We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of T'ashii Paddle School

T'ashii Paddle School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cultural Canoe Tours in a traditional cedar dugout canoe and Stand Up Paddle Boarding Tours in Tofino BC.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tyabb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We had the most fantastic day on this 4hr paddle trip.
Tsimka our host was absolutely fantastic, her knowledge of the area is amazing and the walk through the temperature rainforest was just awesome, tasting the liquorice root, finding so many types of mushrooms and learning how the aboriginal culture lived and worked with the land.
A fantastic experience we won't forget
Ray, Carolyne, Hannah, Harrison & Tess Rogers
Melbourne Australia

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1960cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We just spent 2 weeks in Tofino, the first at Chesterman Beach where our son got married and the second in Tofino center. We needed a few days to relax, enjoy this beautiful place and celebrate the marriage of our youngest child.
It's an area that is so beautiful, it just fills your heart and soul just to be there. We saw whales, bears, sea otters, sea lions, seals, eagles, really big starfish and more! But the real treasure was the 4 hour trip we took in a tribal canoe with our guide, Simka. Simka handled the rudder and we were the paddlers. 7 of us fit easily and paddled through Clayoquot Sound learning about it's history and the history of the first nation peoples.
Once at Meares Island, we hiked across and back the island on boardwalks maintained by the First Nation and saw some of the most amazing trees I've ever seen. We returned to the canoe (made by Simka's father from a single cedar tree trunk!) and paddled home.
Simka shared the history of her people, but also their hope and their proactive and positive actions to help return balance to the Sound. A group of strangers, we talked, listened, paddled, shared moments of staggering beauty and moments of sadness remembering mistakes of the past. We learned a few words in Nuchanel and thought about how different languages go with different views of the world.
It was a sweet, beautiful moment. A 4 hour moment of grace.
This is the pearl. Don't miss it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Atenyi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A highlight of our stay in Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I ever you go to Tofino, you have to book the four hour canoe trip. Natalie is a great guide with an immense knowledge of her First Nation culture and the nature that surrounds us. Of course you can also see huge and century old trees elsewhere on Vancouver Island. But here you learn about their meaning to First Nations and how they used them - and the other plants and animals in the forrest and seas. And to paddle in a traditional canoe while listening and in the end even joining in old traditional songs is just not to be described - you have to experience it.
Thanks Natalie for the great time we had with you and the insight you gave us in a culture, that has always fascinated me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rejeanne_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A terrific experience touring the local island forest by canoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had an awesome time on the cultural canoe tour to the island forests near Tofino.

I had heard about T'ashii Paddle School and was interested in both the canoe and the SUP touring. It was important to me that any tour that I did in Tofino included a First Nations perspective. When I spoke to Emry - he was very helpful and accomodating.
I did the 4 hour canoe tour in a traditional dug-out boat with Natalie. The area is gorgeous; and the tour was enriched by Natalie's tremendous depth of insight and experience with the traditions, histories and landscape of the area. Did I say that she is a masterful canoeist as well?
This was downright fun, educational and breathtaking.
Don't miss this if you are in the Pacific Rim region!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khadro108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fantastic afternoon on the water and in an old growth forest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The four-hour expedition with our guide Natalie was excellent! So great to be on the water traveling in a traditional dug-out canoe. Lots of great wild life and the old growth forest was spectacular. Natalie is a very knowledgeable young woman who is so passionate about her surroundings! She is a tremendous host, has a great sense of humour and is truly proud of her people and her culture. I would highly recommend this tour. Enjoy!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T'ashii Paddle School also viewed

 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to T'ashii Paddle School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing