We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite Must See”

Tofino Botanical Gardens
Ranked #18 of 52 things to do in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tofino Botanical Gardens is over 12 acres of coastal old-growth forest with walking trails, sculpture, & interpretive sites located throughout. With our childrens garden, vegetable and herb gardens, and exotic plants from places like Chile or the Himalayas, there is something for everyone at the Gardens.Plus, we have ducks.
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definite Must See”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited the gardens with the food and wine festival. We spent the day enjoying the blooming gardens, great food and wine and local music. It is gorgeous.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    84
    47
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Over Priced”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were very disappointed in the gardens. When we visited in May we had trouble walking round the gardens at all as the paths were overgrown and blocked by fallen trees and branches. We had seen similar woodland at Tofino by the coast where we walked round for free. Here we were charged 10 dollars each - we were charged less at the Van Dusen Gardens in Vancouver which were fabulous.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simple, natural, beautiful.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A peaceful place to spend a few hours while in Tofino. Some pretty vistas from the waters edge to the rugged coastline and small islands.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KerriGGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the time, and definitely not worth the admission price!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Tofino Botanical Gardens main entrance is nice in appearance, but once you make your way into the Gardens, appearances go downhill quickly. The pathways are crushed rock or bark-mulch lined with skunk cabbage, with a few boardwalks that are in fair condition. Most of all that you will see in the Gardens can be seen in any nature path in the Tofino area- for free. There are a handful of unique man-made tree structures, half of which are not maintained, and also a multi-coloured VW rusty old van with plants growing in it. There is no real signage on the pathways, but the items of interest on the map are marked on wooden posts. All in all, I can not recommend this attraction. The $10.00 admission price is ridiculous for the visit to this garden- not at all worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitri172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“WHIMSICAL!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed these gardens. It is like entering your own private sanctuary with beautiful trees and plants. Their theme is to recognize the four major influences that have had an impact on Tofino: the First Nations people, the European settlers, the Japanese settlers, and the Hippies. Each part was unique and special. For the Hippies, they had an old rusted VW camper van loaded with plants, vegetation and peace symbols. If you like gardens and nature, be sure to visit these gardens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobca1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tofino Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tofino Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing