We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectation- again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
victoria, bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond expectation- again!”
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We went out to Tofino for a second time this spring because our first stay was so amazing and yet again our stay at the Long Beach Lodge was perfect! The staff were absolutely amazing- so helpful and accomodating! We enjoyed outstanding food and learned so much about wine pairings from the very knowledgeable servers. The great room is such a peaceful and relaxing space- we enjoyed hanging out there for hours and watching the waves roll.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,233
    500
    126
    52
    17
See reviews for
803
1,611
99
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Make sure you are not assigned room 308 or 311. They are tucked in behind the 'Penthouses' with an oblique view of part of the beach - if you stand at the window! The bathroom is open to the bedroom so expect noise, smell and damp. The fireplace is minimal, and the TV ancient.
The staff seemed unhappy and reluctant to be of service.
The restaurant is outrageously expensive, with fairly ordinary food presented 'artistically'.
Altogether a big disappointment - there are much better places to stay in Tofino and Ucluelet nearby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WRoverT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerLBLR, General Manager at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2009
Dear WRoverT,

I am sorry to here that we did not meet your expectations. We do assign specific room types at the time of booking, based on the guests preferences and our availability.
For all guests of Long Beach Lodge, we will do our best to meet room type preferences --but be aware we sell out on a regular basis, and there fore to get your ideal room type, we suggest you book well in advance and/or may need to be flexible with dates. Other trip advisor readers must be aware that rooms 308 and 311room do look toward the beach and because of the Duxiana bed in those two rooms, they happen to be one of our most requested room types.

All our room types are visible on the accommodations section of our website at longbeachlodgeresort.com

I also encourage any guest to contact me directly at perry@longbeachlodgeresort.com, if you are in anyway unhappy with any element of your stay, and I would be happy to recover from any negative experience that you may have had.

Thank you all Trip Advisor Reviewers, we actively take into to account all information positive and negative to improve our Operations!

Best Regards

Perry Schmunk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed in a beachfront room and the view was fantastic. For the $399/night price tag it was the view that we were paying for as nothing else was special about this hotel. The plumbing is terrible. The toilets barely flush and when your neighbor uses their sink or shower you will most likely be woken up. The rooms are very standard, although I can't speak for the cottages. I would only stay here again in a beachfront unit, otherwise there are much better values in Tofino.

The continental breakfast was average. The hotel restaurant was unaccommodating with our dinner reservation, which fortunately led us to go to Schooner instead. The views from the restaurant are outstanding, but for even better views and a great meal, try the Wikininish Centre on Long Beach (closes at 8pm because it is in the National park)

The wifi in our room was quite good and free of charge.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We had a fabulous time at Long Beach Lodge. From strolling the beach to eating in the cozy restaurant while watching the waves break - everything was perfect.
Our cabin was amazing and very spacious for two.
We definitely intend to return to the lodge - either just the two of us again or with family and friends. No matter what - Long Beach Lodge will be amazing next time too!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The best weekend vacation ever!
The cabin was amazing, great beach access, excellent food, access to a BBQ... would reccomend the Long Beach Lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_bug214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

When planning our honeymoon, we decided that this would be our one-night splurge place, and that was money WELL spent. I think we both would've liked to have stayed here a little longer to take full advantage of the Lodge and the beautiful surrounding area.

Excellent- The view out onto the beach (and the shoreline itself); the in-room window from the bathtub looking through the bedroom out to the spectacular view; the comfortable chairs and bed; the interior design of the place

Good- The complimentary bottle of champagne for our honeymoon; nice size bathtub; gas fireplace; breakfast

Could Be Better- The shower...I don't know if it was the shower head or the water pressure or the heat or what...i just wasn't happy with it for some reason. *shrug*

We didn't interact too much with the staff, but the front desk help and the dining room staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed them.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarvinGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed at Long Beach Lodge for 3 nights at the end of a skiing holiday in Whister. Lovely accomodation,spacious,clean,modern and in a spectacular settling.Staff great,restaurant superb,welcoming to kids. Kids loved the hot tub and heated floor! Hope we can go back again one day, would definitely stay again, and recommend without hestation.
(ps- if you go whale watching,make sure you take travel sick pills!!!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,049 reviews
126.5 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing