We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading, Dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Misleading, Dirty”
Reviewed November 4, 2009

As part of our 2 week stay in Victoria we planned a 3 day stay in Tofino to take in the scenery and see a more rustic part of Vancouver Island. After calling the Middle Beach Lodge we were offered a full ocen view suite with a gas fireplace and kitchen at $230 a night plus taxes and fees with a 2 night minimum.

The room had a great view and that was it. This is a hotel for backpackers or folks that travel light. By the way, none of the pictures on their website matched our actual room.

We checked in at the impressive front desk with a great lobby area with comfortable furniture and great wood burning fireplace. I'm excited, this place looks like the real deal. We get our keys to the #62, one of 6 "deluxe" suites in the Lodge at the Headlands.

Open the door and it's all downhill from there. Kitchen has oven mitts that are greasy and dirty along with the kitchen waste basket. The GAS fireplace turns out to be a switch on the wall that controls a lightbulb in the fireplace with fake flames (you can put your hand in the "flames" without fear). We take our luggage into the tiny bedroom with the lumpy, cratered mattress and you literally have ZERO space to put your luggage and NO closet, just hooks on the wall, have fun walking around your bags for the stay.

Bathroom opens up to the bedroom with only a couple of louvered sliding doors seperating the 2 areas. OK for most functions but not for using the toilet. Speaking of the toilet, It overflows on the first flush. I call the desk and they are there in a flash with the the Toilet Overflow emergency kit, plunger, towels, bucket and mop. Apparently a regular occurence at the Lodge.

Needless to say we cut our visit short and left the next morning with our whopping $30.00 discount.

It really is a shame because this hotel is right on the beach with great views but it takes alot of nerve to charge $200 + a night in low season for a room like this.

We scouted other hotels for future visits and the Wickaninnish Inn for $50-$100 more a night was a great value and VERY nice with great, luxurious rooms and views equal to the Middle Beach Lodge.

Had we not been over promised and over charged, then the Middle Beach Lodge would have been tolerable but this is NOT a place to stay if you want comfort and any kind of plush. It's rough, old and cramped with a GREAT view and location and absolutely nothing else to offer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    314
    104
    45
    24
See reviews for
192
576
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2009

October drew us back for a second visit to Middle Beach and all it offers! We have found a favourite that brings that special West Coast feel each day there. The waves pounding on MacKenize Beach and the sounds of the Pacific stand out in our memories from both trips.

The staff were excellent to deal with and were courteous/friendly through out our three day visit. Most of our dealings were with the front desk staff and they were very helpful with our many questions and advice on what to see in Tofino. They were all good ambassadors for Middle Beach and made our stay all the more enjoyable. Hi-lites for us were the daily walks along the sand for miles, sitting on our balcony listening to the ocean daytime or night and finding hidden coves to just sit and relax quietly. My wife each morning really enjoyed an early beach walk and then quiet reading in the lodge "great room" overlooking the point. We both loved the hot cinamon buns with tea available each morning fresh.

Staff were knowledgeable about tours and we ended up on a whale watching tour. The guide "Popi" at Weigh West went out of his way to ask each passenger what they wanted to see as well as whales. And then he succeeded in finding something for everyone - gray whales, eagles, sea otters, birds, seals and sea lions - unbelievable memories and photos!

When there check out a smaller beach down a wooded trail to the right of the lodge (right when facing the water) - I think it is only accessible from Middle Beach Lodge and offers a smaller less visited beach that offers great opportunity to relax in solitude with the ocean.

Enjoy your visit to Tofino ande Middle Beach Lodge as we did!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Islander087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Comfy room, with ocean view (although it was a bit foggy when we were there). Nice atmosphere and friendly staff (all girls...).

Free internet available. Breakfast was home made and yummy. Loved sitting near the fireplace, while sipping Tazo tea and enjoying a freshly baked muffin or cookie (teas and coffees are also to go). This is the life. Wellies, raincoats and umbrellas to lend. Dinner is only fish (vegetarians are better off in Tofino - lots of veggie things to choose from), and quite expensive.

Location is beautiful. Great views of the ocean and some islands. Tofino is just 10 minutes by car. Great place to relax and unwind. Oh and check out the forests ofcourse!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Just stayed at middle beach lodge in a larger cabin (54) with a breath-taking view of Mackenzie Beach, from the cheery front desk staff to the delicious breakfast, Middle Beach Lodge was a perfect way to experience Tofino for the first time.

The best part of the trip was going on a whale watch with Middle Beach Lodge's sister resort the Weight West Marine Center, this was arranged by employees who worked at both the lodge and the whale center, and we enjoyed it greatly...Saw Grey Whales!

Overall our stay was perfect, and would reccomend to anyone heading to the west coast

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfam2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Null
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Had a simply amazing experience. I'd recommend this hotel not to mention Tofino, to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCompact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Middle Beach Lodge is in stunning location about 10km away from the town itself where there are plenty of places to eat and drink. This is important to note as there isn’t a restaurant at the Lodge (it only provides evening meals on a very ad hoc basis). Be prepared for a walk along the main highway or to get into the car every night.

On arrival we were a little struck at the utter lack of any welcome or friendliness from the reception staff at Middle Beach. We felt that we were beign checked in by a robot who was more concerned with telling us what they didn't have than anything about the positives. Unfortunately, this standard continued throughout our two night stay. There's either something really wrong here to have taken all the life out of the staff or standards are really low. The worst service we received in our whole trip to BC.

Again, like many other reviewers we found that the standard room we had was extremely small and had poor facilities. There was absolutely nowhere to put your clothes apart from a line of coat pegs along one of the walls. We were reminded of a school cloakroom! What's more, the wash basin was also in the bedroom – very close to the bed. There are no coffee/tea facilities, no tv, no phone, no hardryer - so essentially it's no frills accommodation. The standard of fittings is good, but you just want to get out the rooms as they are so oppressive. We did question the size of the room with the receptionist only to be told that a lot of people mention the same thing! (That's Ok then is it?)

We did get a complimentary continental breakfast which was OK, but nothing that special. The lounge area is very nicely furnished and has a good view of the beach - but with limted facilities and surly staff it was hardly conducive to relaxation.

There was also some building work going an at the Lodge which was never mentioned by any of the staff and was just another minor irritation that could be avoided if dealt with better. This building work meant that there was no use of the tv lounge for those without tvs in their rooms and when I used the laundry (as there was no iron/ironing board in the room) I had to negotiate building work, rolled up floor coverings etc. - so there was a health and safety risk.

There's lots of other accommodation in Tofino. This place just doesn't seem to care about its customers at all and rests on the fact that it is in a good location. Our advice - take your self elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riflerangeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Front desk staff very poorly trained-should not be serving the public-especially when knowing guests are paying $$$$. Our room was a huge disappointment. Asked for two double beds and got stuck with an ancient hideabed-at least 20 years old. The staff expected us to pull it out and make it. which I don't mind but this was like trying to pull a stubborn donkey. Also a noisy outside generator ?? could be heard all the time. Dining was ok but better can be found in the area. Will not return as even after chatting with the owner did not feel he cared.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.6 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing