We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely enchanting and magical place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
InnChanter Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Completely enchanting and magical place”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I came here on the tail end of a motorcycle trip across canada, looking for an oasis in a natural environment, some R&R, hiking and kayaking, hopefully some interesting people and of course the opportunity to go to the hot springs without the crowds. My trip had been vary low budget, but I figured I needed a reward at the end of my trip and considering that the Innchanter had everything I was looking for I thought it would be worth it. My stay was everything I was expecting and more. The Innchanter is a purely magical place to be, excellent food, amazing wildlife, a relaxed environment, and good company, Mark and Austin were really great, warm and enchanting hosts. I would highly recommend this magical get away to anyone who wants to get a little closer to nature (and still have a nice warm bed to crawl into at night and delicious gourmet meals)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leahfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our excursion to the InnChanter and hot springs only lasted about 20 hours, but provided such an amazing amount of memories! We absolutely loved it! Originally, we had wanted to boat up and fly back; however, logistics left us with the reverse. The sea plane ride was amazing (uber-scenic; windy; wild!) – and the landing in Hot Springs Cove was spectacular (video the landing if you can; fun to watch later). The plane pulls right up to the InnChanter and promptly departs – giving you the sensation of the young biologist being dropped off on the frozen lake in the early 80’s movie Never Cry Wolf!

During our stay, Sean (owner of the boat) was in the process of turning over management to Mark – so we got to spend time with both of them. Sean LOVES the local area and had plenty of wonderful stories to regale us with. Mark is an amazing chef and whipped up a fantastic dinner and breakfast – including fresh sea food caught from the boat in the last day or so. (Helpful hint: Bring a bottle or 2 of wine with you from Tofino; no alcohol served on the boat.)

We were fortunate enough to be at the InnChanter during a full moon (and clear skies) – which led to an extraordinary midnight excursion to the hot springs and very little sleep before we had to return to Tofino to continue our adventures. Sean and a friend came along as our guides and the 4 of us had a terrific time!

A few pointers (echo’ing some comments from the last reviewer):

- Bring a flashlight (one per person), a water bottle for the hot springs (you’ll need the hydration), water proof sandals (sharp rocks in the springs at night), a swimsuit (or not depending on your liberal nature), and your own towel (there are cheap ones at the local drug / department store in Tofino). Otherwise, pack light (duffel bag or back pack).

- We flew out to the InnChanter in mid-afternoon. In hindsight, I wish we would have gone earlier in the day to allow more time to kayak the cove and go exploring. You could definitely do 2 nights on the InnChanter – especially if you love to kayak and/or spend some time reading and enjoying the peace & quiet. I would have loved to have stayed longer.

- No showers, low water pressure, tight quarters in the bedroom area – all part of the experience. You’re going for the adventure; not the luxury. The meals make up for the loss of creature comforts.

- We utilized Jamie’s Whaling Station for transportation and were perfectly happy. On the boat ride back to Tofino, we saw several whales and had a great guide.

I would definitely return to the InnChanter - and with luck - someday will. I would also recommend it to anyone who is up for a bit of adventure or an experience off the beaten track. It was the hi-light of our visit to Tofino!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livn247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This B&B is in an amazing location near some Hot Springs Cove and some great whale watching. The B&B itself was a unique experience as it is on a 1927 ship that has been refitted into a floating B&B. Apparently, the room we stayed in used to be a fish hold (although don't worry - you couldn't smell it!!)

<u>The Up Side:</u>
-Great food - the innkeeper/chef, Mark, whips up some pretty fantastic meals.
-Great sightseeing - saw whales, sea lions, etc.
-An isolated / quiet location to relax.
-You can Kayak or row to various places on the shore and the Hot Springs.
-Float planes and water taxi will take you right to the inn.

<u>The Down Side:</u>
-You only get brunch and dinner so bring a snack (Dinner was served around 7:30pm).
-Although its been re-fitted, the boat is a bit musty.
-No showers and the water pressure is a little weak.
-It's a little tight on space (after all, it is a boat)
-The beds were firm - this can be a plus or a minus depending on what you like.
-The Kayaks, Rowboats, and Docks have all seen better days and could use some work.

I would recommend it to anyone who likes good food and wants a unique experience. I wouldn't recommend staying more than 1 or 2 nights though as the space is somewhat small and unless you're an avid kayaker or like to go to the Hot Springs over and over, it might get a little boring.

Also, note that you you'll need to bring some of your own stuff: Towels, flashlights, and any wine/alcohol you'd like.

I would recommend taking the Whale Watching trip up there by boat, it was quite good and we saw lots of wildlife. We then took the float plane back to Tofino which was also an exciting end to the trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam_5703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Gosh - it seems we're not the only ones who found this place and thought it would be a nice mini-moon to relax and recuperate in.
Shaun is a wonderfully friendly host and having the Hot Springs a kayak/row/boat ride away all to yourselves (after the tours have gone home) is lovely - bear in mind though that the Springs are quite small but all in all lovely if you have to yourselves.
We had probably some of the freshest crab cooked for us - a magnificent feast - and lots and lots of cups of tea!
You can do as much or as little as you want to....
Also - it seems we aren't the only ones who had also "found" the Freespirit Spheres on the internet and were headed there next - both combined were unique and memorable experiences. If you're like us - you'll love both!

Room Tip: Boat up and Fly back to Tofino!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed at the InnChanter while we were visiting Vancouver Island and Tofino in May. The InnChanter is surounded by a one of a kind nature and in the heart of Clayquot Sound close to the hot springs cove. Shaun the host made us one of the most delicous meals we ever had and gave us kayaks to check out the region. He was very friendly and responded all our questions.
The Boat is amazing and the beds are very comfy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Our stay was quite awhile ago but the memory never fades! The food was spectacular full of flavor and FRESH! We walked to the Hot Springs and all over the surrounding areas. We paddled out in the boats and just watched the ocean and fell in love! This is a magical experience and one that will renew your spirit and refresh your soul! We took the whale tour on the way out and saw whales and a float plane back adn saw more whales! We took the ferry from Vancouver and then the drive was mesmerizing. The number of waterfalls everywhere and just the beauty of it all made the trip getting to our final destination of the InnChanter that much more perfect! This is by far the BEST Vacation and stay I have ever experienced and I have been around the world! Go be in the middle of nature and surround yourself with God's beauty. Top Notch and just makes my heart float!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeCole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We own a Bed and Breakfast ourselves in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, so when we travel we prefer to stay in this type of lodging as it generally offers a more personal and rewarding experience. When we traveled to Canada for our wedding, we were looking for a really unique, memorable (and "truly Canadian experience"!!) for our Honeymoon, so we ended up choosing the Innchanter in Hotsprings Cove.
This is one of those destinations where just getting there is half of the pleasure. After a Ferry Boat ride from Vancouver to Nanaimo, we took a bus across scenic Vancuver Island to Tofino, a small fishing village, with small crafts shops, local indian art, quaint cafes and an incredible landscape. But the adventure really began when we boarded our seaplane which whisked us over deep endless blue ocean (with Killer Whales dancing below us!) to Clayoquat sound - a rugged, yet beautiful destination with a native Indian Village at the back of the bay and all surrounded by Coastal Rainforest.
Nothing could have prepared us for this incredible setting, a restored 1920's fishing boat decked out to receive a few special guests in tastefully appointed state rooms with comfortable dining and sitting rooms. The colours Shaun (the owner) has chosen feel
truly inspired in the deep indigo hues of the skies and ocean and the reds and yellows like memories of the amazing sunrises and sunsets we experienced on the boat.
We spent our days wandering the endless coastline and beaches nearby where the boat is anchored, making our way to the shore by Kayak or had Shaun run us over.
We were led as though by guides by a couple of enormous dogs from the Indian village, who seemed to know exactly where to lead us and what we were looking to see.
They patiently paused for us to photograph and rest before leading us on and we waited and photographed as they played and swam in a lake en-route to the beaches...
The highlite of our days though was always the soak in the hotsprings. It is a wonderful walk along a cedar boardwalk built over the forest floor to a cliff where boiling natural waters plunge over and then across rocks forming several pools before draining into the ocean.
The best time to visit the pools was after the day visitors from Tofino had left. We set out candles late one night and enjoyed a bottle of wine as we soaked away any possible last shred of stress and digested yet another of our host´s amazing gourmet dinners!
Highly recommended for something completely out of the ordinary that lists high on our list of experiences of a lifetime! We hope we will be able to come back one day soon and will never forget this trip!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBOVeleiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
23.5 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
21.8 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
127 reviews
23.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,035 reviews
23.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
25.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InnChanter Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InnChanter Bed & Breakfast

Property: InnChanter Bed & Breakfast
Address: Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InnChanter, a west coast Bed and Breakfast vacation accommodations in Tofino, BC. Luxury accommodation and gourmet meals. InnChanter is a heritage vessel built in the 1920's and refitted to take you back to the style and class of the era of her creation.Our prices include Dinner and Breakfast. We have 6 kayaks and 2 rowboats available to all of our guests to enjoy. The B&B is docked in Tofino October through April, and in Hot Springs Cove May through September. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing