We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but....”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

On an extended weekend trip we decided to splurge and spend one night at Middle Beach Lodge and it seems that our extra dollars may have been spent on the view alone. The suite was rather dated and there were food crumbs on the dining room table when we arrived. I asked for a suite with a fireplace and unfortunately it was one of those electric blowers. The dining room was full on the night we stayed and not open the following night so I can't comment on their dinner service, but we did receive a complimentary continental breakfast. It was adequate but picked over by 9 am and staff were slow to replenish it. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the robes were decent. The lodge is very rustic and quaint and the views and the beach walk are lovely. However, I think that along that wonderful strip of beach there may have been a better deal to be had than Middle Beach Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

June H,

Thank you for visiting Middle Beach Lodge! We are pleased to that you enjoyed your stay here at Middle Beach Lodge! For safety reasons, we are working on replacing all of our wood burning fireplaces with electric fireplaces in the future. We have also been completing upgrades and renovations on all of our suites for the upcoming season! Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We will continue to work at making Middle Beach a better place for an ideal West Coast Getaway and hope to see you back soon!

As for the crumbs on the dining room table in your cabin and the breakfast service, this is simply not our standard and for that I do apologize. Please know that I have brought this to the attention of our Housekeeping and Kitchen management and can assure you that we will be following up internally with all of our team members to ensure they are providing the level of service we expect them to provide to each and every guest of the Lodge.

Our hope is that if you were to stay with Middle Beach Lodge in the future, we would ensure that your previous stay does not truly represent our brand, and we would make your average experience into something that would exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Britt Chalmers
Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Wonderful, relaxing…excellent,helpful staff. Went with a couple of friends. Great drive up during the week (the time to stay - Sunday to Wednesday.) The breakfasts were very good (no hot food though) and dinners were not being served during the time frame we were there. They would resume in March.
Disappointments: #1. It was very cold when we were up there. The heaters were pretty poor (we realize the need to conserve energy. We would bring a space heater along.) But the duvets were great and we were toasty in bed. #2. The lighting is really lousy. Way too dim!!! Not good in the kitchen area or the bathroom. This could be winter-related. No good reading lights at night in the living room either. I would bring lightbulbs and my own lamp(s) the next time.
#3 Hot tub: we did not use. You had to fill it yourself and it looked more like a deep bathtub. We could not figure out how it would stay warm. How would one use it repeatedly?? So, no-go.
But would I come again?? In a heart beat!!!! What a way to celebrate my 65th!!!!

Room Tip: Cabin #55 at the end of the row is the one to go for. It sleeps 7 in a pinch. Kingsize downstairs, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Carla O,

Happy Anniversary and thank you for coming to celebrate with us! Thank you for your positive feedback and for sharing your insights on the best time to avoid the crowds. Please know that we have recently replaced all of our bathroom and kitchen lights so we hope that your next stay with us is positively luminous! We apologize that your stay wasn’t as cozy and warm as it could be. We turn on the heating to a comfortable level in anticipation of a guest’s arrival; unfortunately the weather has been colder than expected and this resulted in a chillier than normal arrival for you. I am glad that our bedding was able to keep you toasty! In addition, there is always a nice warm fire blazing in our lounge area for our guests to enjoy. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!

Please note that the cabin that the “hot tub” on the deck of your cabin is actually a Jacuzzi bath tub with rejuvenating jets. These tubs are meant to be filled with hot water and drained after each use as there is no internal heating mechanism. These are an absolute treat to soak in after a long day of beach combing with the one you love!

Thank you again for choosing Middle Beach as the destination for your special milestone and we look forward to having you back again in the future!

Sincerely,

Britt Chalmers
Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

MBL is our favourite place to fet away to in Tofino. The staff is great, the breakfasts are great, the dinners are great, the rooms in the lodge are great and the beaches are great. We went for 4 nights and explored much if Tofino and Uclulet. The Great Room is really comfy and the atmosphere is good.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view, if available. If not, do not worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I am only giving this hotel a poor rating because it isn`t very family friendly. If you are a couple with no children then it is a very nice place to stay. Dogs are welcome too which is great. It has a beautiful setting. The main lodge is beautiful and the breakfast is very good. The cabins are cosy and have great views.
We stayed in one of the cabins as children are not allowed in main lodge. We were put in a cabin right next to where they were doing exterior construction in one of the main buildings. We were eventually moved a cabin over after asking a couple of times. We were charged an extra $20 per day for our child even if though they are under 12. If you have more than one child it would add a lot of expense. Even with one child we had to pay an extra $40 for the weekend which was a bit much. That is on top of staying in the cabins which aren`t cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

View cabins,check !
Comfortable kings size beds, check !
Continental breakfast, check !
French press in room w/coffee, check!
Fresh baked cookies nitely, check!
Reason rates and great service, check!
Going again, YES!!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in their cabins and rooms...no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Over the past years our group (5 couples) has made a number of trips from Vancouver over to stay at Middle Beach Lodge...an almost perfect place to get-a-way to, Although the room are small, the lounge in either lodge provide the very thing one needs...comfort, coffee, cookies, a great fireplace...games and videos (for the TV room) are available...This time of year Feb. 2014) we were extremely lucky to have beautiful weather, but, no matter, it's always enjoyable no matter the weather. You're right above the beach, and very close into Tofino (5 minute drive) for those needing shopping, or baked goods, restaurants, galleries and outdoor activities. The staff is always a delight, our room was cleaned and made up each day. WiFi was good and there's no additional charge.
Some more and better lighting would be appreciated in the parking areas and the onsite trails.

Room Tip: no, won't give away our best choices....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked at the Middle Beach Lodge based on local recommendation and it was well worth it! Surrounded by the ocean next to two beaches on top of rocky headland -wow!

The grounds are big so make sure you know which building you need to register in. There are two main buildings, the newer Lodge at the Headlands (child-friendly) and the older building Lodge at the Beach (for guests 18+), along with a few smaller buildings/cabins. We arrived at the Headlands, but no one was there. We pressed the call button, but no on answered and eventually called on our cell to find that our registration was in a different building. Not a big deal -we explored this lodge a bit before heading down to the Lodge at the Beach less than a minute drive down.

Our room at the Lodge at the Beach was small and very basic with queen bed with a bathroom/tub, and wash basin outside the bathroom in the room. The room overlooked the ocean, exactly the view we wanted. Our room had no balcony, but it did have big windows that opened. No closet space, just wall pegs along the wall to hang your clothes. No tv in room, but there was a communal tv room anyone could access with movies (no one used it). Wifi was also available, for those in need. The view from the room provided all the entertainment- the sunrise on the beach and the action-packed sounds of the ocean. The room was just fine for my husband and I -we were here to spend most of our time outdoors!

Complimentary breakfast was self-serve between 8-10am downstairs in the lodge. Simple and easy: croissants, cinnamon rolls, various breads/toast, jam, peanut butter, cream cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereals/granola, yoghurt, juices, fresh fruits with coffee and tea served all day.

The lodge downstairs was beautiful-lots of comfy couches and places to lounge around, fireplace, tables for games -all overlooking the ocean. The staff were really friendly and causal. Raincoats and rubber boots were available for guest use and flashlight in the room for evening strolls. You can access two beaches from this lodge, Middle Beach and MacKenzie Beach, both walking distance. Town of Tofino is not to far away.

This was our 6th time in Tofino, 1st time at the Middle Beach Lodge and we would come back here again! Thanks to all the staff for making it great!

Room Tip: Room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $116 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing