We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great. Not terrible.”

Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Not great. Not terrible.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for a last minute surfing trip. Our site was right next to the airport landing strip, but luckily we didn't see/ hear any planes take off until the afternoon. The ground was incredibly rocky and sucked for tent placement. The site itself was long and narrow, pretty small over all. Just enough space for one tent, a table, a tiny fire pit, and the car to back into. I will give it to them though, it was very private and all sites seemed to have at least 2 trees among the prickle bushes for at least a cloths line. I thought there were flush toilets listed on the website, as to where they were I couldn't tell you. The showers we weird too. There were 2 doors that lock with 2 separate showers in each. Great for a family maybe but not singles. And they smelt like farts. I would also recommend bringing your own fire wood. They cut theirs too long to fit in the tiny fire pits and it was incredibly wet. Nice thing was the price, very cheap, and the restaurant is right there too. They will give you 10% off if you are staying at the site and are open for morning coffee around 8am. Not sure if this is good or bad but they lock the mysterious flush toilets, fart showers, and main gate at 11pm. So you can't drive off in the middle of the night, and if you arrive past 11 you need to walk your things in, but then again it makes it more difficult for someone to drive away with your surf gear.

Room Tip: There are distinctive forest sites and non forest sites. The forest is farther away from the airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthIslWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    12
    9
    11
See reviews for
8
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Similar to the review below, we booked this campsite as it was the only place that had availability during the busy holiday weekend. After reading the reviews below, we booked with some hesitation and made the journey from Vancouver hoping that it wouldn't be a huge mistake - it wasn't.

When we arrived we were greeted by Drew (the camp Manager) and he went through all the rules and regulations of the site - firmly, but fairly. Music off by 11pm, keep noise down thereafter, keep your site tidy to stop unwelcome wildlife etc.

The campground - each plot is well lined with bushes and trees so you do have a fair level of privacy between you and your neighbors. The ground on many of the pitches, is rocky and uneven, so bring a blow-up mattress or similar and you will be fine. Each pitch has a picnic table and a fire pit - ideal. The portaloos are dotted around the site with good regularity and as they get fuller, you can go to to the camp office and use the 'proper' toilets. Showers are also available and stayed warm throughout the day.

The golf center is next to the campsite office and has a bar/grill, toilet facilities etc for additional amenities.

The campsite is located almost bang in the middle of Tofino and Ucluelet (15k from each) and a 5 min drive from the beach.

To sum up - book with confidence. To the reviewers below, it's a campsite, not a hotel - we had a GREAT holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

When we were booking this campsite back in late June for the August bank holiday weekend we read the reviews that were posted on Tripadvisor and we as a group found the bad reviews complety wrong.
The camp prices are pretty cheap and so is the wood compard to other shops.

We arrived at the campsite and checked in asked the campground manager all the questions we had and told us where is good to check out etc. He sent us to a great surf shop and got a great deal especially the weekend that was in it.

Overall the campsite was great, but there is a few campsites that are very small but we were fortunate enough with the size of ours.Also in some spots a bit of landscaping is needed to get a smoother surface on each site.

Longbeach is a short 25 minute walk away through the campsite.

They have porta'loos in various spots over the campsite, Obviously after a a busy weekend the toilets get pretty full and a bit unpleasant but they have flushing toilets a short 5 minute walk away next to the office. The showers were grand, warm and you cant really expect much more if you decide to camp anyway.
Would recoomend it for families too as quiet time is pretty strict as we were told to quieten down each night past 11pm.

Overall a great experience and would definetly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Reaerved ahead and tenant was friendly and had no issues getting checked in. Fairly level campsite with trees around for privacy. We have a camper in the back of our truck so we didn't have washroom issues but they were kind of far as with the showers. The showers weren't super clean or super hot or anything but it was better than nothing. There definitely are nicer sites around but this was okay as we stayed only from 9pm and left at 730am the next day

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having only found out at the last minute that we would be free to travel for the July 4th weekend, we pathetically attempted to call around to make campsite reservations. Every SINGLE place in Tofino was booked (for tenting) but when I got through to the Long Beach Campground folks, I was in luck. The guy on the phone was helpful, courteous and informative. The site offers free showers and indoor bathrooms at the main site, and port-toilets throughout the site with running water for washing dishes, hands or feet, $6 bundles of firewood and has a bar/restaurant onsite and pets are welcome. The capsites are well spaced and surrounded by a nice covering of trees so that you don't have to stare at your neighbour.
Close enough to all beaches and a short drive to both Tofino or Ucluelet, you really can't complain. I would totally stay there again.
(Oh, and apparently there is an air field just behind there, but apart from one plane taking off around 7pm, we didn't experience anything else)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I only spent one night here and it will be my last. I had made a reservation and when I went to check in there was no one working in the campground until 6pm! When the tendant finally arrived there was no record of my reservation and I had already been charged on my credit card.
There is only one bathroom in the whole campground so enjoy the 1km walk to the end if your on the far side.
The staff (most not all) are ignorant, rude, and one had even accused me of excessive speed in the campground when I hadnt even been there all day.

To make matters worse, our group was denied golf rentals from the terrible employee behind the counter because he assumed we were there to trash the course.

I would not recommend this place to anyone, poor service, and poorly run. Also I made a reservation as I was told to do for $10 and the night we stayed there was only one other camper, and it was the campground attendant...

Watch out for the old rude guy in the golf pro shop, he is a piece of work.

I have never filled out a trip advisory, so that tells you something.. stay away, stay far away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay,BC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Not the most scenic course you will play but it is tougher than you might think with narrow fairways and little forgiveness if you miss them. the greens tend to be slow but for $35 for 18 holes you can't beat this deal. The par 3's are very unique with either blind shots or obstacles you have to shot around or both. Play short to the 150 yd marker on hole #9 or you'll be sorry.
also the restuarant food was very good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Polish-Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
6.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
6.0 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
11.5 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#3 of 26 in Ucluelet
169 reviews
14.4 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf Course & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf Course & Campground

Property: Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Address: 1850 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach Campground is the perfect spot for a family vacation, a surfing adventure, or a laid-back getaway. Nestled in the ancient rainforest, the Long Beach Golf Course Campground offers 76 campsites in a wilderness setting and is only a few minutes drive from the waves of the world famous Long Beach in Pacific Rim National Park. Ideally situated between Tofino and Ucluelet, the Long Beach Golf Course and Campground's central location allows quick access to all the local attractions. Combine a stay at our campground with one of the many unique amenities that the Long Beach Golf Course and Campground has to offer. * 18 Hole Mini Putt * Driving Range * Championship 9 hole course * Paintball * On site RedCan Gourmet take-out * Cold Beer * Ice cream / snacks ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing