We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be patient to get a seat, this joint is busy.”

Big Daddy's Fish Fry
Ranked #19 of 56 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: If you like fish and burgers this is the place to go! We serve fresh cut fries, halibut, ling cod, salmon, prawns, tempura batter, homemade tartar sauce, popcorn shrimp, scallops, coconut prawns, fish & beef burgers, chicken, chowders, appys, ceasar salad, oysters, beef and polish dogs, deep fried pickles, and we have 7 meals for kids!
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Be patient to get a seat, this joint is busy.”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

One of our first stops in Tofino. Delicious deep fried oysters, great fish and chips. Enviornmentally conscious. You gotta eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eskape96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your review! Yes unfortunately our patio is small, but there are also 2 great parks across the street and down the road. We also do takeout and delivery. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your food! Thanks, and come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    112
    37
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busselton, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mouth watering”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Brake from skate park, tempura salmon burger, poutine and fish taco on the top of my list. Golden memories, awesome staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for your review! We love getting visits from the skaters! It's a pleasure to serve you. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Legendary”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I have been going to tofino for vacation every year to surf for ten years now and one day is devoted to a day of sport-eating. It begins with a breakfast wrap at Breakers across the street but the main event is always Big Daddy's Fish Fry. Each guy must have the two piece halibut and chips and the Big Daddy's Burger and fries. The burger is one of the best out there and the fish and chips are still the best I've ever had.
Thank you Big Daddy for being such an important part of our lives.
Cheers

Helpful?
1 Thank facemelter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are stoked to hear that you guys have included us in your sport-eating! Sounds like a delicious day! Glad you enjoyed the halibut and burgers. Looking forward to seeing you again this year! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super food at sensible prices”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

If you fancy a lunchtime snack then you should eat here. We had pan seared salmon and fries. The service was prompt and friendly and the food was worth the long road trip to Tofino! Would visit again - but it is a long way from the UK!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank G4ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your salmon and fries! Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Canada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great end to a perfect day.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After a full day whale watching and bear spotting, we were famished and the mama's platter of cod, wild salmon and some extra tempura prawns was just what we needed! Delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraBenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for your review! So glad to hear you enjoyed your mama platter, and that it hit the spot after a long day full of adventure! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Fish Fry also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Big Daddy's Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing