We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Unique "Hotel" in the World”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
InnChanter Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Nothing and nowhere is for everyone, but for the adventurous sea-loving explorer who loves to read, kayak and soak in hot water, this beautifully remodeled fish-hawler, anchored in a remote bay north of Tofino BC, offers a side trip worth taking. You'll be in a cove blessed with hot springs and bald eagles with an entertaining raconteur host and a library you'll want to absorb for months

Room Tip: We loved the library, but all the
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for InnChanter Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 73 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

For anyone looking for a unique West Coast Experience...this is it!! You will be amazed, and likely never want to go back home. The InnChanter is perfect. How many people can say they stayed on a floating B&B, arriving by boat or plane?
Nothing beats a late night dip in the Hot Springs once all the tourist have departed, or reading a book on the sun deck. Take a day hike to a private beach, or an afternoon paddle in the cove, and enjoy the most exquisitely prepared cuisine by an extraordinary chef!
Shaun, you are one of a kind! The atmosphere you have created on the InnChanter is incomparable! Mark and Austin, you make an amazing team! The location, the atmosphere, the incredible cuisine and of course the people...combined, you have created one of my most memorable experiences ever! Thank you for everything and keep it up!

Room Tip: The Library Room is my favorite!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coreenacoreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I came here on the tail end of a motorcycle trip across canada, looking for an oasis in a natural environment, some R&R, hiking and kayaking, hopefully some interesting people and of course the opportunity to go to the hot springs without the crowds. My trip had been vary low budget, but I figured I needed a reward at the end of my trip and considering that the Innchanter had everything I was looking for I thought it would be worth it. My stay was everything I was expecting and more. The Innchanter is a purely magical place to be, excellent food, amazing wildlife, a relaxed environment, and good company, Mark and Austin were really great, warm and enchanting hosts. I would highly recommend this magical get away to anyone who wants to get a little closer to nature (and still have a nice warm bed to crawl into at night and delicious gourmet meals)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leahfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our excursion to the InnChanter and hot springs only lasted about 20 hours, but provided such an amazing amount of memories! We absolutely loved it! Originally, we had wanted to boat up and fly back; however, logistics left us with the reverse. The sea plane ride was amazing (uber-scenic; windy; wild!) – and the landing in Hot Springs Cove was spectacular (video the landing if you can; fun to watch later). The plane pulls right up to the InnChanter and promptly departs – giving you the sensation of the young biologist being dropped off on the frozen lake in the early 80’s movie Never Cry Wolf!

During our stay, Sean (owner of the boat) was in the process of turning over management to Mark – so we got to spend time with both of them. Sean LOVES the local area and had plenty of wonderful stories to regale us with. Mark is an amazing chef and whipped up a fantastic dinner and breakfast – including fresh sea food caught from the boat in the last day or so. (Helpful hint: Bring a bottle or 2 of wine with you from Tofino; no alcohol served on the boat.)

We were fortunate enough to be at the InnChanter during a full moon (and clear skies) – which led to an extraordinary midnight excursion to the hot springs and very little sleep before we had to return to Tofino to continue our adventures. Sean and a friend came along as our guides and the 4 of us had a terrific time!

A few pointers (echo’ing some comments from the last reviewer):

- Bring a flashlight (one per person), a water bottle for the hot springs (you’ll need the hydration), water proof sandals (sharp rocks in the springs at night), a swimsuit (or not depending on your liberal nature), and your own towel (there are cheap ones at the local drug / department store in Tofino). Otherwise, pack light (duffel bag or back pack).

- We flew out to the InnChanter in mid-afternoon. In hindsight, I wish we would have gone earlier in the day to allow more time to kayak the cove and go exploring. You could definitely do 2 nights on the InnChanter – especially if you love to kayak and/or spend some time reading and enjoying the peace & quiet. I would have loved to have stayed longer.

- No showers, low water pressure, tight quarters in the bedroom area – all part of the experience. You’re going for the adventure; not the luxury. The meals make up for the loss of creature comforts.

- We utilized Jamie’s Whaling Station for transportation and were perfectly happy. On the boat ride back to Tofino, we saw several whales and had a great guide.

I would definitely return to the InnChanter - and with luck - someday will. I would also recommend it to anyone who is up for a bit of adventure or an experience off the beaten track. It was the hi-light of our visit to Tofino!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livn247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This B&B is in an amazing location near some Hot Springs Cove and some great whale watching. The B&B itself was a unique experience as it is on a 1927 ship that has been refitted into a floating B&B. Apparently, the room we stayed in used to be a fish hold (although don't worry - you couldn't smell it!!)

<u>The Up Side:</u>
-Great food - the innkeeper/chef, Mark, whips up some pretty fantastic meals.
-Great sightseeing - saw whales, sea lions, etc.
-An isolated / quiet location to relax.
-You can Kayak or row to various places on the shore and the Hot Springs.
-Float planes and water taxi will take you right to the inn.

<u>The Down Side:</u>
-You only get brunch and dinner so bring a snack (Dinner was served around 7:30pm).
-Although its been re-fitted, the boat is a bit musty.
-No showers and the water pressure is a little weak.
-It's a little tight on space (after all, it is a boat)
-The beds were firm - this can be a plus or a minus depending on what you like.
-The Kayaks, Rowboats, and Docks have all seen better days and could use some work.

I would recommend it to anyone who likes good food and wants a unique experience. I wouldn't recommend staying more than 1 or 2 nights though as the space is somewhat small and unless you're an avid kayaker or like to go to the Hot Springs over and over, it might get a little boring.

Also, note that you you'll need to bring some of your own stuff: Towels, flashlights, and any wine/alcohol you'd like.

I would recommend taking the Whale Watching trip up there by boat, it was quite good and we saw lots of wildlife. We then took the float plane back to Tofino which was also an exciting end to the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam_5703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Gosh - it seems we're not the only ones who found this place and thought it would be a nice mini-moon to relax and recuperate in.
Shaun is a wonderfully friendly host and having the Hot Springs a kayak/row/boat ride away all to yourselves (after the tours have gone home) is lovely - bear in mind though that the Springs are quite small but all in all lovely if you have to yourselves.
We had probably some of the freshest crab cooked for us - a magnificent feast - and lots and lots of cups of tea!
You can do as much or as little as you want to....
Also - it seems we aren't the only ones who had also "found" the Freespirit Spheres on the internet and were headed there next - both combined were unique and memorable experiences. If you're like us - you'll love both!

Room Tip: Boat up and Fly back to Tofino!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed at the InnChanter while we were visiting Vancouver Island and Tofino in May. The InnChanter is surounded by a one of a kind nature and in the heart of Clayquot Sound close to the hot springs cove. Shaun the host made us one of the most delicous meals we ever had and gave us kayaks to check out the region. He was very friendly and responded all our questions.
The Boat is amazing and the beds are very comfy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
23.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
22.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,067 reviews
23.5 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
25.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
21.8 mi away
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InnChanter Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InnChanter Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range: $80 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InnChanter, a west coast Bed and Breakfast vacation accommodations in Tofino, BC. Luxury accommodation and gourmet meals. InnChanter is a heritage vessel built in the 1920's and refitted to take you back to the style and class of the era of her creation.Our prices include Dinner and Breakfast. We have 6 kayaks and 2 rowboats available to all of our guests to enjoy. The B&B is docked in Tofino October through April, and in Hot Springs Cove May through September. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing