We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, unbelievable location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, unbelievable location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a 4 night stay with our entire family and it couldn't have been better. Staff was friendly but with it being a nice, quiet place, they were not in your face at all. There when you needed something but not overbearing in the least. Location is absolutely stunning with easy access to 2 amazing beaches. Cabins were clean with all necessary amenities. It was a fantastic trip. Breakfast served in the lodge was excellent and a great way to start the day off. I will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbones33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear jbones33
Thank you for your lovely review. The lodge is a wonderful place for a family vacation or reunion, and I am happy to hear how much you and your family enjoyed it. We are so lucky to be in one of the most amazing areas with two beautiful beaches bordering our property. September is such a nice month in Tofino, not quite as busy, but we often get some of the best weather of the year!
I look forward to your return visit.
Warm Regards,
Britt Chalmers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    309
    101
    44
    24
See reviews for
188
573
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently stayed at MBL for a wedding and weekend getaway. What a gorgeous and perfect location for a west coast beach wedding. It was awesome!
We found the atmosphere to be so laid-back. We fell asleep to the sound of the ocean and fresh air. The rooms and the lodge itself are charming and the fresh baked goodies are very tempting. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They even ran us to the airport ! We will return to this lovely lodge again and again.
The walk into town is about 35 minutes, and don't miss a trip to Tacofino Truck - YUMMY!.
** Wi-Fi worked well on my i-phone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_jackal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Travel Jackal
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will return again. The lodge is such a beautiful and unique place for a wedding! I love that you enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of the lodge, our goal is to create a cozy home away from home in the beautiful west coast wilderness! We are always happy to shuttle guests about whenever possible and I agree, Tacofino is a must!
Safe travels and we look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Britt Chalmers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nice place, nice beach, nice dinner - perfect stay!
We won't forget it.

They offer a very good dinner (3 course menu) in Lodge for 30 CAD per person.
You can't find a better one at that place especially for that price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Jana,

Our dinner service is different from many other restaurants so I am glad that you enjoyed the unique setting that we offer. We are very lucky to be in such a beautiful location in Tofino and to have the vantage point of both Mackenzie Beach and Wickaninnish Island. The views are perfect for dinner, as you watch the sun set and the evening paddle boarders, as they float around the headlands.

Thank you for taking the time to review Middle Beach Lodge,

Yours Sincerely,

Britt Chalmers

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

What a place! Great accommodations, outstanding architecture and view - great surroundings. Outstanding breakfast included as well as all day tea, coffee and hot chocolate and usually home made cookies. The nights they have a one price meal go for it - you will love it. They provide boots and slickers for walking the beautiful beaches if it is drizzling - still a great thing to do. Enjoy the big fireplace on chilly afternoons. An "only in Canada" amazing destination.

Room Tip: Get an ocean facing room in the Headlands or a cottage in that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaleidoscope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Keleidoscope2,

We are happy to hear that you found our lodge and facilities outstanding! Fresh baked goods in the morning and cookies in the afternoon are a Middle Beach tradition so we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the treats. January can be one of the wettest months in Tofino, but rain or shine we have you covered with our slickers, boots and all day coffee/tea bar to keep you warm, cozy and dry.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.


Sincerely,
Kailee
Front Desk Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The wi if is so bad it may as well not exist. The rooms are tiny. No dresser, no closet, no place for baggage. No tv, no ac. Messed up my reservations so I had to pay $300 for another room for two nights. But clean and the grounds are great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nowifihereatall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience at Middle Beach! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our grounds and beautiful private beach. It sounds like you were booked into our original Lodge at the Beach. The rooms over at the Lodge at the Beach are small and cozy, which is part of their charm. There are no televisions or phones in the rooms, which allows our guests to experience a true West Coast getaway with no distractions. We offer more spacious accommodations at our Headlands Lodge. Both Lodges have wireless access to the internet. The connection in the main lounge area generally works well, but does have a tendency to lose strength or drop in some of the lodge rooms. We apologize that you weren't able to connect to the internet easily while you were here. Thanks again for taking the time to share your insights with us and our future guests and we look forward to having you back again in the future!

Sincerely
Kailee Ball
Front Desk Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding and from what was told to us we were very disappointed when we arrived. The rooms are clean and for the most part quiet, but very small. We stayed in the lodge part and didn't see the cabins so I can't say what those are like. But with our queen size bedroom, we had no place to put our suitcases. There was no closet and had to hang our suit and dress from pegs against the one wall. The sink was in the main room as there was no space in the bathroom for it.....which was not only unsanitary but also very awkward. The grounds itself were nice as its right on the beach and somewhat close to Tofino (about a 10 min drive). They do have free breakfast each morning which includes muffins, bagels, toast, cinnamon buns, fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice and they put out fresh baked cookies at 8pm each night. But the drinks are expensive as is the dinner each night if you choose. There is only one choice of appy, salad, main and desert. There are no tvs in the rooms but there is a common room in the lodge which has a tv in it. There is also no a/c in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyraggs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Johnny,

I apologise that your rooms were not what you expected on your arrival. The Lodge at the Beach, where you and your wife were staying, were designed to have smaller room at an affordable price so that more people could enjoy coming to Middle Beach. The cabins that we have on-site, are much larger and can accommodate up to 6 people, so that is always an option for your next stay in Tofino. I will mention that none of our accommodations have air conditioning, this is because the average temperature in Tofino, in summer is about 18 degrees and the temperatures are quite cool at night. We have been having an exceptionally hot summer this year, so we have invested in fans for the rooms, which can be requested at the front desk.

Our dining experience is different from most restaurants as we only offer the gourmet buffet, with the choice of one appetiser, one main meat with 4 different salads and then the choice of 2 different desserts. Most nights, it is $30 per person, although for the crab dinner, it is a bit more expensive at $40 per person. The ethos behind the gourmet buffet is to bring the guests together to share a meal and hopefully, meet new people in the process. If this is not something that appeals to you, the front desk staff are knowledgeable of the many different restaurants in town and can recommend one for your preferred price range.

Thank you for taking the time to review Middle Beach and I hope you had a safe trip home,

Yours Sincerely,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had the misfortune to stay the night when a loud party on a neighbouring island started at 5 pm and got progressively louder till 5 am. It may as well have been next door- we got zero sleep. Staff seemed strangely unconcerned "nothing we can do" "don't think it will happen again" "he only does it once a year or so". We didn't take any chances but got out of there immediately the next morning!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Anne,

I am sorry to hear that you stayed with us the night of the party on Wickaninnish Island and felt a need to check out early. I regret that the staff member's response, "there is nothing we can do," came across as uninterested as opposed to reflecting the frustration that we feel. Unfortunately there is actually nothing we can do. I have spoken with other resorts along the beach as well as locals that are disrupted from the party. It happens once a year and we are not given notice. The island is not in Tofino jurisdiction so while we do to call the RCMP theirs and our hands are tied, and we must do the best we can. Fortunately it is only one night, I wish that you would have been able to experience the beauty and tranquility that Tofino typically offers.

Sincerely,

Britt Chalmers

Manager of Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.6 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing