We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled across a gem”

Big Daddy's Fish Fry
Ranked #22 of 53 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: If you like fish and burgers this is the place to go! We serve fresh cut fries, halibut, ling cod, salmon, prawns, tempura batter, homemade tartar sauce, popcorn shrimp, scallops, coconut prawns, fish & beef burgers, chicken, chowders, appys, ceasar salad, oysters, beef and polish dogs, deep fried pickles, and we have 7 meals for kids!
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stumbled across a gem”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hungry after wandering around Tofino we did zero research and grabbedl lunch at the first food place we encountered. Stunned t eat so e of the best fish and chips I've had! Halibut actually, and very good it was too! Beautifully cooked in a crisp thin batter. Hit the spot. Even hubby raved about it and, coming from a seaside town, he thinks he knows a thng or 2 about fish and chips!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    107
    35
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"halibut to fry for"”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great little fish and chip place, eat there or take away. The fish was absolutely incredible, went back 3 times during our week stay.
I cannot say anything bad about it cause there was nothing bad about it. see you next year!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great outdoor eats for good value”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Staff were extremely friendly. Food was reasonably priced in comarison to other places and fairly good selection. Obs everything is fried, but it was fresh and fast and was a cute little place for lunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great, delicious, large portions, yummy fish”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Big Daddy's is an excellent outdoor eating spot. Everything we had was delicious, quickly served and would highly recommend for casual eating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum Yum”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Everything about this place was great! Clam chowder with fried bread to dip and Salmon + fries were our standouts!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddy's Fish Fry also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Big Daddy's Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing