We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Richardson
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

First time to Tofino despite living on Vancouver Island as a child. After a day at the Long Beach Lodge we were already discussing coming back. Enjoyed everything about our stay. The staff are unbelievable - thanks to Mike, Davin, Chance, Garrett and Marcus. I loved talking to the guys in the bar about surfing and Tofino. Taking a surf lesson is a must, but some conditioning before hand is really a good idea. I did no preparation for my surf lesson and struggled (still had a blast and highly recommend it). Marcus takes the most amazing photographs, and Chance and Garrett are two of the nicest guys you will ever meet. Garrett did a great job of teaching my daughter and me how to surf and made sure we had a great time. Walking along the beach is gorgeous, and there is a very pretty boardwalk trail at the end of the beach that leads out to sunset point and some incredible views. All meals were incredible. The fish and chips at the Sandbar Bistro were some of the best we have ever had. At breakfast we really enjoyed the eggs Benedict, the pizzas were terrific, and the dinner entrees were also great - we never had a miss (however I was not a fan of the local Pinot Noir). The room was very nice, and it was great to be able to walk right out of our room to the beach or Sandbar Bistro. In our room was a nice sized refrigerator, and when we go back we will be sure to pick up some snacks and drinks for our stay. We felt we were staying in one of the most beautiful places on earth, and another couple staying there said the exact same thing. We were fortunate with the weather for most of our stay, but I could imagine if you get unlucky with the weather your stay may not be as much fun or as beautiful as what we experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is comments like yours that make it all worthwhile for us. The guys will really appreciate your mention, I agree they are the best!

We will look forward to your next visit as a return guest.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    484
    124
    51
    17
See reviews for
767
1,589
98
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We selected this hotel based on the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor, plus the amazing pictures on the resort website. It did not disappoint! We are a family of 4 and booked a beachfront room with a balcony on the 2nd floor. My kids' comments when we saw the incredible view from our balcony: "Mom, you really outdid yourself on this one!". Priceless. It was wonderful going to sleep with the sliding glass door cracked so we could hear the sound of the waves. Also fun to see some of the young staff members that had helped us during the day heading out after work with their surfboards (surfing as late as 10pm! You don't get that in California, where we're from). A highlight of our trip was the Marine excursion. We saw gray whales, sea otters, several types of sea lions, and bald eagles. Josh was an excellent, enthusiastic guide, and was so knowledgeable about the local marine life, and also the conservation efforts in Tofino and Clayoquot Sound. We all learned a lot (plus it was fun!). He was also really sensitive and great with my daughter, who was feeling a bit seasick. Book the Marine Adventure during your stay- you don't want to miss it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your great review, I am delighted your family had a wonderful visit.

The Marine Adventure with Josh is something not to be missed. All our guests comment the knowledge and passion he has for his west coast.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The setting really is spectacular and the lodge/cabins well appointed and well maintained. The staff in particular the bar (Laurie) and restaurant servers are fantastic. Front desk was a bit less concerned with helping and more concerned with moving people through. and although always polite they seemed a bit less concerned with follow through as one reviewer pointed out. The only disappointing experience was the essentially non-existent wifi. We were in a cabin and although there seemed to be service, it was so weak that really only email could be looked at--not even aTwitter feed could be found.
Food was consistently delicious at both the restaurant and the beach bar.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

The WiFi is our biggest complaint and it is very frustrating as it is completely beyond our control. We switched to Shaw satellite, two years ago, from the local provider and it is no better. The District of Tofino, The Chamber of Commerce and the local businesses have been lobbying the Provincial Government and we are now told that Telus will be offering high speed internet to the west coast by about September of next year.

Hopefully, Telus will be here before your next visit!

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

From the reservation on the phone till check out this resort overachieved in every way. The front desk staff (Chelsea, Tori) met me with such sincere care to insure my stay was perfect. We checked into our room with an ocean view, the room did not disappoint. It was spotless clean, and the decor was perfect for the feel of the west coast. The restaurant greeted you with floor to celling views of the Pacific Ocean, just beautiful. The menu was spot on with a great variety of local inspired dishes; the servers (Francesca, Julia) made us feels like family, checking in on our every need.

And the surfing.... WOW, we rented from the lodge, witch was so convenient. Equipment was new and well kept.

Over all this resort is a perfect choice when visiting Tofino and Long beach.

Thank you to the amazing owners of Long Beach Lodge, you have achieved a wonderful experience for your quests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, comments like your's make it all worthwhile!

I am delighted that we really enjoyed your visit with us. Chelsea and Tori are both new employees this year and i think they are both superstars in hospitality. I am delighted that they both choose to work at the lodge.

We will look forward to your next visit.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with the elopement package and it was everything we could have wished for and more. Megan from the Events team seamlessly planned our package with only 4 weeks notice, and nothing was too much trouble. We opted to upgrade to the penthouse suite on our wedding day which was such a wonderful place to enjoy the package perks like our sparkling wine and the delicious chocolate ganache wedding cake the chef made.

We loved chilling in front of the panoramic views in the Great Room and I highly recommend the Golden Spruce cocktail there. The staff were exceptional. So friendly, but not in a cheesy way, just really genuine, like they were happy to be there. And who wouldn't be with that view to look at all day! We loved our stay and couldn't have asked for more, thank you LBL!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Congratulations, our very best wishes for a long and happy marriage. I am delighted you enjoyed such a wonderful time. We can always count on Megan to make the occasion the very best it can be, she is awesome!

We will look forward to a return visit. Thank you.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I will start by saying that the highlight of the resort is the location. It is an excellent starting point for a wonderful day of exploration and adventure. Second, the staff at the beachfront bar were kind, engaging and full of helpful hints.

But sadly, for us the positives do not outweigh the negatives. We booked the Deluxe Beachfront King (Room 115). Our first impression of the room was that we had an excellent view of the aforementioned beachfront bar. During our stay, the best opportunity for "the view" from our porch was in the evening after the bar closed. If not, we had an obstructed view of the ocean.

Further, our experience with the front desk was mixed. In the first occasion, I had asked if the papers arrived. I was told to go upstairs and look on the big table. After floundering around for a bit looking for the "big table" upstairs, I gave up and decided to just check the internet, which in itself is problematic, in our room. About an hour later, I saw that the papers were sitting in the front desk area. I asked myself, would it have been hard for someone to find and deliver a copy? Second, my wife's next was bothering her from the size of the pillows. She asked the front desk if there were any smaller pillows and was informed that they will check. This was the last we heard from them.

As for the wifi access, in our room at the edge of the resort, we were lucky to get a weak signal. In most cases, it routinely dropped off unless we moved to the center of the resort.

Finally, as a place of rest and comfort, I was thrilled to jump into the hot tub after a long day of travel and hiking. Although, I was disappointed to find that the hot tub was closed on our last day during the hours it was expected to be open. LBLR felt that it was best to refill the hot tub during the hours it was meant to be open.

The bottom line for us is that the resort is not worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
I am sorry we you were disappointed, based upon other reviews. The Sandbar Bistro is new this year and has been a great hit with guests, as I believe you enjoyed a meal there. It opens at noon and is shut down my 7:30 most nights when the tables and chairs are removed for the evening. The views from the beach front rooms are spectral even when the patio is open.

Sorry that the newspaper was not delivered to the front table in the great room, that one morning. I will ask staff to make sure this does not happen again.

Wifi is not good anywhere it Tofino, it is a very remote location. The good news is that Telus will be bringing high speed internet to the west coast next year.

The hot tub was closed, as it was found to have been soiled when inspected. We would rather clean and replace the water than have it not clean and healthy for our guests.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORFOLK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as part of our overall package and my wife was blown away by the place. It is in a fantastic location with absolutely gorgeous views over the beach. Especially as the suns goes down over the Pacific. We had booked a beach front room so we looked out over the beach and it was a pleasure.

The Great Room was also a great experience and every meal we had there was excellent and d value for money.

Staff were friendly and it would pedantic to even try and come up with something that we weren't happy with. Thorougly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room if you can...its well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauladamsNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We will look forward to welcoming you both in the future.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,035 reviews
18.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing