We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Long Beach Lodge Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed at the Long Beach Lodge Resort for 4 nights at the end of a 2.5 week tour of the Rockies, Vancouver and Vancouver Island. We had stayed at some very nice properties but this was just the icing on the cake. We rented a rainforest cottage which we shared with friends. The accommodation was amazing - immaculately clean, very spacious and modern with 2 king size beds and 2 bathrooms. We even had our own washing machine and dryer in the cottage.
To our delight the resort had installed 2 BBQ's for guest use on 1st July and so these were brand new and we BBQ'd every night. It was so nice to cater for ourselves after 2 weeks of eating out almost every night.
When we arrived it was a beautiful sunny day but for the next two days there was constant drizzle, we made use of the rain jackets provided and carried on regardless visiting the boardwalk rainforest walks which were spectacular. We went whale watching and bear watching with Jamies tours - both were excellent.
The beach was fantastic with rock pools to explore and many star fish on the beach. Whilst there we asked to be shown round one of the Lodge hotel rooms - this was lovely and if we are ever that way again and I really intend to be then we will definitely stay at this resort again.
Yes it is pricey but you definitely get what you pay for and it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank EnglishLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,908 - 2,914 of 3,018 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2006

We stayed in one of the cottages with out two kids (10, 12). After having stayed in hotel rooms for over a week, it was a relief to have a spacey, contempary pad to spred out in. Very well furnished, spotlessly clean, very comfy beds and of course the hot-tub.

Staff were friendly but unobtrusive and the dining room not only delivered regarding food and service but had views of the ocean/sunsets that you couldn't put a price on.

Tofino is a funny place - nice I guess that it isn't overdeveloped and retains a quant feel but a bit dissapointing as there were very few restaurants to choose from in the evening. During our stay a couple of weeks ago it was actually quite hard to get a table with lots of people wandering round town trying to find food - business opportunity here for someone I think.

No matter, the Long Beach restaurant was a great back up!

I'd recommend doing the Hot Springs one way on the boat and back on the sea plane - great fun and from the air you see the whales in a completely diffenent way.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Westminster, British Columbia
118
Reviewed July 14, 2006

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Long Beach Lodge Resort on the July 1st (Canada Day) Long weekend.

I remember calling ahead to book a room not really knowing what to expect when we got there. I told the girl on the phone that this was going to be our first anniversary and was advised that they could give us a room that opened right up with a short walk (30 steps or so) to the beach. She also hinted that they would try to do something for us when we got there.

If you are thinking about heading out to Tofino from Vancouver you need to budget for approximately 7 hours of ferry and driving time. I had never been out this way before and found the drive to be one of the better drives I have experienced in British Columbia. Great if you are looking for a quick weekend getaway. The Horseshoe Bay to Nanaimo ferry will cost you $60 each way for two people in a car. The Cathedral Grove Old Growth forest west between Parksville and Port Alberni is definitely a must see. There is also a great place to stop along the highway where you can take a quick dip in a river that you can see straight to the bottom of eventhough it is more than 10 feet deep (watch for cars pulled over on the side of the road). Be warned though its a little cold...

The Pacific Rim National Park between Ucluelet and Tofino is a must see. If you are driving out this way on Canada day no park entrance fee is required. The beach (Long Beach) in Pacific Rim National Park National Park seemed to be home to most of Canada's surfers.

Check out Radar Hill if you have time... great views especially when the fog is just starting to roll in.

The Long Beach Resort is a combination of cabins (look beautiful) and the central lodge which is right on the beach. We arrived around 3 pm and found the front desk staff to be quite friendly and were quickly able to explain how everything was situated. Our room turned out to be right on the beach (30 yards from our patio door). I remember someone named Josh calling us within five minutes of us putting our bags down (were offered help but declined) to ask if our room exceeded expectations and looking back this just went to the level of service these guys try to provide. The hotel even went so far as to write us a personalized card (ten to fifteen lines long) congratulating us on our Anniversary and we were stunned to find a free bottle of champagne with chocolate truffles (freebies were explained in card). Needless to say my wife was more than impressed.

In my mind Tofino is reknown for its rain and fog and surfing. The weekend we arrived there was not a cloud in the sky within 10 km of Tofino but when we got there a nice fog had rolled in. The next morning we drove out of it just as we left. Keeping this in mind we were impressed to learn that the Long Beach Lodge and Resort seems to provide each room with their own rain jackets (high end). This is the only hotel I can recall staying in where I have seen something like this provided.

The bed was extremely comfortable. We would not recommend watching a lot of TV when you get out this way but they seemed to have a lot of channels to choose from.

The restaurant upstairs is extremely good. Be prepared to pay more than $100 for a meal for two but we would definitely recommend it if you want to enjoy the entire experience here. I can not remember our waiters name but we found he was very good at explaining the menu and offering advice on the wine selections. I remember overhearing him comment to another table how he never really watched TV and was more into other things. The people up this way definitely walk to a different drummer. Tofino seems to be very relaxed and low stress. The Long Beach Resort Lodge is definitely a great place to do this.

The free Continental Breakfast in the morning is also a step above all other hotels we have stayed in. Try the yogurt mixed with the Long Beaches own Granola and nut mix.

The beach in front of the lodge is great for long walks. I still remember the feel of the mist and the sound of the waves.

One thing we did not try but were impressed by was the Theater room. The hotel has a large theater projection TV system that can be used to watch movies or sporting events. We saw alot of families sitting down to watch some childrens shows which we thought was neat. This is a family friendly place (yet quiet) and seems to cater well to all guest types.

My wife and I were more than happy with our stay at the Long Beach Lodge and Resort and will be staying out this way again. This place is a great escape and definitely provides a great deal of comfort. One of the best places we have ever stayed (in North America and Europe).

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We stumbled onto this jewel when it had been open for three weeks! We have returned twice since then and will return as often as we can. Unpretentious and yet wonderful. The setting burns itself in your memory, the service impeccable and yet not overwhelming, the rooms are comfortable yet beautiful... If I owned a resort my goal would be to make it just like Long Beach Lodge.
You will not be disappointed. Can't wait til our next visit. It is hauntingly beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank houston2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We had been looking forward to this dedadent weekend away for quite sometime however upon check-in we were very disappointed at the room we were assigned- it was ground level with ocean "glimpses" not anything like what I had in mind when booking an oceanview room. We complained at the desk and originally got very little response- the "I'm sorry M'am but we're completely booked up" (this was actually a Thurs/Fri. booking not Fri/Sat) however after my husband went back to the desk to explain that we were really unhappy with the ground floor (dark) room with a very limited view the concierge (Dave) made an immediate offering of a 3rd floor corner room with a fabulour view- we were very impressed with his service and had a wonderful stay...the room was great, the food was great, the view was great, the service was great....so all in all even though we got off to a 'rocky' start we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Long Beach Lodge Resort=

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 33rdanniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2006

Just returned from weekend at the lodge; stayed in one of the rainforest cabins. It took our breath away when we walked into the cabin; very large unit with main floor containing kitchen area, eating area, main bathroom, bedroom with king bed and living room area with gas fire place; upstairs, there was a second bedroom with two twin beds and another bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, with duvets and soft pillows. Lovely colors of greens, browns, rusts on the walls and floors. Outside, there was your own back patio with chairs and hot tub.

The main lodge had a great room which we spent time having some meals and drinks in; this room overlooked the ocean and it was nice to watch the waves and all the surfers out there.

Had one dinner in the main dining area; great meal, exceptional service; we also had excellent service in the great room area; A continental type of breakfast was complimentary with the stay and included such items as cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurt, granola, juices, tea and coffee.

There is a small fitness room which overlooks the ocean as well. It contains a treadmill and eliptical machine along with some weights.

There is no spa, however, there are recomendations form the resort for local spas in the area.

There is a bike path that starts very close to the resort on the main highway and extends all the way into tofino; we rented bikes at the groovy- movie store for a cost of $30/24 hours or $20/4hours. The distance of the bike path is about 7 or 8 kilometers.

The guys went on a one day guided fishing trip which included transportion with a float plane to the strathcona forest area. They then enjoyed some fly fishing and a float down the river on a large raft.

We have travelled to many places and found this accomodation to be outstanding. We loved our stay and are already talking about returning to Tofino during the winter storm season.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mountainview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2006

We have been travelling around BC for almost 3 weeks now, and have stayed in a variety of different resorts. Tofino's Longbeach resort is definitely my favourite destination thus far, We stayed in one of their cottages, which was self contained. Longbeach resort had the friendliest staff by far, the most amazing setting (right on the beach with stunning beach views), the best amenities (gym with new equipment, personal hot tubs for cottages etc etc!). It felt totally luxurious staying there.

Stayed: June 2006
8  Thank fruit_tingle_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,079 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
327 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $178 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing