We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasently surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We used a Island Daily Deal coupon for three nights and a $50 dining coupon. Excellent deal for a Deluxe King suite with kitchenette.
We both were very happy with our room, it was clean and comfortable. The Staff was friendly and helpful. They took time to talk to us about local history and events etc. Loved all the local art displayed! Lovely rainforest trail behind the Inn takes you to the Tofino mud flats, beautiful view.
The Restaurant was very nice, cool décor, good food, good service, no complaints. A close walk to Chesterman Beach and a short drive to Tofino town center.
We had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: room 102 had elevator noise but it is on the ground floor and has its own back door to the nature t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sometimediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad you could enjoy a wonderful stay with us at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn!

While we are pleased to know you enjoyed our clean rooms, helpful staff, and our rainforest trails, we are especially glad you enjoyed the local art. We host artwork from many local artists, such as Pete Clarkson and Mark Hobson throughout the hotel and our restaurant.

Hopefully you can join us again! Remember to keep up to date with our current deals through Facebook and our website.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 335 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at Raintree mid-March because they were "pet friendly". What a disappointment. The room was very basic, with all very light and white decor. There was no phone in the room, no cell service, and their internet was "down". The walls were extremely thin and you could hear everything going on outside your room. The entire parking lot was a lake and muddy due to rain. There was no parking available when we returned from dinner due to a lounge activity which I was told was "normal" until after 10:30 pm. Needing to be in contact with the outside world due to a sick relative in the States, two days in these conditions was not going to work, as well as our concern about our two small dogs making a mess in the all white room due to the mud. Within 10 minutes of checking in, we requested our second night be cancelled as the conditions were not acceptable and were told no, we could not cancel and we would be charged for both nights regardless. I was quite upset and was told that our rate would be "deeply discounted" to compensate for our inconvenience. The "discount" amounted to 5 dollars removed from one of the nights. The next day we located another property that did provide internet service, and accommodated our pets realistically, with plenty of mud free parking. Sad we had to pay twice for one night but it was worth it...I would not recommend the Rainforest Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2015

Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed to read such a poor review of our property, and to know you were so deeply dissatisfied regarding your stay with us. With that in mind, there are a few things we would like to address:

First, you are correct in that there are no phones in the rooms but as I imagine you were told upon check-in, we do have a complimentary phone available for guest use at any time. In regards to cell service, that is something that is completely outside of our control. Most cell phone service providers have ample enough towers to provide sufficient coverage in Tofino, but unfortunately not all of them do, which was obviously the case for you. I can’t speak on behalf of the internet, although I can say that Tofino’s poor Wi-Fi quality has been an ongoing concern for all of Tofino’s local businesses due to the lack of available bandwidth. Our business is not an exception to this local issue.

Second, you will be happy to know that since your last visit we have installed a fully paved parking lot! In regards to parking availability; our main parking lot may very well have been at capacity (we were hosting a live music event that takes place in our lounge every Tuesday), but we do have several parking options on site. Therefore, I am confident that our front desk staff was able to direct you towards an available, and equally convenient parking option.

Third, we would indeed have told you that you were unable to cancel your second night’s stay as you were within our forty-eight hour cancellation policy. Since you still chose to stay at another property due to the inconveniences you experienced while with us, we did give you a significant discount. Your original room rate was $149/ plus tax for both nights. Out of consideration for you, we reduced your second night’s stay to $99/ plus tax so we have the assume that the $5 discount you mentioned was a typo as it was in fact $50.

We are glad you were able to enjoy the remainder of your time in Tofino and regret you do not find our business to be a recommendable one.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at Jamie's Rainforest as part to a two night, $50 dinner voucher and 6 hour Hot Springs Cove boat trip, special. We'd never stayed with Jamie's before (when in the areaarea in the past, we've preferred Ucluelet). However, we'd been whale watching with Jamie's on three previous occasions (out of Ucluelet) and definitely give 5-stars to that experience.

Jamie's Rainforest -both accommodation and restaurant- lived up to the high standards we had come to expect, based on the Ucluelet whale watching experiences (big shout-out to the exceptional Marla!!).


There arthings short;

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank pop2cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so glad you could join us for a 5-Star experience both at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn and at the Jamie’s Whale Watching Stations!

We dearly hope we can continue to meet your high expectations of the Jamie’s brand and to welcome you back someday.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent a weekend with friends at the end of March. Front desk was extremely helpful. We forgot our proof of purchase, but they were able to easily locate it for us. We had a quiet ground level entry room with a small courtyard.
Walls are a little thin but we knew our neighbors.

Room Tip: We had room 6, location is great and away from the masses so if you happen to stay up past quiet tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be so helpful!

Thank you for posting such a positive review of Jamie’s Rainforest Inn and we hope we can welcome you back for another fun get away with friends.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in the deluxe king room with a kiichenette. There were four of us (my husband, myself, and two boys).The kitchen was very well equipped and they had a BBQ out back that we used. The front desk staff were extremely polite and helpful. The walk to beach took us less than 10 minutes and the walk out behind the Inn (5 minutes) led you to a beautiful estuary setting. Very peaceful and relaxing. The Inn is also walking distance to a small grocer, surf shop, coffee shop and take out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a gracious and detailed review of Jamie’s Rainforest Inn!

We are glad you and your family were able to enjoy your room, the use of our onsite BBQ’s, our trails, and our staff.

We hope to welcome you back for another family vacation someday!

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just enjoyed another wonderful stay at the Rainforest Inn. This newly renovated hotel in Tofino(Used to be the Orca) is the perfect spot to stay in Tofino.
Everything you would want in every way. Great rooms with everything you could possibly need. All natural amenities, REAL glass glasses and Ceramic coffee mugs. No paper stuff.
Located on the rainforest inlet, with beautiful trails thru the rainforest. The ocean is right across the road.Bike rentals on site.
Fantastic restaurant on sight, and they even have a shuttle van to get you into the village to Jamie's Whalewatching Station for great adventures.
I know people mention a lot about friendly staff on these reviews, but there is not enough I can say about the staff here at Jamie's. They are the kindest friendliest people I have had the pleasure to meet at any hotel.

Room Tip: I had a great room on the main floor with a gas fireplace and a kitchenette, with a door out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leesa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a kind review of Jamie’s Rainforest Inn!

We are proud to have provided you with so many things to enjoy and we look forward to having you join us again someday.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I had a getaway weekend and were very happy with our stay in a standard 2 queen bed room. The room was clean with basic furnishings but included a microwave and a fridge with cream for your coffee. The staff and the restaurant were outstanding. The decor in the restaurant was very warm and and we loved the recycled beach garbage made into whimsical oystercatchers! We had an Groupon coupon for our stay and we would come back again. My husband says he would drive the 3 hours just to eat the Jambalaya! Chesterman Beach is just a 10 minute walk and Tofino is about 4 km.

Room Tip: We had a room on the forest side on the third floor. It was very quiet and had a great forest view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popeyesolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to have provided you with great experiences both at our restaurant, and at Jamie's Rainforest Inn.

You are welcome to keep to date with our latest deals and special on our website and Facebook page.

We hope to welcome you back for your next getaway weekend – the jambalaya is waiting!

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamie's Rainforest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Address: 1258 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Clayoquot Orca Lodge)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $80 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jamie's Rainforest Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamie’s Rainforest Inn, located in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia, Canada, is the ideal location for your trip to Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast. We are conveniently located on the main road into Tofino, just a short drive (4 km) from the town center and less than a 10 minute walk from Chesterman Beach, one of Tofino’s most popular surfing beaches. The Inn sits on 4 acres of beautiful old growth coastal rainforest with easy access to our private waterfront (located on the inlet side of the Tofino peninsula). There are easy walking trails all over the property making this the perfect location to be fully immersed in the natural beauty that Tofino offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jamie's Rainforest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Orca Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing