We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Daddy's Fish Fry

Big Daddy's Fish Fry
Ranked #20 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If you like fish and burgers this is the place to go! We serve fresh cut fries, halibut, ling cod, salmon, prawns, tempura batter, homemade tartar sauce, popcorn shrimp, scallops, coconut prawns, fish & beef burgers, chicken, chowders, appys, ceasar salad, oysters, beef and polish dogs, deep fried pickles, and we have 7 meals for kids!
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great chips but the best part of our meal battered gerkins!
Just what we needed after whale watching in Tofino!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TamworthGaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so stoked that you enjoyed your gerkins! Happy day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    103
    34
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a three week trip to Canada which included a week in Tofino. We are reasonably well travelled and are always on the lookout for good value.Big Daddy's provides it. We ate here for four out of the seven nights - the food was excellent and well cooked, they give you good portions and provide great value. The staff are friendly and service is very good. I have already recommended you to others and will continue to do so!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BelisariusUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
BelisariusUK, Thank you for your review and your support! We absolutely love having repeat customers. Hoping to see you on your next trip to Tofino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable oyster burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I ate an oyster burger here on my last visit to Vancouver Island in 2005. I've been looking forward to another ever since and finally made it last week. I was not disappointed. The food was delicious and the service excellent, with friendly staff and no queue. Nice tables in a semi shaded area outside. Conveniently located in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deborah_seabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Owner at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Deborah, we are so pleased to hear your long-awaited oyster burger hit the spot! Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Orignal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We like on our trips to stop and have a Fish&Chips in every city we visit around the world . So far, the two best places tied for 1st place are the one in Victoria BC called Red fish Blue fish and this one in Tofino call Big Daddy's Fish Fry. The fish (Halibut) is delicious, the batter is crispy and tasty and the fries are cooked just right and not greasy at all. Another good spot is San Francisco by the Wharf and in PEI in the small community of Victoria by the sea. Other places have excellent fish, bad fries, so so batter. But when you get all 3 (batter, fish and fries), you've got a winner. Keep on cooking... and thanks

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Manager at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, Jp L! We are so pleased to be amongst your favourite fish and chip locations! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“fishy tale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We got take away from here and all had the fish n chips, enjoyed by all a place not miss for fish n chips, fresh and tasty

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie M, Owner at Big Daddy's Fish Fry, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review; we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Fish Fry also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Big Daddy's Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing