We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing day everything we could of wished for ... Thank You” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WardoWest Tofino Sportfishing

WardoWest Tofino Sportfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A world class experience offered from WardoWest Fishing Charters means experienced guides with proven results in two of the best vessels in Tofino, either on our 25' Grady White vessel or 27' Sailfish. Our vessels are stocked with the very best technology and fishing equipment including: Lowrance HDS10 Nav System, Islander Reels, Sage Rods and Scotty High Performance Digital Downriggers. In Tofino we target primarily chinook and coho salmon (with the occasional sockeye, chum or pink), halibut, rockfish, albacore tuna as well as Dungeness crab. Our vessels each have a heated interior and are Transport Canada approved. Give us a call today so we can help you plan the fishing trip of a lifetime.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing day everything we could of wished for ... Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Long Beach Lodge and they recommended WardoWest Fishing to us, we went on a day trip on 15th July and our guide was Matt. He was such a great guy with so much knowledge, he patiently took us through all the inlets as we wanted to see wild life as well. What an amazing day we will never forget. We got to see lots of seals, an otter and Matt showed us the sea lions. All during the day we had porpoises popping up out of the water with their elegant blowing sound. Standing guard in an inlet was a beautiful bald eagle. There wasn't much fishing that day which was totally fine with us but Matt wouldn't give up he kept trying and taking us everywhere ........ then we saw the most magnificent hump back whale

Coming originally from England and moving to Canada 19 years ago these views and vista's were what we dreamed of. Sitting in the boat was totally inspiring at the beauty of nature it silenced both of us as we tried to take it all in.

If you are visting Tofino a trip fishing and wild life watching is a MUST, we can thoroughly recommend WardoFishing and especially Matt ....... Matt if you read this thank you from Marc and Tiffany the English couple you took out for the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at WardoWest Tofino Sportfishing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Tofino has so much to offer and we at WardoWest Fishing love to share our knowledge with our guests. It's not just about the fishing as you saw on your trip and we hope to show you even more next time you're in Tofino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“To the Limit and Then Some”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Many charter fishing experiences, but this was a top two if not the best. Zach was a most welcoming and knowledgeable skipper as well as an attentive and enthusiastic fisherman. We let more go than we kept and kept the limit, and all were good sized. Top notch and well-cared for equipment and spotless cabin and deck areas, even in the midst of catching!
What a great day and what a great place for fishing ... uncrowded and incredible activity - so many hits and fights that we couldn't get another line into the water in between landing and or releasing. And this is no fish story. Thanks Zach and WardOWest for a phenomenal experience.
Rich and Suzanne - Hilton Head, SC

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at WardoWest Tofino Sportfishing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We at WardoWest pride ourselves in offering the ultimate fishing experience in Tofino and we're thrilled that you got that. Hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
“Perfect Day Fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a blast fishing with WardoWest July 17th! Dave worked hard to find the fish and boy did we catch. BIG Chinook and Halibut limited by all. Dave was not only a great fisherman and guide, but he was super fun to spend the day with. You know he loves what he does and does it well. Thanks for a great experience from initial contact, to reservation, to an ultimate day fishing! We will be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at WardoWest Tofino Sportfishing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
You guys are the best guests a guide could ask for. It was a pleasure spending the day with you. Can't wait to take you out next year for another action packed day on the water!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best time of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Amazing guys, great personalities, know where the fish are! Professional! The best part was Dave himself, he made us feel welcomed! 20 hours on a boat with a stranger and I had an amazing time and he made us extremely comfortable. Great host!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at WardoWest Tofino Sportfishing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for the kind words Austin; it was awesome sharing your 16th birthday with you! That was a beauty chinook you got that day, hopefully next year we can get you an even bigger one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Fishing Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I spent a terrific morning fishing the waters off Tofino with Dave on July 12. Dave has a great boat, outfitted with new equipment, and works extremely hard throughout the trip to ensure you get as many fish as possible. We landed king salmon, coho salmon and halibut and had many other strikes. My wife, a photographer, not a fisherwoman, also enjoyed herself recording the magnificent panoramas on a beautiful day and talking to Dave about the local environment and culture. After the trip, Dave connected us seamlessly with a local fish processor who will smoke our fish and ship it home so that we can share our Canadian catch with family and friends. All told a 10 out of 10 experience that we'll repeat as soon as we can.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at WardoWest Tofino Sportfishing, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Super lucky to have shared that awesome morning of fishing with you and your wife. Great conversation & lots of action on the rods made for an excellent time for all. Can't wait for you to bring family & friends out to share the Tofino experience with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WardoWest Tofino Sportfishing also viewed

 

Been to WardoWest Tofino Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing