We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top places to stay in a lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InnChanter Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
InnChanter Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top places to stay in a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Delicious food, outrageous hosts, wonderful people, deeply beautiful environment, one of a kind hot springs on the ocean...a whale showed up at breakfast......GO SOON

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

My girlfriend and I flew to vancouver for 10 days with only 1 house boat hotel booked just outside of the city...our hosts surprised us with a booking for 2 nights on the Innchanter. And so began our adventure to get there! Which is half the fun for adventurous people. We took the hour ferry through great moutain coast scenery to the island for the 3 hour tour to get from coast to coast and into Tofino for a night's sleep. Then coffee, breakfast and the awesomeness float plane ride to the boat on the edge of the world...we kayaked, we hiked with the dog, we ate like royalty and we were at home with the best hosts ever. It is worth every bit of energy to get there. Having the Hot Springs Cove all to yourself at night after the tourists leave is the only way to go. And the food Shaun cooks is magnificent for like 8 people every day. Magical!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

Well for $135 per person you may be able to find a larger more private room in Ucluelet (although probably not Tofino) you won't have the amazing and unique experience the InnChanter provides. We spent two nights on the InnChanter as part of our 'mini-moon' after getting married in early August. After taking a rough but scenic boat ride up (and saw grey whales on the way) we arrived at the InnChanter by early evening to be met by Shaun right away. That night a group of fathers and children were staying aboard the ship so the offer us some peace and quite Shaun gave us his personal room on the 3rd floor with a walk out deck!!

Since the InnChanter is an old boat, construction and maintence is ongoing but other then a missing door on our stateroom (as it was accessed by private stairs this didn't really matter) the construction was not intrusive at all. In fact the guy doing the work turned out to be an old friend who showed us some of the lesser known spots around the cove. Although the hotsprings are amazing (especially during high tide when the cold water mixes with hot) staying over night helped us discover there is more to this amazing area then just a hot river.

No review of the InnChanter would be complete without mentioning the food. Shaun is a fantastic cook who has a talent for making gormet meals without the benefit of a commercial kitchen or any nearby stores. The dinning room looks out into a calm bay providing guests with a chance to relax, eat and get to know each other.

Shaun and Dave thanks for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dastew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Come to the Innchanter for the beauty of the old growth forests, the smell of moss and ocean, a deep restful sleep, the soothing soak in the natural hotsprings, and a bit of quiet time. But also know that the people you'll meet, the warm friendly ambience and the amazing meals you'll eat are also food for the soul. The Innchanter is a boat, not the Fairmont but for me, the witty, well-read, well-travelled hosts, a fireplace, comfy couches, lovely staterooms and access to the soothing forests, waters of Refuge Cove and the Hotsprings more than make up for that.

The only way to get to the Innchanter is by boat or plane, and that's probably what helps to keep it special.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thinkwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

My first experience at the Innchanter was in 2006 to celebrate my 39th birthday, it has now become my most anticipated time of the year. Upon my arrival I was immediately embraced with warmth and genuine hospitality as I unloaded from the float plane (this is a 15 min flight with Tofino Air, a must see part of the trip, some of the most specacular combination of mountains and shorelines in the world). My host, Shaun, was a man of great kindness and energic presence who's genuine mandate is to make you feel completely at home, he is a brilliant creative artist in the kitchen and enjoys the process of making your meal unforgettable. Shaun's enthusiasm is infectious when sharing his vast wisdom of the heritage and culture of the surrounding area. The experience of spending time at the Innchanter creates a space that allows you to; release and explore your inner playful child; and enjoy the romance and splendour of nature.

My magical experience continued to the anticipated Hot Springs Cove. We began with Shaun guiding (myself and other guests) by boat as we witnessed the bioluminescence chase behind us. We then set off by foot, continuing our journey through the magestic canopy of the over-growth forest, illuminated that evening by a full moon. The star filled sky welcomed us to the opening of the final destination, a roaring waterfall and three tide pools, creating a perfect evening of celebration and relaxation. A piece of paradise! This is an experience that should "never wait until tomorrow".

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tofgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

What a great location, would recommend this to anyone. Great that you can only get onto Innchanter by rowboat, kayak or floatplane!!
We had a great time there, unfortunatly for only 2 nights. Visit Hot Water springs after the boat trips have departed, you have them for yourself. Worth while visiting the "First Nation" village, though make an appointment first, they have a fantastic school.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We had a really wonderful stay. This really is something special. The boat, the hosts, the food, the scenery and the hot springs are all magical! Oh, and I recommend taking the floatplane ride and the whale watching boat to get there and back.

I’m going to recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billtubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
23.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
22.1 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
23.5 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
25.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
23.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InnChanter Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InnChanter Bed & Breakfast

Property: InnChanter Bed & Breakfast
Address: Tofino, British Columbia V0R2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InnChanter, a west coast Bed and Breakfast vacation accommodations in Tofino, BC. Luxury accommodation and gourmet meals. InnChanter is a heritage vessel built in the 1920's and refitted to take you back to the style and class of the era of her creation.Our prices include Dinner and Breakfast. We have 6 kayaks and 2 rowboats available to all of our guests to enjoy. The B&B is docked in Tofino October through April, and in Hot Springs Cove May through September. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing