We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Stayed here in Lodge at the Beach (the "child free" version) for part of our honeymoon. The room was very nice and cosy and decorated in "West coast" style. There was no TV and no phone, which doesnt bother me in the slightest but it certainly bothered a couple who immediately checked out after discovering this, so be aware. This couple were also annoyed that no-one could carry their bags (there was only one lightly built girl on reception) which seemed to have been packed for an expedition to the moon rather than a beachside lodge. What I am getting at is that if you are expecting the same treatment you would get at a 5 star city hotel you arent going to get it here, which suits me fine.

The Lodge has its own beach and is about 2 miles away from Tofino itself. Home cooked muffins and lovely bread were provided for breakfast. The staff were friendly and quite knowledgeable, and provided all the services you would expect from a low key, relaxed resort.

For the money I think this place is brilliant. If you want somewhere low key to relax with your loved one(s) and you arent hung up on gadgets in the room and dare I say it "American style" service then this is for you.

We would stay here again and plan to one day.

  • Liked — Laid back atmosphere and beautiful surroundings
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zardoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    322
    109
    45
    25
See reviews for
196
597
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

Had the pleasure of returning to Tofino with my husband and another couple after spending our honeymoon at the Wick last June (see "a honeymooner's pointe of view -- Wick review). Since our pocketbooks were still recovering from the Wick, we decided to stay at the Middle Beach Lodge and it did not disappoint! Please read on for pros and cons of Middle Beach compared to the Wick:

Pros: 1) Views... at the Middle Beach were fantastic, especially from the cozy but spacious sitting room in the main lodge where there are comfy couches, a large fireplace and panoramic 280 degree views. We stayed in cabin 54 and also enjoyed a beautiful view that made our view from the Beach room at the Wick pale in comparison. 2) Food... a free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate bar was up and running throughout the day. A large fruit basket was always stocked and ready for the taking. Breakfasts were bountiful with freshly made cinnamon rolls, pastries, cereals, waffles and hard boiled eggs plus a selection of juices. During the shoulder season, when we were there, soft, freshly baked cookies were served at 8pm on nights that the lodge did not offer dinner. We had dinner at Middle Beach for salmon night and it was wonderful. For $33 per person, dinner included appetizers, a salmon filet, mashed potatoes, a selection of salads and bread and a nice desert. It tasted great and was likely the best value for dinner around Tofino. 3) Price... paid $320 per night for a 2 bedroom cabin, which we shared with another couple. Given all of the included amenities, especially the breakfast and all day coffee bar, we thought this to be a great deal. 4) Lodge.... the main lodge area at the MBL is lovely. It is a cozy place to sit and read by the fire or to play cards or chess with friends. There are multiple seating areas within the large room, so you can have a conversation without disturbing others nearby. We spent at least a few hours each afternoon or evening playing cards and watching the spectacular view. The sunset is gorgeous.

Cons: 1) Service.... service was better at the Wick, hands down. The Wick coordinated all our activities on Tofino, whereas the girls at the MBL front desk were less informed and not as helpful. Housekeeping was only fair at the middle beach - towels were not replaced even when asked, sheets were supposed to be changed every 3 days and when this was not done on the fourth day, there was a little note left that said "n/a" -- though we were there for a week. There were certainly no little personal touches, like coming back to soft music and candles in your room at the Wick. At the end of our Wick stay, the front desk was able to refund our GST right then and there -- the MBL staff had not heard of such a thing and were not able to give us the appropriate paperwork. 2) Noisy, somewhat sparse cabins.... we stayed in a two room cabin with another couple, who were luckily good friends of ours. Though the cabin is advertised as 2 bedrooms, there was only one bathroom, which worked out fine. The major issue was that there was absolutely no privacy due to very thin ceilings and walls. We stayed upstairs and could hear every word or sound in the bedroom and bathroom below. We could actually see down into the room below via small holes in the floor boards. Would likely not stay in a cabin with others on a return trip, though it certainly makes for a good price and is do-able. Also, there was not a closet in the bedroom upstairs, only 3 pegs on the wall and a very small dresser with 3 little drawers. The downstairs bedroom was similar. The decor is not as fine as at the Wick, but overall it was nice. 3) Hot Tub.... we enjoyed a jacuzzi hot tub on our deck, which was great, but it was very clearly only designed for 2 people (though we did squeeze all four into the tub at one point, as the tub was unusually deep). If you are relatively thin and adventurous, it will work.

Overall, we would most certainly return to the Middle Beach Lodge, though we might consider a different arrangement if coming with another couple. If you can let a few things slide from the service aspect, I think the Wick is hard pressed to beat the value, views, ambience and food at the Middle Beach. If you are coming to Tofino for a honeymoon and can afford staying in a room at the Pointe at the Wick, the ultimate romance factor is certainly greater there. But if you are coming to Tofino for rest and relaxation, I would save my money and go to the Middle Beach.


  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClevelandDoctorMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Stayed in unit 47 at the lodge in the Headlands which had a slightly tree obscured view of the sea and a small terrace. The unit had a loft style sitting room with TV/DVD player, log fire, big sofa, small dining table and little kitchenette. There was a double bedroom in the loft which had no chest of drawers and was accessed by a steep ladder and a double bedroom on the ground floor next door to the bathroom. The downstairs bedroom had a small chest of drawers that was mostly filled with extra bedding. There was extremely poor lighting (due to energy restricted lightbulbs) in both the bedroom and bathroom which made it rather gloomy. The beds were hard and the upstairs bed creeked loudly and the unit was poorly sound proofed so any movement could be heard throughout the unit. So I would only recommend this sort of room to a couple or heavy sleepers!

The main sitting area in the hotel was charming and very cosy with a big log fire and lots of big comfy sofas and fantastic views of the sea. Hot chocolate, teas and coffee were available all day long and cookies were served between 8-10 pm. Breakfast was as described in other reviews: toast, croissants, pastries and cereals, hard boiled eggs and fruit juice.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the beds!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

We stayed at the Middle Beach Lodge two nights during the first week of April. The experience was great. There were so few guests staying here during our visit that it was fun having the Middle Beach all to ourselves. The tide pools were interesting to explore. We thought the breakfast foods were very good. There were choices of healthy and tasty foods. I liked the homemade breads, muffins, jams, trail mix and waffles with real maple syrup, They had nice coffee and teas. At 8:00 p.m. they served freshly baked cookies. One morning, right before dawn, we awoke to a full moon setting out over the Pacific Ocean. The view from our window was one I will treasure a long time after I pay off my credit card.

  • Liked — The setting overlooking the Pacific Ocean
  • Disliked — The price was higher than I usually spend
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank all&all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2007

Went on honeymoon and booked against my better judgement as it looked a bit spartan for my taste. Couldn't have been more wrong.

Amazing place. You are so exposed to nature and the ocean I can't speak highly enough of the pure relaxation of this place.

Try and get a full ocean view room but they are all great.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Relton14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

If you can't relax here, face it, you can't relax. What a great place! First, the location is indescribably beautiful. The lodge and its cabins blend harmoniously with the wild coastline...rustic but comfortable. The lounge in the main lodge is a room you will never want to leave, with a roaring fire, deep couches, soft and gleaming wood, all day coffee and hot choclate, and of course, amazing views of the ocean just outside. Breakfast buffet was delicious and Saturday night dinner of barbequed salmon was excellent. Village of Tofino is a short drive...we were directed to some excellent restaurants and the whale watch trip was fantastic. If you love the wild outdoors but want to be comfortable, this is the place...

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FITravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

After researching various sites, I felt comfortable committing to Middle Beach Lodge. We were not disappointed. As a matter of fact, several British Columbians commented that that's where they would stay, had they had the opportunity. The atmosphere is golden warm and inviting, while the surroundings are silver cool and wild. The combination is soul satisfying. The dinner (barbeque wild salmon and many veggie sides) was very good, and the degree of attention paid to the guests was appropriate. One of the frequent guests commented how much more comfortable and impressive the Middle Beach Lodge was compared to the Wickanninish, and having eaten lunch at the latter, I have to concur. It's the difference between a fine hotel and a fine home. Headlands room #30 was perfect in every way possible, right down to the lap blankets provided for relaxing on the porch. Will definitely recommend to all who enjoy raw beauty in cozy surroundings.

  • Liked — Excellent location - felt remote but was in fact very, very close to Tofino
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank passportwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing