We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is our second time here and we really enjoyed it both times. The included breakfast, the fresh baked cookies at 8 pm and always available coffee and tea are a bonus! The location is great, close to shops and restaurants in Tofino and the other resorts. The trails and beach by the hotel are very close and great to walk along. Staff have always been really nice. Both times we've had ocean facing ground floor rooms, They are pretty small and rustic and will probably need some major work soon as the floor outside our bathroom was sagging and jamming the door to the toilet. Probably dry rot to the supporting timbers below due to the very moist environment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Klaus1950,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Middle Beach Lodge, in beautiful Tofino, BC! We are thrilled you had a great stay, and that you especially enjoyed our tasty fresh baked cookies.

We would like to inform you that as of this winter, our Lodge at the Beach, will be undergoing extensive renovations, including the removal and reinstallation of the flooring and decks of all the units. You can rest assured that there will be no more jamming doors and that the units will look brand new.

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this great review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just spent a wonderfully relaxing few days at Middle Beach Lodge (The Lodge at the Headlands) near Tofino b.c. This was our fourth of fifth visit in recent years and we keep returning for many reasons - the lodge is exceptionally comfortable, warm and welcoming. The views and surroundings of course are second to none. The staff are always on hand, very helpful and friendly but never intrusively so. The rooms at the lodge are quite simple but very clean and comfortable. Everything in fact, including the lovely breakfast and all day refreshments, is spot on at Middle Beach. We were very slightly disappointed that the fresh from the oven cookies which were often served at 8:00 p.m. have been dropped in favour of the full course dinner which is now served five nights a week. Although most people would want to have dinner at the lodge once during their stay, I couldn't see having it every night - it would become expensive and excessive in terms of food. We wondered if an optional lighter menu could be offered at least on a few nights - perhaps a choice of appetizers, salads and dessert - less expensive and less food (some older folks prefer a lighter meal before bedtime). Anyway, just a suggestion. Everything else is perfect and we hope it stays that way for many years to come.

Room Tip: Since we're a couple, we prefer the rooms in the lodge itself. But if you prefer to cook for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wow what a setting awsome!!! We had a lovely stay at Middle Beach in September 2013 . Very relaxed atmoshere lovely room staff were very friendly Good breakfast nice to have afternoon coffee pay for the ocean view it is well worth it.Do not miss this wonderful experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to this hotel on October 14,15,2013. We had a TINY room facing the beach. We asked for a fire in the big fireplace, was told only on rainy days, told her there is one in the bigger lodge, she said she would do one that evening. When we got there it was 1 log only and she closed the curtains at 7pm, ( it was a full moon, could have looked at the beach) we sat down with our glass of wine to play cards, the receptionist with chin level dark hair ( no name tags, on Oct 15th) came to tell us we would have to pay $25.00 for corking fee if we stayed in the lobby, so we went back to our TINY room with our wine to finish our game on the bed ( only 1 chair),that ruined our evening. The receptionist on our checkout ( long dark hair Oct 16th) was super nice, nothing like the other one.
Room are too small, staff need training, corking fee is ridiculous !! Go to Cox Bay instead !!

Room Tip: Go to Cox Bay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank leblancchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Leblancchaz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Middle Beach Lodge, in beautiful Tofino, BC! We do sincerely apologize that one individual in particular "ruined" your evening, and we do want you to know that this scenario is extremely unacceptable.

We do take pride in having a very customer service oriented front desk staff who's sole job is to make sure our guests have the most comfortable and memorable experiences possible. We do apologize that you did not get to experience this, and I will personally be speaking to the individual in particular to make sure that this type of situation never happens again. Middle Beach Lodge is known for having a very welcoming, warm, comfortable atmosphere and I do want you to know that this was a very concerning rare instance.

Please feel free to contact myself or our general manager, Josh Hannigan, if you would like to further discuss any comments of concerns regarding your recent stay.

Our hope is that if you were to return to Middle Beach Lodge, we would show you that your previous experience does not truly represent our brand, and we would provide you with a most memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first time at MBL although we have visited Tofino many times in the past. However this time with my daughter.
The position of MBL on a rocky point, amongst the trees overlooking Mackenzie beach to the left
& over the ocean directly in front was just fabulous. We had a two bed cabin which was very spacious, well appointed, clean, & comfortable. We also had a hot tub on the deck !!
If I have to be critical I would say that the cabin needed a little TLC just to make that leap to excellent. The available breakfast in the coffee bar area was excellent.
The only thing I could find fault with was the situation regarding dinner which is only available on certain nights. On looking at the dinner menu it did not seem to encourage me to try it & it seemed overpriced compared with what is available in other Tofino restaurants. However with that aside the rest was just great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwiftSenior982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My brother and I stayed four nights at this lodge. It was without a doubt the happiest, most helpful, competent group of employees that I have ever had the pleasure to be served by. The general manager "Josh" is akin to the world book of knowledge and will help you with anything required. Just speaking with him was a real rewarding experience.The ladies at the front desk such as Krystal and Kate go out of their way to make your stay so very warm and enjoyable.I highly recommend this Lodge for a relaxing,interesting and worthwhile stay. I am a world traveler, and this is the first time that I have ever bothered to write a review of any hotels previously visited. I am from Montreal Quebec and the people in our hotel industry could learn a great deal from ":Josh" and company on how to inspire guests..

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came to Middle Beach Lodge for a girls weekend away. The lodge is very nice, clean, warm. The cabins we rented where beautiful! Very clean, great views, only a minute walk from Mackenzie Beach!!
The breakfast & Coffee bar in the morning was such a nice feature!
The staff at Middle Beach Lodge are so nice and accommodating. Check out this lodge if you want an amazing stay in Tofino.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellehabazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $117 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing