We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing - greedy owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Tough City
Ranked #15 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing - greedy owner”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was excited to host a wedding event here, excited to try out the sushi and have some fun! We confirmed with the manager months in advance, and then within the month of the event and the week before the event, the owner cancelled our reservation! He said we will "not be spending enough money", and he will "make more money without" our party. We offered $1000 just to keep the reservation (plus whatever people spend) and he said "I make way more than that", and booted our reso out.

It's totally fair that the place isn't suited for such events, although I think he underestimated my foodie family and friends! It was the HORRIBLE service and organization of the situation. Tell people up front if this is the case, and if a staff member books it and confirms, I probably would take one for the team and NOT cancel last minute screwing over an entire wedding event.

Very disappointing!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MissHbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    19
    4
    13
See reviews for
10
54
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thornbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in Room #5, which had a great bathroom and a balcony which overlooked the harbour/ocean. The room was very comfortable, with all the amenities (minifridge, micro, fast WiFi, flat screen tv, a very comfortable bed, fireplace stove, and an incredible view of the harbour. The innkeeper, Anna, was very friendly and hospitable. Check-in was smooth and fast, as was checkout.
This inn (8 very modern rooms) is within walking distance of everything Tofino has to offer and it is above a sushi restaurant.
I enjoyed every second of my stay here.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the waterside...of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A friend and I shared room no. 10, village view, twin beds. It was fine. The room included a fridge and coffee maker, with coffee bags (like tea bags) supplied. We had a little balcony overlooking the village. The bathroom was enormous with a large soaker tub, which I made grateful use of after a long day of walking the beach. The noise from the bar died down early, around 10 pm, which surprised me but was great. And we were there on a weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJYToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a enthusiastic man in the lobby who was more than stoked to get us situated. He explained our awesome balcony, all in/out procedures and offered to assist with unpacking the car (which we were fine without, but it was a sweet feature considering the laid back nature assumed by the overall esthetics).

Once we got to our room (#2) we were surprised to see how lovely it was: new paint, supple bathroom linens, a fridge, iPod dock, and just overall tidy cleanliness.

The view is pretty, the bed comfortable and the bathroom is undeniably renovated.

For the online deal barely shy of $100, this place is exactly what we wanted. The free parking, lounge and sushi bar are all simply bonuses to a quality little place.

Thanks Tough City!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in roon #4 ...great balcony and view of the cove. Small room but did not go there to stay in our room. Great stained glass thoughout the B&B. Very eclectic place but liked it. Stay very friendly. Japanese restaurant on the main floor was ok..Had the crazy ron ( owners name ) roll ...chicken yaki was like a kebab...my expectation were not high ( we were in tofino after all ) Great for a first time stay in the village off season with no bells and whistles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefNag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are tired of those sterile, predictable hotel rooms then The Inn at Tough City is the place to stay. We had room one with the view of the harbor. There was always something happening to entertain you. Seaplanes, kayaks, water taxis, fishing boats, tour boats, barges and tug boats. You could see all of this from your covered verahanda. The room was sparcely furnished but quite adequate. Large bathroom, nice soft towels, decent beds, accommodating and friendly staff. Centrally located in downtown Tofino so we could walk everywhere. We absolutely loved it here for a very modest price for Tofino.

Mario & Ella from Ontario

Room Tip: Choose rooms 1or 2 for the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarMar1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Drew and I got married on MacKenzie Beach, and we stayed at the Inn at Tough City with our family. We had a fantastic time! The people who worked there were all so happy for us. We had a family dinner in the Sushi Bar. We all (4 couples) all stayed in lovely rooms. Super comfy beds, wonderful views, good showers. We discovered if you smile at people and say, "HI!" they say Hi back! The owner is a great guy, rather eccentric but very warm and funny! The stained glass windows are unbelievable! The rates are great, because you are in the middle of the town.Parked at the door any time we needed to

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tough City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tough City

Property: The Inn at Tough City
Address: 350 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Tough City 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Tough City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tough City Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing