We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful property with excellent staff and wonderful food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful property with excellent staff and wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Several recent comments surprise us, it is not the Long Beach Lodge
that we know. It is given that the Lodge is a beautiful property on one
of the best beaches anywhere; however, what keeps us returning is the
wonderful staff.

They are friendly, helpful and fun and always prepared to accomodate
your every need. You get a sense from the moment you walk through the
door that the staff love working at the lodge.

We were pleased with the new lunch and dinner menus, the food was
outstanding. Mark our dinner waiter is always great.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barkerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,059
    451
    119
    51
    16
See reviews for
706
1,505
92
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey bc canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the long beach lodge resort. We have never stayed there before but I had heard good things about it.
And it turned out to be an awesome experience! The room was gorgeous and spotless. And the ocean view from our room was to die for.
The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. Everyone was friendly, courteous and professional.
We ate in the lodge restaurant and it was pricey (1 appy, 2 fish dinners, 2 martinis and a bottle of Argentinian Malbe with tip ($185 CDN) but worth it.
The continenal breakfast was more than enough with fresh baked goods, homemade yogurt (which was exceptional), toast, cereal and coffee and juice. More than enough to hold us over until dinner.
The hotel is beautifully designed and finished in a West Coast casual.
Go to their website for a view and there is a beach cam in real time.
We are planning on going back again next May and stay for a week..
There is lots to do for families and couples. The Pacific Rim National Park is just south of the resort and worth spending a day at their different beaches and trails.
The village of Tofino is a 10 minute drive north and Ucluelet is a 25 minute drive south.
Lots of great restaurants and pubs in Tofino.
We would highly recommend this place to our friends, we had a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegashawkeye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed at the Long Beach resort in May as a birthday surprise for my partner. We were impressed with the location, the views from the beach were superb, particularly as the sun was shining and the surfers were amazing! However, the room was a bit pokey and our view was partially blocked by the main building. The shower wasn't very effective and clearly hadn't been cleaned very well. I was not about to make too much of a fuss otherwise it would have overshadowed the glorious views and the lovely beach walks which my partner loved. I've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world, some of them much cheaper with a much better standard of service, the staff seemed to be having an off day our entire stay! I agree with previous comments that the food was overpriced and quite average. We ate in Tofino and found the food far better priced! Tofino itself is mainly a surfing town so not very busy which actually was nice as season wasn't in full swing! We ventured out on whale watching, bear watching and sea kayaking tours and they were excellent, (we used Remote Passages) most of the operators recommended by the hotel are good by all accounts! If we return we'll stay somewhere cheaper, family run maybe for that local touch of hospitality we had encountered throughout most of the trip. But my opinion is only one view!! You may have a different experience than us, but being involved in the travel sector, I hope its an experienced and honest impression!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

We went out to Tofino for a second time this spring because our first stay was so amazing and yet again our stay at the Long Beach Lodge was perfect! The staff were absolutely amazing- so helpful and accomodating! We enjoyed outstanding food and learned so much about wine pairings from the very knowledgeable servers. The great room is such a peaceful and relaxing space- we enjoyed hanging out there for hours and watching the waves roll.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Make sure you are not assigned room 308 or 311. They are tucked in behind the 'Penthouses' with an oblique view of part of the beach - if you stand at the window! The bathroom is open to the bedroom so expect noise, smell and damp. The fireplace is minimal, and the TV ancient.
The staff seemed unhappy and reluctant to be of service.
The restaurant is outrageously expensive, with fairly ordinary food presented 'artistically'.
Altogether a big disappointment - there are much better places to stay in Tofino and Ucluelet nearby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WRoverT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLBLR, General Manager at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2009
Dear WRoverT,

I am sorry to here that we did not meet your expectations. We do assign specific room types at the time of booking, based on the guests preferences and our availability.
For all guests of Long Beach Lodge, we will do our best to meet room type preferences --but be aware we sell out on a regular basis, and there fore to get your ideal room type, we suggest you book well in advance and/or may need to be flexible with dates. Other trip advisor readers must be aware that rooms 308 and 311room do look toward the beach and because of the Duxiana bed in those two rooms, they happen to be one of our most requested room types.

All our room types are visible on the accommodations section of our website at longbeachlodgeresort.com

I also encourage any guest to contact me directly at perry@longbeachlodgeresort.com, if you are in anyway unhappy with any element of your stay, and I would be happy to recover from any negative experience that you may have had.

Thank you all Trip Advisor Reviewers, we actively take into to account all information positive and negative to improve our Operations!

Best Regards

Perry Schmunk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed in a beachfront room and the view was fantastic. For the $399/night price tag it was the view that we were paying for as nothing else was special about this hotel. The plumbing is terrible. The toilets barely flush and when your neighbor uses their sink or shower you will most likely be woken up. The rooms are very standard, although I can't speak for the cottages. I would only stay here again in a beachfront unit, otherwise there are much better values in Tofino.

The continental breakfast was average. The hotel restaurant was unaccommodating with our dinner reservation, which fortunately led us to go to Schooner instead. The views from the restaurant are outstanding, but for even better views and a great meal, try the Wikininish Centre on Long Beach (closes at 8pm because it is in the National park)

The wifi in our room was quite good and free of charge.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

We had a fabulous time at Long Beach Lodge. From strolling the beach to eating in the cozy restaurant while watching the waves break - everything was perfect.
Our cabin was amazing and very spacious for two.
We definitely intend to return to the lodge - either just the two of us again or with family and friends. No matter what - Long Beach Lodge will be amazing next time too!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing