We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different !”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Different !”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Certainly different. Wonderful location, we had a room in the main Lodge, ground floor with a balcony and sea view. However, room was extremely small and no wardrobe! Wooden hooks all along one wall for hanging clothes - not ideal. No place for putting suitcases, so hubby was constantly tripping over them. Bathroom was basic to say the least and wash basin was in the bedroom. Door into bathroom was so stiff it was virtually impossible to open. Having mentioned it a couple of times to Reception, surprised to see nothing done about it. Breakfast was a joke - first morning lovely croissants were available, but never seen again. Bread basket seemed constantly empty, as was butter dish (which actually wasn't butter). Poor lad trying to man the kitchen seemed out of his depth. Only saving feature was the fact that coffee was available on a self service basis all day - just as well as there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The Lounge was a very pleasant room - reminiscent of a New England lodge with large comfortable sofas - ideal for reading and relaxing - (again, just as well as no chairs provided in the bedroom).
An interesting 4 days - not sure if I would repeat it, probably not.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in main Lodge slightly better than first floor as there was a balcony. Can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    329
    111
    45
    25
See reviews for
202
603
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our experience at Middle Beach Lodge was a bit of everything previous reviewers have indicated. It is a fantastic location with with rocky shores, beaches for walking and if the weather cooperates, great sunsets.
We were in the main lodge, upper floor (room 25). We chose this end unit to get a corner view of the beach which it delivered. The room was smaller than expected and there was not much room to sit or place luggage but the bed was very comfortable and the the same goes for the beddings. There was also a small balcony big enough for two to stand but not sit. Having the end unit also meant we had to listen to other guests as they congregated on the porch directly below. This resulted in having to keep the window closed until other guests went to bed. But we came to Tofino for the park and to see the town, not to sit in a room so this was not really a big deal at all.
Great breakfast selection, especially the selection of cereals, muffins and the cinnamon buns. There was only one coffee urn which constantly ran out (you would think they would have a least two). The breakfast items were refreshed as soon as the cooks could crank them out. The evening cookies do disappear fast but I didn't see anyone hoarding them - I think they were just popular.
The lodge was not gloomy - dim maybe but not gloomy. The constant dampness did seem to be taking its toll. There was a patch of something that could have been mould in our bathroom but I'm not a microbiologist so maybe not. The shower arrangement was rather bizarre. Due to the configuration of the roof, half the shower was no more than three feet tall and the curtain only extended halfway along the rod. There is also a window in the shower with no privacy frosting so anyone so inclined could watch along I suppose.
The oddest thing about our stay is that we were only provided with one facecloth for two people for two days. The first day may have just been an oversight but room was refreshed on the second day but again only with one facecloth. When this was mentioned to the desk clerk, she just shrugged. Overall the staff were cordial and professional and probably glad the summer season was winding down.
This property is worth the price if you treasure ocean views but don't mind a few odd things about the place - gives it character really; not something you'll find at a chain hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an end unit to get great views but you'll sacrifice headroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It looks every bit as good as the pictures. The lodge has a quality feel and the view is wonderful. Many of the rooms are in cottages, well appointed , and have a "mountain cabin" feel. You are right over a beach. The staff were great, helpful and professional. The buffet breakfast and afternoon cookies were excellent. We spent three days in the area and enjoyed it. We travel a lot and this is one of the best places we have seen, worth paying a bit more for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docfrank2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooms were very basic and dingy, the decor really needs updating in the rooms, it looks old and tired. The bathroom floor was tiled and looked dirty and stained and the empty shower gel container from the previous occupant was still there. Cobwebs in the room, windows dirty, carpet dirty.

Corridors long and gloomy like in a horror movie.

The wooden tables in the dining area were sticky because they needed a good clean. The cutlery was also not clean - suspect the dishwasher was not doing a very good job. Be there early for the cookies put out at 8pm as they get swiped very quickly by some greedy guests who take more than their fair share.

Lock on room 17 was knackered and the key kept getting stuck in the lock - it was very hard to open. The timer was also jammed on the fan in the bathroom - it did not count down so if it was set at 40 minutes it just kept going on and on and on. Tried telling receptionist, she tried lock and said it was ok - but she had to heave and pull to get the key out! Reported it again to another receptionist when we checked out but she wasn't interested, just said 'oh dear'.. No note was made of the problem so I suspect the next person will have the same problem.

Whole place needs a good overhaul, decoration and clean.

Views were lovely from the 1st floor bedrooms. The lounge was great to relax in in the afternoon with a roaring log fire, soft music playing, the sound of the breakers on the sand and wonderful views over the ocean.

Best Western up the road is much better.

Room Tip: Dont go there, if you have to get a first floor looking over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildlife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Wildlife_Traveller,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia. We apologize that we did not meet up to your expectations, and as you can see by all of our other guests reviews, your experience was not the norm and this is not the image we wish to portray.

Please note that you stayed in the oldest building on our property, The Lodge at the Beach (23+ years), and we currently have several projects on the go to renovate the rooms and common areas in this lodge. As such, you will notice we have very competitive pricing on all the units in this building.

As for the cleanliness that you experienced, this is very alarming and concerning for us and I will personally be passing this review onto our housekeeping manager. I do stress that this is not acceptable and that Middle Beach Lodge has a very high standard of cleanliness that we like to uphold.

The fan in the washroom was not malfunctioning, and rather is controlled by the humidifier in your bedroom. Once the humidifier is turned off, the bathroom fan will turn off. Front desk staff would have be able to inform you of this if notified.

Please note that Middle Beach Lodge is a "Wilderness Resort" nestled in an unbeatable location with stunning surroundings. It is never our intention to appear "Gloomy", but due to the weather and our surroundings the atmosphere is that of a "rustic cabin on the coast" vibe.

We do appreciate that you enjoyed the views as well as the main lounge, and we are glad you got to relax.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Josh Hannigan with any further comments or concerns.

Our hope is that if you were to return to the West Coast we would have the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not truly represent our brand.

Kind Regards,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at this place for 2 nights. Due to the large hotel's area and absence of clear directions, it was a bit hard to find the right building. Our room was upgraded for a better room on a second floor (26). However, the room was dirty upon our arrival. The lady from the front desk came to see that and took some empty bottles (with cigarettes butts!) from one of the balconies (there are two). The second balcony garbage stayed unchanged during our stay there. The room is very old and needs to be refreshed at least, but the great view of the ocean from the window compensates. Around 10 pm the fire alarm sensor, which is very sensitive, showed up and started to jingle; the bath's vapour was able to turn it on. The lady from the front desk came again, but couldn't help. The only one that could help us was a night guy which starts at 11 pm!!!
The breakfast is served in a nice living room from 8:00, which is a bit late (this is a hotel, not B&B).
Upon check out, we got a payment for hotel's bar service which we didn't know even exists. Must be noted though, this bill was canceled.
In general, this place has a big potential after small touch of renovation and better staff training.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan_rishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in a threeplex cabin for three nights in early September. We had reserved a sixplex room, but were upgraded upon checkin for no charge. We were on the first level and had an amazing view of the beach and outlying islands from our porch. There were two adirondack chairs and a table on the porch, which we used several times each day. The cabin itself was two small rooms and a bathroom. Everything was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the windows all opened for great sea breezes. There is nothing fancy about the furnishings. The bathroom fixtures are basic, and the kitchenette was not really suitable for cooking. We did use the small refrigerator to store our picnic items. The breakfast at the lodge each morning was good. There were fresh pastries, fruit, coffee, cereals, juices and yogurts each day. Short walk to a nice sandy beach and great views from the lodge porch. We really enjoyed our stay, but I can see how some might be disappointed by the room appointments for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boscoe1695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely collection of cabins and two central lodges on the tip of the coast outside Tofino.

Nestled between Mackenzie Beach and Middle Beach this is ideally situated for stunning vistas and private walks alone scheduled beaches.

Our room was comfortable although looking a bit dated when compared to the web site.

The staff weren't the friendliest when we arrived but this was due to one person on reception rather than the team who are generally very nice.

We had dinner here the first night but there was no indication you could ask for something other than the set menu. Thankfully the chef had cooked an alternative as I didn't like the shellfish on offer. That said the meal I did have was lovely.

Breakfast is plentiful and continental which means you can have as much or as little as you want

There is only one sitting for dinner.

You get unlimited tea, coffee and fruit through the day and the bar had a good selection of BC wines and local(ish) beers although a little pricey.

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay here and would love to return although we will be better prepared when we do.

Middle Beach is a great resort but a little tired in the rooms and the staff can take things for granted. If you visit spend your time in the main lodge by the log fire or on the veranda and watch the world go by. Just don't be afraid to ask if you're not sure about something.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trunkguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing