We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gathering Place”

Jack's Waterfront Pub
Ranked #24 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Gathering Place”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This pub offers good pub-grub and a friendly wait-staff. It sits on the harbor and offers good views of the shipping commerce coming into the harbor. We were there off season but it was a lively crowd. Looks to be a favorite for the locals which is always a good sign.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bookworms2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, General Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Marina West and Jack's Pub. We agree that you cannot beat our ever changing view! Here at Marina West we are lucky to have a great mix of locals and the tourist crowd, it can make for some great conversation.

We hope when you visit Tofino again you come back and see us at Jack's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    128
    81
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pub Fare”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Overall this was an OK place to eat; typical Pub Fare. View was great and service good. Prices very reasonable.
The Tofino Tacos were good once we removed the heaping of salsa that was piled on them and the Chowder soup was average. Unfortunately, the calamari was very bland.
Stayed for the Karaoke with the locals and had a great time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We really appreciate the feedback you sent in and we hope you had as much fun at karaoke as the locals usually do. We will definitely take your comments on the food into consideration and I will let the kitchen team know about the concerns as we are always trying to improve! The reviews people like you send in really help us to make Jack's a better destination. I hope that next time you join us in Tofino our food will have improved!

Thanks again,
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What Great Food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This pub is in a lovely location overlooking the water, you can eat either inside or outside. The choice on the menu is varied and has something for everyone. The food is all freshly cooked and the portions are very generous. The service was friendly and efficient. The pecan pie was to die for !!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kev-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing in after your visit to Marina West. We will have to get the chef to make some more pecan pie as it is his secret recipe and one of his favorite dishes to make when he has the time.
We hope you come back and visit us again the next time you are in the area and we really do appreciate the feedback!

Sincerely,
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We sat outside on the deck in the afternoon, while eating lunch we watched the local fishermen bring their catches into the dock and clean tuna and salmon. Our waitress was attentive, even warned that the bees were bad this year and if we were bothered too much by them that we could go sit inside the pub. Food was very tasty and would definitely go back to Jack's when we visit the area again. Price and food quality were excellent as was the staff and the views overlooking the docks and water!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Richard S,
The team at Marina West is very pleased to hear about your experience here at the Pub. We are very lucky to have such great entertainment at our disposal and we are happy you enjoyed the food and service during your visit. We strive to put forth the best quality food while keeping the prices reasonable. We hope to see you on your next visit to Tofino.
Thank you so much for your review
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Watch the fish being cleaned as you eat your lunch!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great view, and delicious food. I think they had the best fries in Tofino. I had a fish taco, my husband and son both had a steak sandwich. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was most pleasant. Sit outside on the patio if it's not raining.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank djaffray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the compliments on the fries, the chef was elated when he read your review. It is great to hear that all areas of your visit were enjoyable, we agree if it isn't raining there are not many better places to enjoy lunch than on our Patio. It is great to receive positive feedback and we hope you will stop by for lunch the next time you are on the coast

Sincerely,
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Waterfront Pub also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Jack's Waterfront Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing