We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to unwind with your pets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind with your pets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Jim Hackett, owner of long beach lodge has done a fantastic job building a world class resort that embraces you and your pets. the pet friendly cabins are top notch. Heated floors in the bathroom, hot tub, big bathrooms, fireplace, quiet,clean. I could keep going on but you must try it out for yourself. Our two dogs had the time of their lives. After romping up and down the beach,running free, they plonked their tired wet bodies in front of the fireplace. The cabins come with dog towels, bowls and doggie treats. We cant wait to go back

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Kate,

Thank you for your review, I am happy that both you and your dogs had a great visit! We will look forward to you all returning soon. Happy New Year.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,059
    451
    119
    51
    16
See reviews for
706
1,505
92
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the lodge for 3 nights and had a good time. The view of Cox beach is fantastic, the Great Room is awesomne to sit and have a drink in or a bite to eat. The service was spotty at times, with some being great and some so/so.
The room was looking a little tired and could definetly use makeovers...it was also a shame that the view from the tub wasn't better (they have louvered shutters that do not open).
One more thing that really sucked was thehieght of the shower control...every time my wife or I moved, we would bump it and change the temperature...it was far too high. there was also no in room information on the hotel or the surrounding are.

all in all a good time but for the price, I wouldn't stay in the rooms in the lodge again...I hear the cabins are much nicer and may give them a try....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad you had a great visit.

We are in the process of replacing all the showers and upgrading furniture. Unfortunately you stayed in one of the few rooms that that had not been redone. The completed rooms are great, especially with the new larger showers!

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just wanted to start off by saying the Lodge is one of best hotels I have stayed at in a long time. I all so want to call out a few of the amazing staff who really made our stay so enjoyable. Garret at the surf school and restaurant was fantastic. Garret is a great asset to the Lodge he really made our stay at the hotel. He is a great surf instructor and his demeanor and attitude was amazing! Lindsey at the restaurant was also fantastic she helped arrange a day trip to some natural hot springs (a trip not to miss). The hotel rooms were very comfortable and clean the views of the ocean were spectacular.

Room Tip: Highly recomened the main floor ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. I am very proud of our staff, Garret is a wonderful surf instructor. We will look forward to your next visit.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was my first time staying at the Long Beach Lodge Resort, and I loved it! I stayed in a cottage over New Year's Eve 2013/14 with friends and it was amazing. The gas fireplace and private hot tub made it a perfect place to relax with a glass of wine. It was comfortable, private and quiet. We ate quite a bit in the Great Room (we had a kitchenette in the cottage as well), and I loved the food. The breakfast buffet had a great spread of food and stayed open until 10:30 so I could sleep in. The fireplace, stunning views of the ocean, comfy chairs and couches made the Great Room perfect for mid-day lounging, as well as dining.

We went surfing twice, and the staff were awesome at getting us suited up. We didn't have a lesson, but got some tips before heading out. It wasn't cold at all with the wetsuits, and after the sessions, we hopped into the hot tub at the surf centre. The gift shop next to the surf centre had great stuff in it, and I loved the jewelry selection. Thank you, Diane, for helping me pick some earrings!

Everything at the Lodge was a perfect mixture of comfortable friendliness and courteous professionalism. I met many of the staff members during my 4-night stay, and each one was friendly, efficient and welcoming. Everything made for an amazing experience that I'll never forget! I will definitely return to vacation here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you had such a great time, with your friends. We will look forward to your next visit as a return guest.

Happy New Year!

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in a cottage during last Christmas season and enjoyed it very much. Private hot tub in the woods was awesome! I soaked myself every night. Housekeeping's service was quite well.

I gave 4 starts out of 5 because some waitresses in the restaurant (Great Room) were loudly chatted each other. It's a restaurant with great view of Cox Bay, not a pub. Many guests come to enjoy the view and food for themselves, not listen to what the waitresses are talking.

I will be back next year - may be couple times.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77BlueEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you really enjoyed your visit.

I agree that serving staff should not be chatting to each other, it would bother me as well. I am sure it did not occur during our evening dinner service. I will discuss the matter with all our dining room management, so that staff can be reminded not to talk, while in the range of guests. I remember once, years ago, hearing two female morning servers, across the room, talking about how much beer they had consumed the evening before!

Best wishes for 2014.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Lodge for 3 nights from December 26, 2013. We had a room for the parents and a cabin for the adult kids. It was wonderfully relaxing. The staff were all super friendly and helpful and the ambiance of the Great Room was so conducive to slowing down and spending quality time together. We had a great boat trip with Josh, Chris who manages the restaurant took good care of us as did the hostess Kimberley and the wait staff. Highly recommend this property and experience. The Chapman family.

Room Tip: Same floor as the Greatroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EgyptTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your great comments, I am delighted that your family had such a great visit.

I am very proud of our staff , many guests comment that it is the wonderful staff that keeps them returning to the Lodge. Josh, Chris and Kimberly are all superstars.

We look forward to your next visit, Happy New Year.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My immediate family congregated at Long Beach Lodge for a few days over Christmas, having stayed their many times before. This is a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay and the service was excellent as always. The Great Room is a great place to dine or just hang out. The staff are always supportive and as attentive as you want them to be without being imposing. The food was very good - good menu, well cooked and well presented. It's pretty much all adults staying there, but it could have been a bit more festive for the Xmas season (a tree, decorations on the Xmas dining tables, in the rooms etc.). The only downside...the coffee could be better! The fridge in our room (not used) was also a bit clunky and woke me up a few times.

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are great, with a sitting area and a fantastic sea view, but relatively expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments, feedback is always appreciated.

We will add table decorations next Christmas, as we did for New Years. I agree that the coffee could be better and we are switching to a new local coffee with our new breakfast program, later this month. I will have the fridge checked out, they were all replaced just before Christmas with new stainless steel product that is advertised as being completely silent. We stayed in a room over New Years and we remarked that we could not hear the fridge.

My very best wishes for the New Year, we will look forward to your next visit.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing