We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West Coast Beauty”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
qualicum beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“West Coast Beauty”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was our first time at MBL and we were stunned at the natural beauty and breathtaking views! The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere warm and inviting. The homemade cookies served every evening were a hit with our daughter. We stayed at one of the triplex cabins and were very happy with it. We also enjoyed tremendously the continental breakfast served in the lodge. Best cinnamon buns ever. We will definitely be going back! It's a winner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilatesgal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    319
    105
    45
    24
See reviews for
193
584
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile


Perched high up on one of the headlands overlooking Middle Beach just off the Pacific Rim Provincial Park, Middle Beach Lodge appealed primarily because its presence was virtually imperceptible from arial photos unlike many if its garish beachside counterparts.
A mile of private beach, two lodges and twenty self contained cabins the lodge has been designed with the utmost respect for the pristine environment it inhabits . Designed to invite the outside in, the heavy timbered West Coast buildings of Lodge at the Headlands provide an impressive demonstration of highly original ways to recycle of old, high quality lumber. Core feature elements include flooring, ceiling beams, tables, lamps, beds, reception desks, kitchen cabinetry all came from wood salvaged from old buildings in Victoria that were slated for demolition or redevelopment -
notable Victoria landmarks such as the Ogden Point Ice Plant in Victoria Harbour.
One of the really quirky features is the sliding cabin bathroom doors in each unit and the Lodge main entrance doors - which were rescued from the P&O liner Rajputana

With No television in the main lounge; an enormous roaring log fire vies fir attention with thehuge overstuffed sofas and massive armchairs designed for slumping. A huge games cupboard encourages this sort of evening activity with fresh baked cookies on one evening and a crab dinner complete with "seconds" of pudding ( crumble) - wonderful

I'd come here again in the wink of an eye!!!'

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

MBL is outstanding, 5 stars all around; if you use that as a basis for true enjoyment. The staff will and does go beyond expectations.
Hats off to Duane Bell the GM who immediately resolved an issue we had brought to the attention of one of the members of his staff.
Love this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Brian,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia. We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Duane Bell, General Manager &
The Staff at Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I have been spending New Years, for about 20 years, at MBL, and find the Great Rooms at both the original Beaches, and the newer Headlands, very reassuring and comfortable. However, on our most recent visit, we had some serious room concerns: 1) the electric heating for the bathroom was inadequate for even the warmer-than-usual winter weather, something I had pointed out to the manager about the same unit several years ago; 2) the kitchen cooking/refrigeration/sink complex was both inadequate and potentially dangerous - an unstable and mediocre two-burner hotplate on top of the removed older integrated burners. The refrigerator door, which could easily have been reversed on installation, opened inconveniently against the wall. Because of the bizarre hotplate, the sink and dish drainer was almost unusable; 3) a very basic and poorly-fitted folding closet door covering a hot water heater suddenly crashed to the living room floor, without being touched. Fortunately, neither of us was close enough to be injured.
On check out, I listed all these concerns with the very pleasant desk person, who discounted the bill. Nevertheless, I felt other potential visitors should be aware of these problems, as had we expected the kitchen unit would function for entertaining, (as we have done in the past), or even cooking a simple meal, it would have been extremely challenging, and hazardous.
Dick Bowen

Room Tip: Get details of above concerns prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Middle Beach Lodge is not just a fancy west coast name for a hotel, it is a lodge. We stayed two nights in a one bedroom unit in the 6 plex. Great ocean views, nice little deck, although was winter so didn't spend much time on it, fireplace, small kitchenette were in the rustic feeling room. The main lodge area had a grand fireplace, sofas, chairs and tables to lounge at and relax, read or play a game at. A continental breakfast was served each morning. You can access a couple of different beaches from the property and the lodge has boots to borrow, which are a must if you visit in the winter months and want to go for a beach walk. Two negatives were that we had reserved a particular room and when we got there we were put in another room, which we were told was an upgrade, but didn't have a king size bed, which was why had previously specified particular room when booking. Other negative was the breakfast was little basic and I didn't get the feeling that it was homemade baking. All in all I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusingMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear MusingMaven,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia! We are excited to hear that your stay during the rough winter conditions was a comfortable and warm experience.

The main lodge is one of the most welcoming places on our property and we are thrilled you got to enjoy it as much as possible. We are also proud of our location and that fact that we have two beautiful beaches situated on both sides of our property.

We would like to apologize for the fact that you did not receive the room you had originally booked and are looking into the matter. I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Duane Bell with any further comments or concerns.

Your review is not only important to us but important to others looking for a real life experience with Middle Beach Lodge. We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed two nights at one of the cabins. It was our first time visiting Tofino. The cabin is about the setting, the views and the sounds of the crashing surf below. Enjoyed that a lot. The cabin itself, however, was disappointing. It was not clean (one example: popcorn flew out of the duvet when we shook it and we didn't have popcorn...). The cabin smelled very musty, the bathroom was dark and I guess helped to hide the black mold around the tub area. The kitchen is impossibly tiny and there is no microwave. The furniture was a bit beat up in the living room, but the dresser in the bedroom literally fell apart when I opened the drawer. We didn't spend much time in the lodge, preferring to be outdoors, but did attend one breakfast. We skipped the second morning as the hard boiled eggs, toasters that don't toast, and fatty muffins did not appeal. While we are neither fussy nor expect luxury, we like a clean place that is well maintained, with a good quality of food served. When we visit Tofino again we plan to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wes_C688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Wes_C688,

We appreciate you taking a moment to review your past stay at the lodge and sincerely apologize for the below average standards of cleanliness you received. Each comment you have made will be addressed with our management team, who will review the service levels that were provided during your stay.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Duane Bell with any further comments or concerns.

Our hope is that if you were to return to the West Coast we would have the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not truly represent our brand.

Kind Regards,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked a duplex cabin for a couple nights of storm watching and the weather did not let us down. Nor did MBL in providing a great cabin with wood stove, comfy beds and a great setting in the lounge. The view from the cabin was to the water and seeing and listening to the waves was great.

I have stayed at the MBL over a dozen times and would recommend the lodge rooms if you don't want to go outside or need the extra space of a cabin. If you want a treat, the cabins are worth the extra cost for the space and the ability to cook as well as enjoy the ambience of the wood stove. There are a few cabins with hot tubs and these are great to enjoy when the rain is pouring down.

Breakfast is very good in the morning though a little heavy to the breads and muffins. But they always have fruit and some hard boiled eggs. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate are always available too.

Overall, a great place to stay and I have done so for a number of years.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus M, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Jim,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia! We are proud to offer rustic cabins overlooking the rocky coast of Tofino, such as the one you stayed in.

We strive to make all of our guests feel comfortable and relaxed, which is why we put such care into our warm continental breakfast served fresh every morning at the Lodge. It is encouraging and rewarding to receive such positive feedback.

Your review is not only important to us but important to others looking for a real life experience with Middle Beach Lodge. We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Duane Bell, General Manger &
All the Staff of Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing