We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
SpainGermany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 4, 2008

After having read the good critics in tripadvisor for the Middle Beach Lodge, we (4 adults) decided to book a triplex cabine from September 1st to 4th, 2007. What a good choice! The day we arrived it was sunny, and the place was SO BEAUTIFUL. We loved the view and our little cabin (actually a bit small for four adults with 4 suitcases and additional bags. One of us had to sleep on a sofa that could be converted into a bed, but this was fine). We very much enjoyed breakfast in the nice restaurant overlooking the beach. The rainy weather on the next couple of days made Middle Beach Lodge even cosier; we always looked forward to returning "home". I would have loved to stay longer because I hardly had time to enjoy the wonderful lounge, the chimney, the beach,... - now I dream of returning.

A BIG thank you to the team of Middle Beach Lodge!

  • Liked — The view, the lounge, the atmosphere
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KiMilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    329
    111
    45
    25
See reviews for
202
603
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed in two different units as we booked late and had to be moved after our first night. The first was a room and the second a suite. Included breakfast was fine if you're like us and just want to get going: fruit, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, pastries and cold cereal. We had drinks and dinner there one night and although the food was fine, the best part about that was the view which is the same view you get at breakfast if you're staying in the main lodge. The whole place was relaxing and peaceful with great views. The main lodge is a good place to hang and I looked forward to being there. The whole place is well maintained and the only negative thing I can say was about one of the staffers. When we were waiting to be checked in, I witnessed one of them being curt with a guest who was at the front desk seeking some kind of assistance. The staffer told the person she was too busy to help him. I think she was French. After that I thought that we were in for trouble but was wrong. Everyone else there was very nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daryl_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Spent 2 nights with my wife here last week and it was a total retreat and worth every penny. We had one of the suites and it overlooked the pacific. Felt like I was a million miles from anywhere. Very friendly and relaxed and the shared living area has tea and coffee available always and also games / books etc. Small gym, private beach and they do not serve supper on 2 nights so we ordered in take away pizzza. The meal that we had the night we were there was excellent, wild salmon......

Room was lovely and clean, just what we required at the end of a busy 3 weeks travelling.

Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Grooverglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2008

My husband and i loved our stay at this rustic/classic looking resort this month. From start to finish our stay was very relaxed and filled with great food ( loved the breakfast and the dinners).

As a young professional couple we are always looking to find a great weekend getaway that is somewhat up scale to relax and flake out without being in a stuffy atmosphere...we have found that place here! The resort is beautiful without being over done or feeling like we had to dress up.

While the staff at the lodge are really young they were friendly and provided us with great information about the area; best surf shops to rent gear and the best beach for beginners!

The view from our room was fantastic and it was hard to leave the balcony. Our only complaint would be for the breakfast to be held a little longer...we found it hard to make it on time every morning. We will reccomend this place to our friends for sure.

  • Liked — the setting, atmosphere , the location
  • Disliked — breakfast is not held long enough
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SpecialKVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We (2 couples) stayed in Cottage number 56 (headlands) including a hottub on the balcony. The experience of Tofino itself makes any hotelstay in this area amazing on it's own.
Middle beach has a great/amazing/awesome view of the ocean, incredible. The cottage itself was very good, very clean and well maintained. The railings on the balcony can use an upgrade as did the door to the bathroom. We loved the hottub, it fit's 2 people easily.

Disapointing for us was the included (continental) breakfast. Although all of the baked food are fresh right out of the oven we expected something more the continental with perhaps a more european style breakfast.
Also i could not get internet to work on my laptop from the designated areas. In the cottage there is no internet at all.

Overal our experience was one to never forget and we can recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ase78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Engalnd
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

The Middle Beach Lodge is situated on its own in a forrest overlooking the pacific ocean. The hotel is a couple of miles outside the town of Tofino where there are numerous restaurants and activities (kayaking, surfing and whale and bear watching). We stayed in the beach lodge which has a fantastic lounge area overlooking the ocean - an excellent breakfast is provided here in the mornings as well as hot chocolate and cookies in the evening. The staff were excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable although are quite small. There is a lot of wildlife close by so if you are lucky you may get to see a bear close up when walking across the car park.

  • Liked — The staff, views and the cookies
  • Disliked — The bed was a bit small
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aboxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

First off, we booked this "last minute" (about 6 weeks ahead) as a family getaway for myself, my husband, my parents and 2 nieces from out of town. We were lucky to get this, (probably through a cancellation), as it was the absolute only thing left in the entire area. Best advice I can give is that if you want to go to Long Beach in the high season (summer), especially for a long weekend, plan to book at least 1 year in advance. No joke. That's also the only way to get something decent.

No, it's not the lodge's fault we booked so late, but the reason I mention it is that the only thing they had available was what we thought was a 2 bedroom cabin with a pull out sofa bed. We figured it would be cozy, but we could manage for 2 nights. It was advertised to sleep 6, and they were aware we had 6 adults. It was one of their duplex cabins with loft and kitchenette (#46). WARNING! - These cabins should sleep 2 adults, and MAYBE 2 children (at best... maybe, depending on the age of the children). Read on.

The cabin was insanely small. The living/dining/kitchen area is one very small space. There's the sofa bed and 1 wicker chair, plus a small kitchen table with 4 wooden chairs. It's so cramped you have to squeeze around the furniture to get anywhere. There was no storage, closets, or shelves. Just hooks everywhere.

The kitchenette is a joke. It does have a fridge for drinks, a 2 burner stove right up against the sink, a tiny 2 cup coffee maker but not even a microwave or a toaster. It has no counter space and no place for food storage. I had to rearrange and pile up the dishes to put our food somewhere. We had planned to cook breakfast/lunch, but luckily continental breakfast was served in the lodge. Forget trying to cook in this place. We took most of the food back home.

It was so claustrophobic I couldn't be inside for more than a few minutes without needing to go outside. It was that bad. Outside was 2 Adirondack chairs along the walkway/balcony. For more than 2 people outside you'd have to on kitchen chairs, but there wasn't really room. We didn't stick around much and went to nearby Tofino, and to the beach. It was just somewhere to shower and sleep in order to enjoy beautiful Long Beach.

Sleep? My parents took the bedroom with queen bed. That was ok they said. My nieces took the loft (aka second bedroom) which had a very tiny, short, hard, double bed and sloped wall over your head. To get to the loft you need to do so via a very narrow, steep ladder. In fact, they have a warning on the wall to always travel up and down facing the ladder. Is it suitable for anyone not thin and in good shape? No. Is it suitable for young children who may fall down that ladder? No. Is this cabin suitable for 2 couples? No. The loft is also not at all private. With it's open railing you can see the whole thing from below. It's perhaps best suited for slightly older children who think the loft is a tree-house like adventure. We took the pull-out bed. It was ancient and re-covered, but the mattress was fairly new. Unfortunately the springs were completely done in. It sloped so bad you could not lie flat and just slid into the "hole" in the middle. At first we giggled at this ridiculous bed, but after hours of tossing and turning and not being able to sleep, we weren't laughing any more. It was THE worst bed I have ever slept on in my life! We finally decided to pack in the bed and put the mattress on the floor. That was better, but remember, sofa bed mattresses are only a couple of inches thick, so it was rather hard. Plus, it was so crowded no one else could move until we put it away. Good thing we got up early. We mentioned it to the desk staff next day and they sent someone over who put a lumpy duvet under the bottom sheet. Seriously? So night 2 we put that under the mattress, back on the floor and it was marginally better It was sort of like camping like except costs a wee bit more!!

Oh, off and on there was a smell outside. Then we realized we could hear a flushing sound by a concrete man-hole type cover next to the cabin. I guess that's were the sewage goes through. Nice. I live by the ocean. I knew it wasn't the ocean we smelled.

On the good side, the cabin had a gorgeous view over the water. In fact, all if not most of the rooms seem to have a gorgeous view. It was peaceful and quiet. It was clean. It had a huge bathtub, and a big hot water tank with enough hot water for 6 showers!
I liked how all the wooden buildings of the resort blended into the environment. The grounds were spotless. Not even a cigarette butt in site.
The lodge itself was quite cozy I thought. Yes, we noticed too that the common guest age was a bit older, and many didn't speak English, but at night a group sat in the middle of the common lounge room playing a game of some sort, a couple sat in another corner, and another group sat outside on the verandah over-looking the water. The big space was filled with comfy furniture (much better than in the cabin). We tend to do hotels or all-inclusives, so this had a very "lodgey" feeling to me and was one of the best attributes of the place.
For just a continental breakfast it was ok. The hard-boiled eggs a bit cold and the cinnamon rolls a bit hard, but the muffins were fresh baked and the coffee was great.
We didn't try the dinner since only one type of seafood of the day was all they offer.
The staff were all very young, and looked like they were there for a summer job (and maybe to surf on days off), but they were all very courteous and friendly. No complaints there. Even the 2 "kids" who tried to remedy the bed situation were trying to help, but I think they didn't have a clue what to do. It's the management that needs to wake up and address the problems. Really, the resort has so much potential.

We still had a nice weekend spending time with family, and how can anyone not like the magic of Long Beach. However, we absolutely would not ever return as a group/family or even with another couple to share a cabin there. We considered whether we'd return and get just our own room for 2. That would probably have been a whole different, better experience. However, even though the view is nice, none of the units are beachfront whatsoever, not even at the "at the beach" lodge. It was a bit of a hike through the parking lot and down a trail to either Middle beach or Mackenzie beach. We prefer to be closer to the beach, and unless Middle Beach had a great deal, we would return to the Pacific Sands instead. I stayed years ago and it was wonderful. A suite for 2 there was 3 times the size as this one advertized for 6, had a decent kitchenette and fireplace and was a very short, level stroll onto the beach. Much better overall.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank SunshineD_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing