We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing that can not be resolved”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

MBL is outstanding, 5 stars all around; if you use that as a basis for true enjoyment. The staff will and does go beyond expectations.
Hats off to Duane Bell the GM who immediately resolved an issue we had brought to the attention of one of the members of his staff.
Love this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Brian,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia. We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Duane Bell, General Manager &
The Staff at Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I have been spending New Years, for about 20 years, at MBL, and find the Great Rooms at both the original Beaches, and the newer Headlands, very reassuring and comfortable. However, on our most recent visit, we had some serious room concerns: 1) the electric heating for the bathroom was inadequate for even the warmer-than-usual winter weather, something I had pointed out to the manager about the same unit several years ago; 2) the kitchen cooking/refrigeration/sink complex was both inadequate and potentially dangerous - an unstable and mediocre two-burner hotplate on top of the removed older integrated burners. The refrigerator door, which could easily have been reversed on installation, opened inconveniently against the wall. Because of the bizarre hotplate, the sink and dish drainer was almost unusable; 3) a very basic and poorly-fitted folding closet door covering a hot water heater suddenly crashed to the living room floor, without being touched. Fortunately, neither of us was close enough to be injured.
On check out, I listed all these concerns with the very pleasant desk person, who discounted the bill. Nevertheless, I felt other potential visitors should be aware of these problems, as had we expected the kitchen unit would function for entertaining, (as we have done in the past), or even cooking a simple meal, it would have been extremely challenging, and hazardous.
Dick Bowen

Room Tip: Get details of above concerns prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Middle Beach Lodge is not just a fancy west coast name for a hotel, it is a lodge. We stayed two nights in a one bedroom unit in the 6 plex. Great ocean views, nice little deck, although was winter so didn't spend much time on it, fireplace, small kitchenette were in the rustic feeling room. The main lodge area had a grand fireplace, sofas, chairs and tables to lounge at and relax, read or play a game at. A continental breakfast was served each morning. You can access a couple of different beaches from the property and the lodge has boots to borrow, which are a must if you visit in the winter months and want to go for a beach walk. Two negatives were that we had reserved a particular room and when we got there we were put in another room, which we were told was an upgrade, but didn't have a king size bed, which was why had previously specified particular room when booking. Other negative was the breakfast was little basic and I didn't get the feeling that it was homemade baking. All in all I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusingMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear MusingMaven,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia! We are excited to hear that your stay during the rough winter conditions was a comfortable and warm experience.

The main lodge is one of the most welcoming places on our property and we are thrilled you got to enjoy it as much as possible. We are also proud of our location and that fact that we have two beautiful beaches situated on both sides of our property.

We would like to apologize for the fact that you did not receive the room you had originally booked and are looking into the matter. I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Duane Bell with any further comments or concerns.

Your review is not only important to us but important to others looking for a real life experience with Middle Beach Lodge. We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed two nights at one of the cabins. It was our first time visiting Tofino. The cabin is about the setting, the views and the sounds of the crashing surf below. Enjoyed that a lot. The cabin itself, however, was disappointing. It was not clean (one example: popcorn flew out of the duvet when we shook it and we didn't have popcorn...). The cabin smelled very musty, the bathroom was dark and I guess helped to hide the black mold around the tub area. The kitchen is impossibly tiny and there is no microwave. The furniture was a bit beat up in the living room, but the dresser in the bedroom literally fell apart when I opened the drawer. We didn't spend much time in the lodge, preferring to be outdoors, but did attend one breakfast. We skipped the second morning as the hard boiled eggs, toasters that don't toast, and fatty muffins did not appeal. While we are neither fussy nor expect luxury, we like a clean place that is well maintained, with a good quality of food served. When we visit Tofino again we plan to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wes_C688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Wes_C688,

We appreciate you taking a moment to review your past stay at the lodge and sincerely apologize for the below average standards of cleanliness you received. Each comment you have made will be addressed with our management team, who will review the service levels that were provided during your stay.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Duane Bell with any further comments or concerns.

Our hope is that if you were to return to the West Coast we would have the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not truly represent our brand.

Kind Regards,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked a duplex cabin for a couple nights of storm watching and the weather did not let us down. Nor did MBL in providing a great cabin with wood stove, comfy beds and a great setting in the lounge. The view from the cabin was to the water and seeing and listening to the waves was great.

I have stayed at the MBL over a dozen times and would recommend the lodge rooms if you don't want to go outside or need the extra space of a cabin. If you want a treat, the cabins are worth the extra cost for the space and the ability to cook as well as enjoy the ambience of the wood stove. There are a few cabins with hot tubs and these are great to enjoy when the rain is pouring down.

Breakfast is very good in the morning though a little heavy to the breads and muffins. But they always have fruit and some hard boiled eggs. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate are always available too.

Overall, a great place to stay and I have done so for a number of years.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus M, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Jim,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia! We are proud to offer rustic cabins overlooking the rocky coast of Tofino, such as the one you stayed in.

We strive to make all of our guests feel comfortable and relaxed, which is why we put such care into our warm continental breakfast served fresh every morning at the Lodge. It is encouraging and rewarding to receive such positive feedback.

Your review is not only important to us but important to others looking for a real life experience with Middle Beach Lodge. We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Duane Bell, General Manger &
All the Staff of Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at Middle Beach Lodge for the second time and enjoyed it just as much as the first, if not more!

We arrived to find a bottle of wine and private message from the manager, welcoming us back! A very nice touch!

Our room at the lodge was ocean facing, clean and very simple. There are no TV's, which adds to the peaceful atmosphere.

Morning continental breakfast is nice, with boiled eggs, toast, muffins, local jam, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea.

Each night at 8pm they serve fresh baked cookies in the lodge.

Overall a great stay, and we'll be sure to return.

Room Tip: Booking in the off season allows you get a ocean facing room at a great price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurgerBillEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having never been to Tofino before I had to rely on Tripadvisor reviews for an idea of where to stay. Middle Beach Lodge fitted out needs perfectly. Its in a great location only a few mins drive from the main restaurants and right on two nice beaches so you need not get in the car every day. The breakfast was good, free tea, coffee & hot chocolate during the day was a nice touch and hot cookies in the evening was a bonus. The rooms were a little small and by no means boutique, but given your probably out all day its exactly what you need. Would certainly go back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $116 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing