We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tofino beautiful, lodge ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“tofino beautiful, lodge ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

stayed two nights at this lodge and yep it's good, but a little isolated when it comes to dining choices. the rooms at the lodge are large and fantastic and beds are comfortable. staff and service is also very good. dining choice is limited and can be quite expensive. i didn't really like the breakfast choices. it was raining while we were there but that didn't stop us doing the things we had planned and we had a wonderful time. when it came to dinner we went into tofino and ate some beautiful meals at a place called 'schooners' i think thats the correct name. try the steak or salmon, yummy

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dining choices
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussie_rose64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,102
    460
    120
    51
    17
See reviews for
726
1,529
95
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londoner16
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

My wife and I, and our six-month old twin boys, just spent six wonderful days at Long Beach Lodge. It is as truly lovely hotel - at least as nice as the pricier Wickaninnish Inn a mile up the road.

The location, on a beautiful ocean bay with white sand beach is awesome, and the hotel makes the most of it with a fabulous dining room/lounge (the "Greatroom") with picture windows overlooking beach and sea, many rooms swith balconies with ocean view, and private access to the beach for hotel guests.

The interior decor is superb throughout - attractive and of high standard, and the rooms are elegant and comfrtable.

Breakfasts (included in the price) are continental buffets and quite superb. The dinners are excellent too.

Service is, as a previous reviewer mentioned, provided in many cases by young temporary workers (students etc), but we did not generally find that a disadvantage: they tended to be enthuisiastic, helpful and friendly.

The following points are intended as constructive criticvism, which we hope the hote's managhement will take on board:

1. Dinner, while excellent, is from a relatively limited menu, and the menu did not vary in the six days (Wednesday to Tuesday) that we were there. It should be more varied.

2. There should also be more choice on the lighter, informal menu (which is essentially just fish and chips or hamburgers).

3. The weakest link is the room cleaning: it is fairly perfunctory and untimely. On two occasions we were out for most of the day, we oput out the sign on the door knob saying that the room could be cleaned, and yet when we returned (in pone case after 4 p.m.) wanting to rest in our room we found that it still hadn't been cleaned.

4. There should be more than a single bar of soap in the bathroom!

5. It might be an idea to have seats on the balcony of the Greatroom.

  • Liked — Location and high quality decor.
  • Disliked — Room cleaning service.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

My husband and I loved the long beach lodge. The service was decent, but you cannot expect incredible service from seasonal employees who are young and put surfing as a higher priority than a career in the service industry. You only get the 5 star service out of people who make it their career. I applaud the manager Perry, he is a master in his field, customer satisfaction is the primary goal of any resort and you can tell it guides his decision making process. We are going back again at the end of this month and we are bringing guests, we know that the trip is going to be fantastic and we have been looking forward to it all summer. I will always recommend the Long Beach Lodge to anyone who is looking for and elegant outdoor experience. And on top of that the home made breads and fruit in the morning is the perfect way to start your day!
*We love the Long Beach Lodge!*

  • Liked — fantastic beds, views, breakfast, service and management
  • Disliked — that we didn't stay longer.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy-non-campers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

We have just returned from 5 days at Long Beach which were wonderful. The drive in itself from Nanaimo is breathtaking. We stayed in a "rainforest cottage" which was exceptionally roomy, finished to a very high standard with very tasteful furnishings, very well kitted out and looked like it had been completed yesterday in terms of the level of wear and tear. Having a cottage and the use of the 'Great Room' for meals and to hang out in if we wanted a change of scene was an ideal set up - a home from home without the responsability for meals if you don't want it. Meal options are numerous - Tofino has some great restaurants and paying for meals separately enables you to sample the restaurants of other local lodges such as the Wickannish Inn which is just down the road. We also made use of the wonderful gas barbeque adjacent to the cottages at Long Beach one night. Meals in Long beach's Great Room were of a high standard, but the menu is not v. extensive and guests staying several nights would probably quickly get through their preferred selections. The serving staff were increadibly friendly and helpful but service was not very rapid. Booking for the restaurant is essential and a good idea to do the day before if you want the most popular eating times. We were exceptionally lucky with the weather, we saw some wonderful sunsets from the breaktaking views from the Great Room. Cox Bay, where the resort is situated, is a stunning location with miles of deserted sand and great surf. The water is freezing, but there are plenty of outfitters in Tofino who will rent you wetsuits and surfboards. We whale watched and bear watched courtesy of Ocean Outfitters in Tofino who were great. I consider myself to be a discerning traveller, prepared to pay a high price for a quality product. I rate Long Beach as a great value, high quality location, professionally run by very friendly staff - if it wasn't the other side of the world, we'd be regular customers!

  • Liked — spacious, tastefully decorated accommodation - possibility of having a cottage
  • Disliked — lack of choice and slow service in the restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wildatheart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

My partner and I celebrated our 25th year together by treating ourselves to a night at Long beach Lodge on the shores of beautiful Cox Bay. The setting is magnificent and the room had a lovely view of the beach. The room featured a fireplace comfy armchairs a jacuzzi tub and a nice balcony. The room and setting was the perfect romantic getaway we had wanted. Unfortunately we discovered that the room had a unpleasant odor of stale colonge. The windows were dirty with fingerprints all over. The toilet ran and needed adjusting after each use. The balcony was dirty with debris. One of the supplied bathrobes was dirty and smelled heavily of colonge. Not what you would expect for a room with a rate of $500.00 / night.
Restaurant- we had booked our celebration dinner in the Lodge Restaurant. Beautiful setting and a nice decor with views of the ocean. The food was adequate but for the same price - superb food and ambience can be had at the Pointe restaurant at the Wicaninish Inn nearby. The service was poor at the restaurant. We waited in the lounge area with a cocktail and were told we would be called when our table was ready. We waited and waited and finally inquired and discovered that there were lots of tables- they had just forgotten about us. Our wait person serviced other tables that had arrived after us and throughout the entire dinner we had to wait an inordinate amount of time for service compared to other tables being served by the same waitress. We observed her giving attentive and friendly service to the other tables, but to us her service was perfunctory at best. As a same sex couple we wonder if her treatment of us was somewhat coloured by a personal bias. For the standard of the restaurant we would expect much more. Also our reservation info was incorrect & upon checking in when we brought this up we discovered at the end of our stay it had not been updated. We had been asked if there was a special occasion and we said it was our 25th Anniversary - so you expect some sort of acknowledgment of this during our stay but there was none. We would encourage others to stay at the nearby Wickininish Inn which offers the same price for a better experience.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — poor and bias service -poor value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelGuys1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

Stayed on a friend's recommendation in one of their cottages, party of 2 adults 2 children. Liked the place a lot, friendly staff, relaxed, good food at not too expensive prices. Good access to private beach. Tofino was more interesting than I expected. Bit of a drive from the ferry (100m / 3 hrs+) but worth it. Would certainly recommend.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

Excellent location, good food in the restaurant, and a nice room with sea view and large bath. Unfortunately the hotel staff often give the impression that they're just there on holiday (the restaurant staff being the exception). Housekeeping seemed to have a problem with replacing bathroom toiletries and even toilet roll.

One night we had some noise problems due to a corporate dinner party - lots of loud Americans who would come outside to smoke and wander out onto the beach. Admittedly this stopped soon after we complained with reception.

We would however still consider staying here again for its location and facilities.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haveboots_willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing