We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a short visit.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove
Ranked #16 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were only able to spend two nights in Tofino, shame as its a beautiful place. This was our third B and B in Vancouver and Vancouver Island. Our room was huge with the most amazing view of the sea and coast together with a deck to sit out on. Breakfasts were excellent and we enjoyed chatting and sharing experiences with the other guests. The only thing that prevents us giving five stars is that the furniture in our room was looking its age and, bizarrely, there was a large park bench along the wall. We used it to store our suitcases on, still mostly full of clothes as there was very little storage room. A good sized chest of drawers would be a great improvement on the park bench!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Roger2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Didn't know what to expect, but Val was great on the phone. I had search this area trying to find a room for July and everything was booked that was not over $200! I accidently found this wonderful paradise on the Net and immediately sent and email and then called.

THe room was wonderful and large. Fireplace and 2 person shower. Most units have kitchens in their unit but ours was just outside. Not a problem at all. Bed was comfortable, Place was full but quiet. The view as you can see was magnificent. It's a short walk into town and the town is small so you can walk it too. The inn is close to some short trails as well. It was rather cool when we were there so the sea kayaking was out for me. It was also very foggy as well. Hey Mother Nature does what she wants and doesn't listen to our needs!

Since my friend does not know that 7:30 or 9am are hours that exist in a day we did not have breakfast but the smell of fresh muffins and goodies was wonderful.

Excellent stay! Good service and friendly. A must stay! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bearthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Tides Inn is the best! On Day 1, we enjoyed views of the cove from our lovely deck and I saw my first bald eagle! Day 2 started with a morning jog along the nearby Lighthouse Trail and beach, followed by a cold dip in Duffin Cove!! On Day 3, we slept in and woke up to the most awesome B and B breakfast we've ever had! There was so much love and care put into it! YUM! We were sad to go but will definitely visit again. Thanks for the warm hospitality Val and Kristen!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived at The Tides Inn we felt like we were at home. Val was very welcoming and very informative. She provided us with lots of information about beaches, shops, and restaurants. We walked around the corner from the kitchen and we saw the unbelievable views of the cove. We were in awe of the beauty and tranquility of the surroundings and were informed that the views were the same as the ones we would be getting from our room. We were not disappointed when we were shown our room. We stayed in the Chinook Room and it was extremely clean and had everything you would expect a hotel room to have in it (even a walk-in closet). The views from our bay window by our bed, and from our private deck were amazing!! If you chose to you could venture down the staircase and make your way to your own beach right at the bottom of the property. Perfect! After you spend your first night here you will wake up to a fantastic breakfast that will get you started for the day! YUMMY!!

The location of The Tides Inn was perfect. You are not right in the business district but just outside of it so the noise is non-existent. When you sit on the deck you hear nothing but the sounds of the water, wildlife, and the occasional seaplane coming and going. It was a short walk to shopping, restaurants, and a nice little hiking trail that lead us to a beach that was not very busy so we were able to relax and enjoy the scenery while soaking in some sun! I have to say that we were spoiled with the weather. 25°C both days we were there!

Val was a friendly and helpful host and everything about the B & B was wonderful! If we get back to Tofino at some point we will definitely be staying at The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove! In the meantime, do yourself a favour and stay here to help make your trip to Tofino a memorable one!

Thanks Val!

Nancy and Dustin

Room Tip: The Chinook room is the upstairs room which had a private balcony. All other rooms do have a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woosper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A short walk into town. The innkeeper, Val, creates a culinary sensation every morning! Homemade sweet bread, frittatas, french toast, sausage and fresh fruit. Large rooms have an waterfront view. great for watching unbelievable sunsets. beautiful coves and beaches all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinefinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had never stayed at a B&B before and was a little apprehensive about my expectations. The room was more than I had hoped for. From the decor to the comfort of the bed and the full bath I could not have asked for more. A bathrobe in the closet was a pleasant surprise. The view of the ocean and surrounding islands from either of the decks in the private yard was nothing short of spectacular.
Breakfast was a real treat. I stayed two nights and the array of fresh fruit,croissants,French toast,eggs,bacon was over the top. Presentation was not something I ever really considered important but colourful flowers and petals added something to the ambiance. From the eagerness of the staff to please and to offer suggestions as to what to do and what to see in Tofino.....I could not have been happier with my stay. I am now sold on the B&B experience and it's all a result of my stay at The tides Inn.

Graham Parker
Lantzville

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casitanavidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Val is a welcoming and friendly host. The location is fabulous,overlooking Duffin Cove. There are steps from the property which take you down to your own beach, you do not get much better than that ! Our room was located on the ground floor with own wooded deck area, overlooking the garden and cove. It was spacious and homely. We would have stayed longer if the room was available, but sadly not. The breakfasts were superb, Val's special touches and home made breads. Mmmhhh. We would definately return to The Tides Inn.

Clare and Peter, England and Ireland

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareH809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.3 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
2.8 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harvey House B&B
Harvey House B&B
#3 of 41 in Tofino
391 reviews
3.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.7 mi away
Tofino Resort + Marina
Tofino Resort + Marina
#14 of 16 in Tofino
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove

Address: 160 Arnet Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $94 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing