We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo great!!”
Review of Hot Springs Cove

Hot Springs Cove
Ranked #8 of 52 things to do in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hot Springs Cove is about one and a half hours north of Tofino. It's located right in the heart of Clayoquot Sound.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sooo great!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I think it would be even better to go in the winter when its chilly out and not packed, but the half hour walk to the springs and the natural warm water bath is a total treat! I really want to go back there :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeSand55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    110
    42
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great hike”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everything about this excursion was great! The boat ride in open water, seeing the otters was a treat but watching the grey's was overwhelming. The easy 1/2 hour walk was peaceful and beautiful, the hot springs melted all aches away. A very worthwhile experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancesFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This trip was wonderful. It's an absolute must. Tony our guide was great and very accommodating when stopping to see the wildlife. The walk through the forest couldn't have been better, the hot springs are so relaxing. Bring water shoes, rocks are slippery and some are sharp. Boat trip across and back was great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place! A bit crowded on a busy day though.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I actually really enjoy hot springs in general and I try to go to a few every year. This was no exception. It is a 1.5 hour boat trip to the springs, and I'd recommend some motion sickness meds if you are prone to being sea sick. It was a very very long 1.5 hours for me.

The hike in to the hotsprings is very pretty (about 20-30mins), the boardwalks are beautifully maintained. The cove itself is surprisingly small (for some reason in my mind I keep expecting it to be bigger), but it is still a little hidden gem in the forest. The source pool is far too hot for anyone to sit in, but for the daring, you can stand/sit in the waterfall underneath the source pool.

The hot springs itself is completely undeveloped. The rocks themselves are sharp and some people may prefer to bring water slippers/reef walkers along (mine actually broke during the trip). There is outhouses and change rooms there. The downside is there no source of fresh water there (just the sea) so don't sit in the water for too long, you'll be very dehydrated quite quickly.

My personal biggest peeve is the overcrowding issue. I went on a sunday morning and well, so did about 30+ other people. It got to the point where when I got out the first time (for water and a snack), it was too crowded to go back in for another dip (there wasn't even standing room!) The optimal temp. tub/rocks surrounding, fits only about 6 people max.

Overall review:

Between the overcrowding and my terrible sea sickness of going in, I wouldn't do it again. But if you haven't been there, you should definitely go and see this beautiful little wonder. There is also lodging and camping on the little island and you can stay longer if you so wish.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lazypuddycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The board walk is superb and has been extremely maintained. It's so peaceful to walk to through the forest before getting to the springs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Springs Cove also viewed

 

Been to Hot Springs Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing