We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfordable lLodging at Long Beach, BC”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfordable lLodging at Long Beach, BC”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had room #41 in the Headlands Lodge. Cheaper (smaller) than the rooms on either side, but with a great oceanside deck for viewing. This room is adjacent (30 ft.) from the main lodge. The room was quiet, clean and light. A nice touch was the unexpected bottle of wine for returning guests.
The buffet breakfast had lots of variety for a cold b/fast. Cereals, fruit, yogurt, rolls, buns, boiled eggs and great coffee. Nice open dining room.
The Lodge presents a dinner meal 3 times a week. We reserved for the halibut dinner and were very disappointed with the meal. Very bland and not as good as we expected at $37.00 each plus tax.
Other than that, we tended to agree with one of our fellow guests who said," This is as close to heaven as I'll ever get". We've been fortunate to have been going to Long Beach occasionally
over the last 30 years. We would go back to Middle Beach Lodge again in an instant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    329
    111
    45
    25
See reviews for
202
603
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a car cruise over to the Middle Beach Lodge mid week, Sarah from the Group Coordination section did a great job for us.....great rooms...great views...great staff....
Continental breakfast was great with a lot of items either local or made in house...blessed with 2 sunny calm days....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanaimo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

It's the second time i chose middle beach lodge resort. Their cabins are my favorite, not taht big but Cozy! They have delicious cookies and fresh fruits serving 24 hours. Beach is 2minutes away from cabins. My dog like the beach so much! They also designed beautiful trails for walking and wonderful BBQ spots. If u are heading to tofino, definitely choose them!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had an ocean view room. Quiet, serene and calming. We will definitely return to this resort. We found it to be a well-managed resort. Josh, the Manager, went out of his way to ensure our stay was just perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The perfect setting for this seaside resort. Clean and comfortable lodge style with great views and a great location. The continental breakfast with homemade baked goods, etc were a great start to each morning. We will return!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A real little find. We were welcomed warmly by Yasmina who was delightful and kind, she lit roaring fires and baked fresh cookies for all the guests. The staff here can't do enough for you, they booked our whale watching tour for us, they lend out bright yellow Sou'Westers and Wellington boots, tell you where things are, and how to find them, with willingness and smiles.
The Lodge itself is really charming a large open space with a communal flavour, and outstanding views over its own private beach, there are chess boards, books, blankets, tea and coffee always available.
The bit we stayed in happened to be a 'child free' area, and it was very soothing I must admit, but they have a 40 acre plot including a family friendly lodge, there is a dining room too, but you have to check the season to find out if they're serving evening meals.
The rooms are small but cleverly designed in an 'Eco lodge' style, with soft comforting bedding and views over the ocean. Ours had a private balcony but it only cost 100 Canadian dollars. The bathrooms are quite basic admittedly and it doesn't offer 5 star luxury, but when you walk in for breakfast in the morning freshly baked cinnamon buns waft to greet you and lots of kind, genuine people offer fantastic service in one of the most rugged and beautiful places. If we were ever here in Vancouver Island again we wouldn't hesitate to book in again.
It isn't at all corporate but offers lots of personality and individuality instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wordweave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed in a lodge room with ocean views. The room was beautiful the staff were wonderful.
We had a package for bear and whale watching which was sensational.
The five course dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the cookies at evening were yummy.
The continental breakfast with eggs exceeded my expectations and was tasty and filling.

I would definitely come back to This gorgeous resort its the best place I've stayed in tofino I just wish they had hottubs for the people who are staying in the lodge rooms.

Only negative note I have to add is the beach is not accessible here to people who walk with canes or wheelchairs. I actually wouldn't stay here if I was handicapped due to stairs etc but other than that fantastic place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiatravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing