We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location -- but be careful selecting your room”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
447 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Stunning Location -- but be careful selecting your room”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have visited Middle Beach four times in the past 20 years and have enjoyed watching it mature into one of the best places to stay on the West Coast. The area is spectacular -- the ocean scenery is remarkable and it really is just as nice in a storm as it is on a clear and crisp day. The lodge is much larger than when we first went. The rooms vary a lot in size and facilities, so check carefully so you are not disappointed. The breakfast is delicious, the staff helpful and the venue truly wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitehorseVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    320
    107
    45
    25
See reviews for
193
593
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Initially disappointed with room in hotel as it was small and dark. Upgraded to cabin. Much better and worth the difference. Rustic appeal and if you want peaceful relaxation, you have found it. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Didn't try other meals as we ate out. Superb views and location. Hope to stay again

Room Tip: For families definitely a cabin. We were a couple but still preferred cabin. Rustic v refurb?? Visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mossdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I came across this place online while I was searching for a place to stay for the bc long weekend in Tofino. Lucky enough we got the very last cabin in the lodge and we were so thrilled that we did. Not to mention that everywhere else were fully booked.
Our party included 4 adults and 2 dogs. We stayed in triplex #51 at headlands. Though the cabin was not very big but it accommodated us comfortably. The high ceiling makes the cabin very airy and spacious. It has a very well equipped kichenette and has everything you need to make a meal, including pots and pans, and utensils. Bedroom has one queen bed. Bathroom has both shower and tub. Bathroom amenities are Bee Kind products, which is a great plus. The cabin is ocean facing and the view is just stunning. Although the lodge was fully booked, it was very quiet and peaceful. Free continental breakfast provided and all their home made baked goods are excellent. Very short walk to both Mckenzie beach and Middle beach. During our stay we also went to long Beach and it was very crowded. So we headed back to the middle beach and it was nice and quiet. Almost feel like these are the lodge's prviate beaches.
The main lodge is beautifully decorated and inviting. I regretted not spending more time there. It also has a very stunning view. Staffs are in general very helpful, definitely has room for improvement with customer service though. Since the place is very inviting and welcoming, it should also be reflected in customer service as well.
Close to a plaza where tacofino, west side grill and tofino chocolate are located.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidneyleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
312 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Middle Beach Lodge after a few years of missing visiting this special place. We have previously visited in February for the stormy season. This time we arrived on the busy August long weekend. We were graciously greeted and registered. Past visits we booked a cabin this time a corner unit on the top floor. The ocean views are spectacular. Lots of light in the room with corner windows looking out to the majestic Pacific in front and McKenzie beach to the south. We took part in the feature Saturday night dinner featuring a sockeye salmon feast that was superb
Staff were terrific. Wonderful experience

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldwingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Difficult one this. And I am reluctant to write this as it is an amazing place and was willing all the time for something better. I would easily compare it to the Grand Canyon North Rim Lodge. The location is something extra special and the lay out and presentation of the lodges is beautiful.
However, we had a customer service issue. Having booked an ocean view balcony we were told on arrival that this was not available and the only room available was 'forest view'. We initially accepted having already fallen for the place to find the room dark, damp and next to the laundry and tumble driers with no view of the forest and certainly not what we paid for. We checked the rack rates and saw that we had paid full price via hotels.com so it was clear we were being downgraded. The desk manager had no authorisation maintaining the line they were full, and it took some negotiation to talk to a manager. I would never have expected the hard work we had to go through next for them to realise we were being downgraded with no offered compensation, so this made us a bit belligerent and hold out for an upgrade which eventually happened. It was embarrasing as he maintained the conversation in front of other guests relaxing in the lounge, blamed hotels.com, us for buying at discount ( we hadn't) , expected us to pay for an upgrade, didn't see the logic that they should be paying or compensating us then for the downgrade. We were perfectly happy to have the room we paid for when it became available on our second night. Eventually they put us in a very expensive cabin without charging the upgrade costs for both nights. I wondered whether they had been reluctant to 'upgrade' as the electricity didn't fully function in the cabin, but it also felt like an upsell during peak times- we couldn't have found anything else locally ( no vacancy signs everywhere) but we were not being offered what we had paid for. But- at this point the shine had been rubbed off so I thought , oh ok I'll give 4 stars on trip advisor, but then did a bit of digging on other sites and others have experienced the same thing recently too. Not learning from experience? It was very disappointing to read that so dropping to three- even though the place itself does not deserve it. Could write at length about what I love about it but other reviews do do it justice, amazing location.

Room Tip: I suspect that some of the rooms really suck. Beware upstairs forest view comparatively as what we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear C C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia. Please be aware that your comments and concerns will be addressed at our next management meeting.

We do apologize about the confusion between the room you booked and the room you were put into, and we do want you to note that this was an extremely rare instance. We are continually working with third party websites such as Expedia, Hotels.com, and Booking.com to better our communication and timelines with such companies, and to make sure our rooms are accurately represented on their websites.

However, it is our strong recommendation that anyone looking to stay at Middle Beach Lodge books directly with us, as this ensures a 0% chance of error that can, but although rare, happen when using a third party website not affiliated with our property.

Furthermore, third party websites such as Hotels.com do charge commission for their services that they provide you, the guest, and therefore you may think you are being booked in at our regular rates but in reality you are actually booking in at our end at a much lower than normal rate. The rest of the rate is made up of the commission that you pay for using the services of these websites.

I am glad to here that we were able to upgrade you into one of cabin units at no additional costs to make up for the mix up. This is the standard procedure that we do for rare cases like this one.

The other rarity that made this situation difficult for everyone involved was that it happened during Peak Season, which for Middle Beach Lodge, means that we are at 100% capacity almost every night from June 15th - September 15th. You are right in stating that everywhere is town was booked as is the nature of Tofino in the summer.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Josh Hannigan with any further comments or concerns.

Again, we would like to apologize for the mix up but we are glad you found our location and our lodge wonderful and are hope is that if you do come back to Middle Beach Lodge we can make your experience a truly memorable one.

Sincerely,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

and staying at Middle Beach Lodge made it even more memorable. We stayed at the beginning of June this year - our second time staying here as our daughter was married on the beach here two years ago - and it was still as wonderful as the first time. Love the fact that we could get fresh coffee and tea all day and the warm cookies at night are an extra special touch and nowhere better to eat them than watching the sunset over the ocean. Staff are wonderful and always ready to assist - no matter what your issue might be. Great value and beautiful views from almost everywhere. Thank you to everyone at Middle Beach for making both our trips there so special.

Room Tip: check out the map of the site provided to decide which beach you would like to face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BENITA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the beach-front cabin with a stunning view that can be seen from anywhere in the cabin. The cabin itself was nice and well-equipped. Even though kids have to be over 12 to stay in it, it is a bit small for 4 people: when the sofa-bed is in use it's impossible to get around it. Privacy is a bit of an issue where the bathroom door doesn't lock and there are sliding shutters between the bathroom and the bedroom. Check-in was slow and house-keeping comes late in the afternoon. Breakfast at the lodge is a nice touch and staff are friendly and helpful. The only other food service is a set dinner menu each night.

Room Tip: Book early, as options for families are very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakota1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing