We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous views, but not a lot of privacy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous views, but not a lot of privacy.”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We rented the upper bedroom of a two bedroom cabin for an extended weekend.
We had a hard time sleeping because of the non-existent soundproofing of the cabin and the uncomfortable bed. We could hear every drop of rain on the roof and everything that was said in the ground floor room.
Also when the neighbours cooked dinner our room was instantly filled with the aromas of their food.
On the upside the view from our room was spectacular!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_for_fun_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    236
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
454
405
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

right on the beach so you can't go wrong. It was clean and had fridge and stove so you could prepare meals and at night you can go down to the beach for a beach fire. Has a large pool which is not available till mid day but that should not be a problem. Would definitely recommend it as a reasonable place to stay in such a great location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank shorebird15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Had a absolutely awesome time here. The beach is perfect for a young family, does not get the big surf like some beaches, so safe for the kids to play. (have to go to neighboring beaches to surf). They have a great indoor pool, with a small but clean hot tub, which we used every day.
Staff were super friendly, we had a fire and fireworks on the beach, which the management joined us for. Damn crows were loud in the morning, but I'm sure you get that everywhere here.
Kids were un-plugged, they have free wireless access which is slow, but if you NEED to go online its available, nice to see the kids connect with nature!!
Highly recommend, best value we could find right on beautifl Mackenzie beach!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OkanaganGetawayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

me my friends and my boyfriend just stayed here this weekend.... and It was so nice!!!!!

the place was well kept. Has it's own little kitchen and everything you need in the kitchen. It was clean and comfy.

my friends stayed in a lower cabin beside us, and they were allowed to even bring their dog, which is great. It's right close to the water which was awesome!

we will for sure be going back

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We loaded the car and headed north by north west. After a long and beautiful drive we arrived at our little cabin right on the beach. It was perfect!
If you are looking for plush pampering keep going - if you are looking for a beautiful place, an amazing location and a great atmosphere then stop the car. We cooked in our cabin every night, drank wine and watched the sunset with 3 days of clear skies.
The staff were helpful and friendly and the manager was sweet as can be - helpful and easy on the eyes...
We had so much fun we'll be back as soon as we can.
PS if you're considering surfing - take a lesson with Pacific Surf School. We loved it too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyJ1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I don’t think I can recall a place that was so personally inspiring and motivating. Ocean Village is one of the few places that makes you contemplate the important things in life. It’s hard to explain and you have to personally experience it to understand. The feeling that takes over when it’s just you standing on the beach watching the waves roll in is unexplainable. The simple yet fantastic resort cleans your mind and your soul. There are beautiful hikes, walks on the beach, wildlife and peace at your front door. The air at Ocean Village is different. It lets you breath again. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyMaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, BC
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2011

OVBR is a true gem. Cozy and inviting, this resort is the perfect place for some R & R. The cabins are roomy and cozy and offer the most amazing views. Perfect spot for families....greenspace for the kids, the beach is steps away from your cabin door, swimming pool, laundry facilities, the list goes on and on. Staff at OVBR were there when you needed them but gave you the space needed to relax and unwind. Have already booked our stay for next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinookKamloops_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
1,007 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.1 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Village Beach Resort
Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled comfortably on beautiful MacKenzie Beach, minutes from the picturesque village of Tofino. Our property is ideally located for guests to enjoy all of the activities this breathtaking area has to offer. Unobstructed views and direct beach access from your oceanfront cabin. Renovated and updated for maximum comfort, our iconic “beehive” cabins are available year-round at affordable, family-friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing