We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great in the off-season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great in the off-season”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed in January, expecting the weather to be chilly, but shocked at how the cabin was not equipped to deal with the cold. No fireplace. Electric baseboard heater in the living room barely functional, so we froze basically. Wi-fi was on and off, slow all the time, and was completely off for half the time we were there. The cabins are crowded together, and little thought seems to have been put in arranging the site to make it look good or to ensure basic privacy. Think wooden tents four feet apart in a straight row and that is what you get. The view of MacKenzie Beach is magnificent, once you get past the annoyance of the roofed BBQ area that is directly in front of the second row of cabins....seems a silly place to put in when the beach view is so wonderful and the main reason to go to Ocean Village!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peggyelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanejon, General Manager at Ocean Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your view but apologize that a couple things did not meet your expectations. If I may address a few of your points-

Our electric heaters are a great dry & efficient source of heat and easily warm our cottages to 25°C. We sincerely apologize if yours wasn't working properly, we do our best to make sure everything is in perfect working order but unfortunately things break down. We do have someone on call 24 hours a day to fix these issues, so all our guests have to do is let the front desk know.

As per the Internet - this is an unfortunate aspect of life in Tofino, and our Chamber of Commerce and Mayor are lobbying for better network coverage. Currently the cable company promises 2.5 megabytes per second signal in Tofino. For perspective, Vancouver gets a minimum of 25 megabytes per second (10x our download rate) with options up to 40X faster. Suffice to say that at this point Tofino's Internet isn't the best. We try to be upfront about that with guests and we offer free WiFi as a result.

When Ocean Village was built in 1976, the cabins were arranged in rows to ensure that everyone gets a great view of MacKenzie Beach.

Thank you again for your comments. All comments help us coordinate a long-term plan for the resort.

Shane Richards

shane@oceanvillageresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    251
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
494
442
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been to Ocean Village for three years in a row to meet up with other friends and families for a week of vacation, because there is nothing quite like it. The larger cabins just before the beach are the best if you can get them. This year, our cabin had been nicely renovated. The kitchens are well equipped for all of your meals. The view from the cabins and picnic areas are simply amazing. There are many wide open spaces (both grass and beach) around OV to let the kids roam around safely. MacKenzie beach is stunning, long walks morning and night are a must. The resort is a short walking distance from surf shops and restaurants (get the fish tacos!). We always find the staff to be super friendly. The indoor pool and hot tub is a big hit with the kids, particularly on a rainy day. And the communal BBQ area in the center of the resort is great too. Tofino in general and Ocean Village in particular is well worth the trip. It's BC at its best!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smp1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was here with my husband and my two kids on the remeberance day long weekend. we stayed in a studio suite that was small but very clean, nice and was fully equipped..dishes pots pans.
we had a queen bed and the kids had two daybeds in the living room. plenty of space. and also our dog was welcome which was very nice. Ocean Beach even supplied dog dishes, a dog towel and treats for him..they are even allowed to run off leash on the beach. The beach was spectacular, you just dont find sand like that in too many places. it seemed endless and the whether that weekend couldnt be beat. sun, sun. at night we were able to enjoy the large heated indoor pool and hottub. if you forget something to read no problem as the office has quite a large selection of books for adults and kids as well a games to play. All in all Very enjoyable w
weekend and would love to go back.

Shannon B

Room Tip: we stayed at the end opposite the office so pretty quiet. every room has a great view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights in a 2 bedroom ocean front cabin with our daughter and son-in-law. We were looking for rest and relaxation and were not disappointed. The cabin had a large, new kitchen that was fully equipped- doing dishes staring out at the beautiful ocean was delightful. The bathroom was also newly renovated and spacious with lots of hot water. The beds were comfortable and listening to the surf outside our door made for a fantastic sleep. There was a nice gas faux fireplace in the living room which made for a cozy atmosphere. Having no tv was great- there was free wifi though. The best part was having the beach steps out the door. McKenzie Beach was lovely. The drive into Tofino took about 10 minutes, not far at all. At check-in the staff were helpful and friendly- we had forgotten aluminum foil for food prep and they happily found some for us. We didn't try the pool but it looked nice. My only tiny complaint was that the beds were not made up the second day- which we realized was something we had missed in the check in info. They replace towels but maybe don't do beds, Not a huge issue. Overall a great restorative experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 102.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in 1976 and had to come back. We had a lovely lower cabin #12. The room was fantastic. Had everything we could possibly need and a fantastic soaker tub. The view of the ocean was spectacular and the sunsets....stunning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will be back and not wait another 36 years. Thank you fir bringing back childhood memories and letting me make new ones!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The ocean village isn't a luxury resort. You don't have a flatscreen in your studio - there are no telephone or tv in the rooms, but you do get decent comfort, a nice atmosphere and excellent view on the beach. I stayed in one of the upper apartments. Try to get one of those: they have a nice, high ceiling and since there are no animals allowed in the upper apartments, they are clean and fresh. The kitchen is small but well equipped - you even don't have to think of bringing kitchen towels or Dreft. If you have some washing to do, there 's a cheap laundry.
The owners and staff are calm and friendly.
I didn't use the pool so I can't give a comment on that.
In my eyes, the ocean village has a very good philosophy: they don't equip the rooms with the latest multimedia tools, but instead, they take care of privacy, comfort and location.

Room Tip: I prefer the upper apartments: nice ceiling and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsDJbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A great big thank you to the owners and staff of Ocean Village for maintaining the charm and ambiance of ocean Village even after the great renovations that have been taking place over the past year or more. We have been staying at this resort for many, many years due to its beautiful location, accommodating service and lovely, quaint cottages. We stayed with our kids when they were little and now as a cozy retreat for just the two of us. There is no place else we would rather be on the west coast than in these cottages.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and you are only a few yards from the ocean sand. The location of the property is close to Tofino and all of the popular hiking trails and other beaches. While there, we always try and patronize other businesses in the area and found the Tofino Brewery, the Tofino Coffee Company and the Red Can Gourmet a pleasure to visit and partake of their "goods".

So, wherever you have booked your next west coast get-away, cancel it and make it for Ocean Village!

Room Tip: The rooms along the beach are the best, but all rooms have a view and are only a short distance from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearsndux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.5 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,035 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.7 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Village Beach Resort
Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Village Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled comfortably on beautiful MacKenzie Beach, minutes from the picturesque village of Tofino. Our property is ideally located for guests to enjoy all of the activities this breathtaking area has to offer. Unobstructed views and direct beach access from your oceanfront cabin. Renovated and updated for maximum comfort, our iconic “beehive” cabins are available year-round at affordable, family-friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing