We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant”

Big Daddy's Fish Fry
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Description: If you like fish and burgers this is the place to go! We serve fresh cut fries, halibut, ling cod, salmon, prawns, tempura batter, homemade tartar sauce, popcorn shrimp, scallops, coconut prawns, fish & beef burgers, chicken, chowders, appys, ceasar salad, oysters, beef and polish dogs, deep fried pickles, and we have 7 meals for kids!
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The fish and chips were very good and the swimming scallops were good. The seating area fills up quickly at lunchtime but there is room to stand at the bar around the outside of the property.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cy1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Owner at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience soon, please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    112
    37
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lots of fish in simple picnic setting”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

huge servings of delicious fried halibut! Big picnic tables lend a friendly environment. Served with fries and slaw

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Owner at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our food and patio! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Favorite fish meal in Tofino”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A quick and tasty meal with good portion sizes and value. During our 2014 summer vacation in Tofino, we tried to mix it up with new restaurants each day, but Big Daddy's Fish Fry was so good, we were back multiple times. We loved the salmon and chowder!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elling H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Owner at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for your business and review, both are much appreciated! We love seeing families coming back, its fun to see familiar faces and to know how the vacations going! Come back again soon :) Have a happy day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Just Fish take out or eat outside.”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

A small business on the Main street in Tofino BC. It is a take out or eat outside at picnic tables. The food is good and hot and not bad, but have had better. Value for your dollar, it comes in over priced.
It's cash only place which always put me on edge about failing to report sales to Revenue Canada, but saying they don't.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 145elite123145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Owner at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. The reason we are cash only is because we are seasonal and only open 7 months of the year. It is not worth it for us to install card readers and have the company charging us year round. We hope you have a happy day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Large amounts and filling”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We were out on the ocean all day and are here when we made it back to Tofino. It was filling and worth the price paid. If you like fish and child then this is the place to eat. The tartar sauce had a dill flavor to it. It was one of the better places to eat because it filled me up and was tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Owner at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for leaving us your review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your fish and chips! Have a happy day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Fish Fry also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Big Daddy's Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing