We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
312 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Middle Beach Lodge after a few years of missing visiting this special place. We have previously visited in February for the stormy season. This time we arrived on the busy August long weekend. We were graciously greeted and registered. Past visits we booked a cabin this time a corner unit on the top floor. The ocean views are spectacular. Lots of light in the room with corner windows looking out to the majestic Pacific in front and McKenzie beach to the south. We took part in the feature Saturday night dinner featuring a sockeye salmon feast that was superb
Staff were terrific. Wonderful experience

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldwingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    320
    107
    45
    25
See reviews for
193
593
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Difficult one this. And I am reluctant to write this as it is an amazing place and was willing all the time for something better. I would easily compare it to the Grand Canyon North Rim Lodge. The location is something extra special and the lay out and presentation of the lodges is beautiful.
However, we had a customer service issue. Having booked an ocean view balcony we were told on arrival that this was not available and the only room available was 'forest view'. We initially accepted having already fallen for the place to find the room dark, damp and next to the laundry and tumble driers with no view of the forest and certainly not what we paid for. We checked the rack rates and saw that we had paid full price via hotels.com so it was clear we were being downgraded. The desk manager had no authorisation maintaining the line they were full, and it took some negotiation to talk to a manager. I would never have expected the hard work we had to go through next for them to realise we were being downgraded with no offered compensation, so this made us a bit belligerent and hold out for an upgrade which eventually happened. It was embarrasing as he maintained the conversation in front of other guests relaxing in the lounge, blamed hotels.com, us for buying at discount ( we hadn't) , expected us to pay for an upgrade, didn't see the logic that they should be paying or compensating us then for the downgrade. We were perfectly happy to have the room we paid for when it became available on our second night. Eventually they put us in a very expensive cabin without charging the upgrade costs for both nights. I wondered whether they had been reluctant to 'upgrade' as the electricity didn't fully function in the cabin, but it also felt like an upsell during peak times- we couldn't have found anything else locally ( no vacancy signs everywhere) but we were not being offered what we had paid for. But- at this point the shine had been rubbed off so I thought , oh ok I'll give 4 stars on trip advisor, but then did a bit of digging on other sites and others have experienced the same thing recently too. Not learning from experience? It was very disappointing to read that so dropping to three- even though the place itself does not deserve it. Could write at length about what I love about it but other reviews do do it justice, amazing location.

Room Tip: I suspect that some of the rooms really suck. Beware upstairs forest view comparatively as what we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear C C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia. Please be aware that your comments and concerns will be addressed at our next management meeting.

We do apologize about the confusion between the room you booked and the room you were put into, and we do want you to note that this was an extremely rare instance. We are continually working with third party websites such as Expedia, Hotels.com, and Booking.com to better our communication and timelines with such companies, and to make sure our rooms are accurately represented on their websites.

However, it is our strong recommendation that anyone looking to stay at Middle Beach Lodge books directly with us, as this ensures a 0% chance of error that can, but although rare, happen when using a third party website not affiliated with our property.

Furthermore, third party websites such as Hotels.com do charge commission for their services that they provide you, the guest, and therefore you may think you are being booked in at our regular rates but in reality you are actually booking in at our end at a much lower than normal rate. The rest of the rate is made up of the commission that you pay for using the services of these websites.

I am glad to here that we were able to upgrade you into one of cabin units at no additional costs to make up for the mix up. This is the standard procedure that we do for rare cases like this one.

The other rarity that made this situation difficult for everyone involved was that it happened during Peak Season, which for Middle Beach Lodge, means that we are at 100% capacity almost every night from June 15th - September 15th. You are right in stating that everywhere is town was booked as is the nature of Tofino in the summer.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Josh Hannigan with any further comments or concerns.

Again, we would like to apologize for the mix up but we are glad you found our location and our lodge wonderful and are hope is that if you do come back to Middle Beach Lodge we can make your experience a truly memorable one.

Sincerely,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

and staying at Middle Beach Lodge made it even more memorable. We stayed at the beginning of June this year - our second time staying here as our daughter was married on the beach here two years ago - and it was still as wonderful as the first time. Love the fact that we could get fresh coffee and tea all day and the warm cookies at night are an extra special touch and nowhere better to eat them than watching the sunset over the ocean. Staff are wonderful and always ready to assist - no matter what your issue might be. Great value and beautiful views from almost everywhere. Thank you to everyone at Middle Beach for making both our trips there so special.

Room Tip: check out the map of the site provided to decide which beach you would like to face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BENITA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the beach-front cabin with a stunning view that can be seen from anywhere in the cabin. The cabin itself was nice and well-equipped. Even though kids have to be over 12 to stay in it, it is a bit small for 4 people: when the sofa-bed is in use it's impossible to get around it. Privacy is a bit of an issue where the bathroom door doesn't lock and there are sliding shutters between the bathroom and the bedroom. Check-in was slow and house-keeping comes late in the afternoon. Breakfast at the lodge is a nice touch and staff are friendly and helpful. The only other food service is a set dinner menu each night.

Room Tip: Book early, as options for families are very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakota1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great location in Vancouver Island, nice ocean/forest view. Gorgeous breakfast and everything as you would like to be.
Jams and bread home made, so good you would like to bring them home (actually we did)!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a suite in Middle Beach Headland for 3 nights. Great room very well equipped and stunning views of Pacific coast from our balcony - on upper floor of two. Main lodge does evening meals most nights, and breakfast from windowed dining area and lounge. Food is locally sourced, well cooked and good value. Beautiful grounds and whole resort feels very uncrowded. Lodge has games, DVDs, globes, extensive library, sun deck, free tea and coffee all day.

Sandy Bay and Mackenzie Beach not busy, great beach to walk across and rock pools teeming with sea life - star fish, sea anenoemes, crabs, mussels etc. Middle Beach - stunning expanse of sand backed by temperate rain forest and absolutely empty.

Will return for a vacation just to here - see elsewhere for whale watching and bear watching trips.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor apartment on the Headland which was great. Ones facing empty Middle Beach maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Although we only stayed one night I wished we had booked our entire 4 day stay here. it was beautiful, comfortable, fabulous food, great water views and terrific trails to the beach and shore. We stayed at the "headlands" locale. The main lodge is spectacular with lots of comfortable couches, huge fireplace and a lodge decor to die for. Staff were great in safekeeping some personal belongings I inadvertently left behind at breakfast in the lodge and didn't realize it til hours later ... obviously distracted by so much to look at and enjoy. A short drive into the shops and restaurants in Tofino, but really the best is right here ! I highly recommend it .

Room Tip: Book early during peak season .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing