We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the fish being cleaned as you eat your lunch!”
Review of Jack's Waterfront Pub - CLOSED

Jack's Waterfront Pub
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Watch the fish being cleaned as you eat your lunch!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great view, and delicious food. I think they had the best fries in Tofino. I had a fish taco, my husband and son both had a steak sandwich. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was most pleasant. Sit outside on the patio if it's not raining.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank djaffray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the compliments on the fries, the chef was elated when he read your review. It is great to hear that all areas of your visit were enjoyable, we agree if it isn't raining there are not many better places to enjoy lunch than on our Patio. It is great to receive positive feedback and we hope you will stop by for lunch the next time you are on the coast

Sincerely,
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    128
    81
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very little on a plate for the $$”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A bit of a disappointment. Food was average and they were very small portions for the $$. In fact we went out to eat again about an hour later. Our server was great and food came fast but it wasn't hot at all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Newlyweds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We apologize for your disappointment during your visit to Jack's at Marina West. Food quality and value is very important to us and this feedback assists us to make necessary changes. Your review will help us to improve the guest experience here at Jack's. I hope next time you visit Tofino you give Marina West another chance and I assure you that things will have changed.

Sincerely,
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Live music with the locals”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'd red that there was going to be live music here, so we headed in. The place was pretty crowded even at 8:00pm, but we got a spot at the bar. Both bartenders were quick with recommendations and always got us "freshened up" when we got low. The place isn't really designed for live music long and narrow, but the band sounded good and they played music that the crowed obviously liked. It's very low key here - from the fishermen in the rubber boots and ball caps coming in for an afterwork drink, to vacationers trying to live it up a little. We had a great time, and it's not too bad a walk back into Tofino to the hotels.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SlideShowMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We agree the Pub isn't the best location/room design for live music!! We are very pleased to hear you had a good time during our live music. We try and bring as many local Island artists to the stage and like you said appeal to all different types of crowds. We pride ourselves on the diversity of people that frequent Jack's Pub.
I Really appreciate you reviewing your experience here and we hope to see you in the Pub for some live music in the near future

Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ordinary food, nice view”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My crab cakes were tasteless. Honestly, I've never had one so free of flavour. They were deepfried in the same batter their onion rings are fried in and they weren't great either. My husband said his clubhouse sandwich was just ordinary. The prices are pretty high for the quality of the food. Nice view though. I'd go there for a drink and eat somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Lucydodd,
I apologize for the quality of food you received during your visit to Marina West. We utilize your comments to help the kitchen team create a better and valuable product for our guests to enjoy. We hope that next time you return to Tofino you can try a new dish and Jack's will be a place not only for a drink but for food as well!
Again my apologies for your experience and I hope we have rectified the problems if you ever return!

Sincerely,
Graeme Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great for locals and tourists”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

wonderful cider and beer selection, friendly and right on the water. really a great experience and good atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMolly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaWestTofino, General Manager at Jack's Waterfront Pub, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, its great to hear you like our selection of beverages. We strive to keep it local and interesting. We hope that you come back to visit us again sometime soon.

Sincerely,

The Marina West Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Waterfront Pub also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing