We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We spent Saturday night at Brimar Bed & Breakfast. It was wonderful! Beautiful room, comfortable bed, the sound of the ocean outside, delicious breakfast in the morning and welcoming house, what else can you ask when you travel! I cannot wait to get back and spend more time at Brimar! Thank you for making us feel welcome and making our short stay memorable! Natasha!!!!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
Thank OttawaNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 307 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2009

Three of us stayed at the Brimar in August and wished we could've stayed another week! The beach, view, ocean sounds, hospitality of Adam the manager, the lovely house, delicious breakfast, and the charming community of Tofino were a dream come true for a totally relaxing stay. I'd love to return for winter storm watching some time. Lots of good hikes, surfing, restaurants for active times, and lovely rooms for quiet times... and only 3 rooms, just perfect for a peaceful and personal soul massage.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My husband, sister, brother-in-law, and myself stayed at BriMar B & B in Tofino for 3 days, in 2 separate rooms. We had a spectacular time there. The rooms were gorgeous, sparkling clean, and extremely comfortable. Our huge windows looked out over the majestic Chesterman beach, no more than 20 feet away. We left our windows open at night so that we could hear the sound of the rolling surf and smell the fresh sea air. The interior design and decor of BriMar was lovely - high ceilings, wonderful wood floors and trim, huge rooms in the main (shared) part of the building, and everything was well presented and maintained. At BriMar we were made to feel most welcome - as if it was our home away from home. The staff were extremely friendly, never minding if we dropped down for a visit, to sit in the comfortable lounge, or to chat. They answered all our questions with patience and interest - MOST obliging. Breakfasts were splendid - far above the ordinary. There were cold and hot choices, with plenty of health conscious foods. On our last morning, dear Amanda served a delicious "slice" of vegetables, eggs, and perhaps a secret ingredient or two that I couldn't decipher. She had prepared it the evening before and heated it in the morning; the entire place smelled like heaven! When we were leaving, she handed us muffins and dry fruit to have on our trip back to Victoria.

I have stayed in many first class hotels, motels and Bed and Breakfast places throughout the world, but I must tell you that BriMar took first place on my list. You can do no better!

Our best regards and thanks to the wonderful BriMar staff and owners; they are the BEST!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyAtBriMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We absolutely loved this b & b. The location couldn't have been better (direcly on the beach) and included incredible ocean views. The breakfast was outstanding and the atmosphere relaxed. The place was very clean and well taken care of. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinyhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The house is in a wonderful location and the rooms were very comfortable. There are a couple things that kept from making this B&B a five star experience. The owners are not on site and the Inn lacked a "welcoming" feel. The room was a tad dirty (nothing awful - just not super clean). The service really was really lacking (e.g., dirty coffee cups were not exchanged each day). The manager of the inn was friendly - but you get the sense that the guest's needs and comfort was not his top priority. Overall, the locations really made this B &B a good experience - but some improvements could be made on the service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jdanniballe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Tofino is probably one of those places where your visiting experience is profoundly affected by what the weather has decided to do. We were blessed to have abundant sunshine and brilliant blue skies for most of our (honeymoon) stay. In that kind of weather, Chesterman Beach really does seem like a slice of paradise. No palm trees, and the blue water isn't as warm as it may look (although some of the tidepools are bathtub-warm), but I think this area would give the Bahamas a good run for their money in terms of sheer gorgeousness...and far fewer people!
The B&B itself managed to be elegant and cozy at the same time. Our room (the Sunset Room) had a magnificent view and a king-sized bed that we would have been happy to have stayed in all day if it had been pouring rain out. Adam was an excellent host, giving us many good suggestions for local activities, and cooking delicious breakfasts. [It took us a while to realize that while he was the manager of the B&B, he was not the _owner_ of the house - at first it seemed kind of odd that someone with his surfer style would furnish a house in such elegance of furnishings and decor.]
Chesterman Beach was an absolute delight. We spent a whole afternoon (after whale-watching in the morning) just walking south along the beach and exploring. We found countless tidepools filled with green sea anemones and starfish (both orange and purple varieties), watched bald eagles catch fish from the ocean with their talons (and harass ospreys who themselves would have intimidated most other birds), and explored hidden coves and even a cave that went into the rocks and came out further down the beach (you'll have to find it on your own).
One highlight was the dinner we had at the Wickannish Inn (the Pointe Restaurant). We had made reservations, gotten dressed, and left about 25 minutes before our reservation time. Then we walked the mile or so up the beach to the restaurant (the sand was perfect for walking on - packed down, not the kind where you sink with each step and get exhausted after a quarter-mile). We enjoyed possibly the finest meal we have ever had, and then walked back to the B&B along the beach at dusk. A highly recommended experience!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrairieEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This beautiful property is set on Chesterman Beach and has a wonderful view. We chose the Sunset Room but sadly the weather didn't oblige during our 2 night stay!

The bedroom was very comfortable with TV and well equipped with en suite facility. Breakfast was very nicely prepared by Elizabeth.

Despite the inclement weather there are plenty of walks around the National Park rainforests and a couple of good restaurants in the small town of Tofino.

It is worth noting that unlike many small b&b's this property is managed rather than being run by the owners and there had been changes in the hosts since our booking.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langwhanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Harvey House B&B
Harvey House B&B
#3 of 41 in Tofino
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BriMar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BriMar Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1375 Chesterman Beach Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $124 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BriMar Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a Taste of our Life at BriMar Bed and Breakfast...located right on the south end of Chesterman Beach, Tofino BC. Perched on the edge of the sand, our home provides a wonderful getaway, perfect for any time of the year. Consider complete relaxation, sipping tea and reading a book by the old-fashioned wood stove or maybe just watching the waves breaking as you drift off into your daydreams. Venture out onto Chesterman Beach for a walk along the ocean, to see everything from local professional surfers mastering huge waves to whales spouting as they pass on their annual migration to eagles soaring overhead. Enjoy shopping through the cozy village of Tofino with a peppermint latte or listen to local musicians at a nearby Inn. Let us help to show you around our gorgeous piece of paradise by organizing activities for you such as Whale Watching, Surfing Lessoons/Rentals, Bird Watching, Fishing, Kayaking, Flight Seeing or Paddleboarding to mention a few. Spoil yourself with Massage Treatments and Yoga Classes or Hike the many scenic Trails in the nearby Pacific Rim National Park. Tofino is proud to offer an amazing experience for any traveller regardles of your interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your BriMar Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brimar b&b
Brimar Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing