George, the owner of the gardens-he is one of those captivating and engaging individuals who adds to the personal depth and texture that is such an important part of the travel experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The gardens are not too big and there are a lot of funny details. Some areas are very nice, others are not so good. All in all worth visiting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank IngeJabbeke_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great gardens great restaurant”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We really enjoy these gardens. They are so west coast rainforesty. It is so hard to grow stuff here!
They do a great job of showing off BCs rainforest. Trail are wonderful, mud flats at low tide are great place to view migratory birds.
Restaurant is terrific especially for vegans but omnivores are welcome and well accommodated as well. I had super veggy chili & had miso soup & local salad, very reasonable, service very friendly & personal.
Highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hamidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definite Must See”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited the gardens with the food and wine festival. We spent the day enjoying the blooming gardens, great food and wine and local music. It is gorgeous.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tofino Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tofino Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing