We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and views but poor food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove
Ranked #15 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I loved the room we stayed in. It was spacious and nice and very clean but the food was not good at all it tasted quite bad and breakfast is too early at 8:30am. The house needs a lot of work on the outside at least a paint joband the hottub was broken and we got no money off our bill and that was a dissapointment since we wanted to relax in the hottub.
She also has a lot of rules like the tv must be turned down to the minimum volume at 10pm sharp and no late night toilet flushes and just was too rigid and breakfast is really not worth getting up for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadiatravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Well placed and lovely view. Food was fine and Val was helpful and friendly but the accommodation is a bit dated and tired. It is at the cheaper end of the b&bs in Tofino and you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This B&B is a bit outside the centre of Tofino (just a 15 minutes walk) but the view is absolutely stunning. There are 4 rooms situated at the ground level of the house. The rooms differ a but in size. We booked the Barnacle room and a another room (with two couples). Al the rooms have private excess. Excellent bathrooms and very good mattress. The rooms have large windows, which can be a bit of a problem for your privacy (windowblinds available) but great for the view.
They have a Jacuzzi to share in there garden, overlooking the Duffin Cove. On the day we arrived the Jacuzzi brooked down but Val (host) made sure that is was fixed next day. The host Val was very friendly and willing to help us with what to do and where to go. There’s not a lot of different choices for breakfast, but if you want something different just ask and Val will see if she’s able to help you.
This B&B is probably not the must luxurious one, but it’s definitely more than just standard and the view is great (did I mention this before). There is even access to a kind of private beach, great to watch sunset. The prices in Tofino are sky high (in comparison to a lot of other places in Canada) so I think this B&B is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Tofino's Tide's Inn is a small B&B tucked away from the road, overlooking a soul-soothing view over Duffin Cove. I and my friend stayed two nights in it and it exceeded our expectations. We can't say enough how genuinely kind and accommodating Val and James are! They make their guests feel welcome and right at home. Each of the 3 rooms has its own character, but all are spaciious, comfortable, very clean, with charming details, and of course, a lovely view. One room (on the upper level) overlooks the Cove directly; the other two (on the lower level) also have the same water view but across a lush garden. The bathroom has everything and is very clean (mine had steam bath). For hot tubbers, there is even a hot tub in the garden. Breakfast is prepared with care and served with elegance befitting the splendid view through the wide glass. Feasting the eyes on the Cove backdrop is one thing, but did I forget to mention that breakfast was also very delicisious? Val clearly takes pride in hosting her guests. In our view, this is a winner of a B&B on all accounts. It combines a lovely view, quiet, comfort, good food, and a great West Coast hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne-Ann2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Just compleated a great holiday at the Tides Inn. The view from our room was directly on to a cove with islands and mountains over the water. Perfect !
The room and bathroom were extremly comfortable, and well proportioned . We had a jazuzzi bath, and a deck to sit and admire the view. And their was an outdoor hot tub too !!!
Their was a sandy cove (Tonquin Beach) a 5 min walk, and it was a short walk to the center of Tofino for restaurants etc. very conveniently placed.
The breakfasts were outstanding, and the price for our stay was great value considering the facilities.
The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the place was well run.
Its the best B & B we have stayed at !
I would thoroughly recommend it.
Im sure we will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikej77Romsey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at 'Tide's Inn' while showing off our beautiful West Coast to family members from Scotland.

The location on Duffin Cove provides beauty and privacy, and along with the exquisite breakfasts and warm fellowship provided by Val and James, makes this a very special place to stay.
My gluten free diet was provided in a professional and caring manner, a definite bonus for me when away from home.

Town is a mere five minutes walk away.

TIDE'S INN IS A DELIGHT!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twooldiesontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Val is a good hostess and we had a very nice room. The weather was poor for our stay and it would have been good if we had been offered a DVD for the evening as there is nothing to do in Tofino at night.
The hot tub is great as is the setting overlooking a beautiful cove.
Small niggles include: breakfast time is very rigid. On holiday one would expect this to fit with guests' requirements not the host's. We had to have a packed breakfast because we went bear watching at 8am. By contrast the served breakfast was lovely and very convivial.
We were lent a park pass for the local beaches which was a good extra service.
Beware having the curtains open to the room as all other guests share the garden. Val leaves a note asking people not to make noise between 11 and 7 but this was ignored by a couple who left at 6am on our first morning and the sound of showers and packing sure does carry.
These are but small points because overall this was a lovely place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b0wiewhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.8 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
2 mi away
Seafarer's Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
2.1 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tofino Resort + Marina
Tofino Resort + Marina
#14 of 16 in Tofino
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove

Address: 160 Arnet Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $94 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing